 |
Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
|
View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Recruit

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 21
|
Posted: Thu Feb 24, 2005 9:25 pm Post subject: Detachment Queries |
 |
|
Hello Jon,
Could you please clarify the following for me.
1) If a body exchanges ranks, is this done with no disorder penalty
regardless of the troops involved?
2) If it is performed as a counter does it have to have one of the
enabling reasons listed in 6.14?
If as an approach does it have to be within 480 paces of known enemy?
3) Rule 2.53 says that a combined unit is a single body for all
purposes except as expressly stated in the rules.
In the Khmer example given on P16 the LHI are allowed to counter
back through the elephants in a legal but disordering penetration
(6.52).
Section 6.52 says 'Troops can voluntarily interpenetrate another
friendly body'... If the LHI and the Elephants are one body are they
still allowed to interpenetrate as if two bodies. (I hope this is
clear!)
4) Finally, on a different section 6.45 says that if a unit in
skirmish formation makes any type of turn (180 or 90 degrees)...it
reverts to a block of the same frontage. So, if a unit 3 elements
wide and two deep turns 90 degrees how does it form?
i.e. E1 E2 E3
E4 E5 E6 turns 90 degrees into...?
Thanks once again for your help. Just trying to ask even these
questions clearly makes me realise how difficult it must be to write
a set of rules :)
Raphael
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Recruit

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 21
|
Posted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 12:07 am Post subject: Detachment Queries |
 |
|
Hello Jon,
In message 16915 I asked a few questions about detachments. Have you
any response yet. (The diagram of the skirmishers isn't 100% clear,
they should just be in two ranks of 3 elements).
Also, 6.45, 4th paragraph, 1st sentence 'seems' to imply that
skirmishers cannot move straight forward. Is this your intent?
Thanks, Raphael
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 12:13 am Post subject: Re: Detachment Queries |
 |
|
Hello Jon,
In message 16915 I asked a few questions about detachments. Have you
any response yet. (The diagram of the skirmishers isn't 100% clear,
they should just be in two ranks of 3 elements).>>
It is too involved for me to answer from work - please be patient.
<<Also, 6.45, 4th paragraph, 1st sentence 'seems' to imply that
skirmishers cannot move straight forward. Is this your intent?>>
Oh no. they certainly can. they are just the only unit/formation that can move
straight back in a counter.
J
Thanks, Raphael
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 5:40 pm Post subject: Re: Detachment Queries |
 |
|
<<1) If a body exchanges ranks, is this done with no disorder penalty
regardless of the troops involved?>>
[
Correct.
<<2) If it is performed as a counter does it have to have one of the
enabling reasons listed in 6.14? >>
[
Yes.
<<If as an approach does it have to be within 480 paces of known enemy?>>
[
Yes.
<<3) Rule 2.53 says that a combined unit is a single body for all
purposes except as expressly stated in the rules.
In the Khmer example given on P16 the LHI are allowed to counter
back through the elephants in a legal but disordering penetration
(6.52).>>
[
Yes, because the LHI are separating in that move and at that point are no longer
part of a combined unit.
<<Section 6.52 says 'Troops can voluntarily interpenetrate another
friendly body'... If the LHI and the Elephants are one body are they
still allowed to interpenetrate as if two bodies. (I hope this is
clear!)>>
[
Only when they are separate or separating.
<<4) Finally, on a different section 6.45 says that if a unit in
skirmish formation makes any type of turn (180 or 90 degrees)...it
reverts to a block of the same frontage. So, if a unit 3 elements
wide and two deep turns 90 degrees how does it form?>>
[
It becomes a column one wide and six deep. The 'reversion' is immediate and
precedes the turn.
<<Thanks once again for your help. Just trying to ask even these
questions clearly makes me realise how difficult it must be to write
a set of rules >>
Nah - anyone can do it. Just ask the guys on the group...lol
Thanks, though.
Jon
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum You cannot attach files in this forum You cannot download files in this forum
|
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
|