Warrior Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules
A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
 
  FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups AlbumAlbum   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Detachments Rules Again

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message

Legionary
Legionary


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 284

PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2005 3:16 pm    Post subject: Detachments Rules Again


I have another detachment rules question. I couldn't find it in the
rules, so I hope I'm not asking something that's obvious.

Can a detachment be forced march if its parent is not? At the
beginning of deployment, the detachment would be more than it's
tactical move distance from the parent, something it can not voluntary
'move' to do (as opposed to being deployed at). The intent would be
that once the parent marches, it would close to within the tactical
move distance of the detachment.

Is this legal?

Peter

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2005 6:41 pm    Post subject: Re: Detachments Rules Again


Can a detachment be forced march if its parent is not? At the
beginning of deployment, the detachment would be more than it's
tactical move distance from the parent, something it can not voluntary
'move' to do (as opposed to being deployed at).>>

No. And that is why it says 'go' and not 'move'.

Jon


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  

Legionary
Legionary


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 284

PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2005 1:48 am    Post subject: Re: Detachments Rules Again


--- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, JonCleaves@a... wrote:
> Can a detachment be forced march if its parent is not? At the
> beginning of deployment, the detachment would be more than it's
> tactical move distance from the parent, something it can not
voluntary
> 'move' to do (as opposed to being deployed at).>>
>
> No. And that is why it says 'go' and not 'move'.
>
> Jon

Thanks Jon

I actually made a point of reading the rule before asking another
'foolish' question. Sorry I missed the nuanced difference between 'go'
and 'move'.

Playing at Bill's, I realized that I need to come up with a better
strategy for when my opponent force marches 2E Reg LI JLS, Sh elements
to the center line. Those cheap units made it very difficult to get my
Visigoth spear blocks into position for impetuous charges (I ended up
in an eight hour long game, and never got the main core of my army to
grips with anything). My other LI units were tied up on one flank, and
was thinking that I could maybe have forced marched my 4E LI B
detachments to get back the manuever space. Glad to know that they're
not eligible to do that.

Since my cavalry wing had things under control on the other flank,
maybe I should have wheeled off a 6E unit of LC JLS,B,Sh to sweep into
the flank of the LI's that were giving me such trouble? Hmmmm?

Thanks again.

Peter

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2005 2:01 am    Post subject: Re: Re: Detachments Rules Again


My other LI units were tied up on one flank, and
was thinking that I could maybe have forced marched my 4E LI B
detachments to get back the manuever space. Glad to know that they're
not eligible to do that.>>

Sorry, but detachments are local detached elements of a larger unit. What you
want to do makes much tactical sense, but ancient armies did not have that kind
of flexibility and doctrine.

I keep HC or some such in between my blocks of close order to chase off LI.
Charge at max range so you don't catch them.... If they have K behind them,
they plan to stand, but then the LI isn't screening your close, it is bait -
just keep pressing.

J


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group