 |
Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
|
View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Legionary

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 284
|
Posted: Tue Feb 22, 2005 3:16 pm Post subject: Detachments Rules Again |
 |
|
I have another detachment rules question. I couldn't find it in the
rules, so I hope I'm not asking something that's obvious.
Can a detachment be forced march if its parent is not? At the
beginning of deployment, the detachment would be more than it's
tactical move distance from the parent, something it can not voluntary
'move' to do (as opposed to being deployed at). The intent would be
that once the parent marches, it would close to within the tactical
move distance of the detachment.
Is this legal?
Peter
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Tue Feb 22, 2005 6:41 pm Post subject: Re: Detachments Rules Again |
 |
|
Can a detachment be forced march if its parent is not? At the
beginning of deployment, the detachment would be more than it's
tactical move distance from the parent, something it can not voluntary
'move' to do (as opposed to being deployed at).>>
No. And that is why it says 'go' and not 'move'.
Jon
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Legionary

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 284
|
Posted: Wed Feb 23, 2005 1:48 am Post subject: Re: Detachments Rules Again |
 |
|
--- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, JonCleaves@a... wrote:
> Can a detachment be forced march if its parent is not? At the
> beginning of deployment, the detachment would be more than it's
> tactical move distance from the parent, something it can not
voluntary
> 'move' to do (as opposed to being deployed at).>>
>
> No. And that is why it says 'go' and not 'move'.
>
> Jon
Thanks Jon
I actually made a point of reading the rule before asking another
'foolish' question. Sorry I missed the nuanced difference between 'go'
and 'move'.
Playing at Bill's, I realized that I need to come up with a better
strategy for when my opponent force marches 2E Reg LI JLS, Sh elements
to the center line. Those cheap units made it very difficult to get my
Visigoth spear blocks into position for impetuous charges (I ended up
in an eight hour long game, and never got the main core of my army to
grips with anything). My other LI units were tied up on one flank, and
was thinking that I could maybe have forced marched my 4E LI B
detachments to get back the manuever space. Glad to know that they're
not eligible to do that.
Since my cavalry wing had things under control on the other flank,
maybe I should have wheeled off a 6E unit of LC JLS,B,Sh to sweep into
the flank of the LI's that were giving me such trouble? Hmmmm?
Thanks again.
Peter
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Wed Feb 23, 2005 2:01 am Post subject: Re: Re: Detachments Rules Again |
 |
|
My other LI units were tied up on one flank, and
was thinking that I could maybe have forced marched my 4E LI B
detachments to get back the manuever space. Glad to know that they're
not eligible to do that.>>
Sorry, but detachments are local detached elements of a larger unit. What you
want to do makes much tactical sense, but ancient armies did not have that kind
of flexibility and doctrine.
I keep HC or some such in between my blocks of close order to chase off LI.
Charge at max range so you don't catch them.... If they have K behind them,
they plan to stand, but then the LI isn't screening your close, it is bait -
just keep pressing.
J
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum You cannot attach files in this forum You cannot download files in this forum
|
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
|