Warrior Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules
A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
 
  FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups AlbumAlbum   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Digest Number 545

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message

Recruit
Recruit


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 78

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2002 8:40 pm    Post subject: Re: Digest Number 545


Date: Sun, 12 May 2002 23:55:52 EDT
From: PHGamer@...
Subject: Re: Shoot prolonging the front

> Jon,
> Thanks for your response.
> If the second diagram has unit 'b' blocking
> LOS between units 'a' and 'c' then
> certainly it is blocking it in the first
> diagram as well.
> Which answers my question?
>
> Phil

Well, I'm now completely confused. I think the
above analysis conflicts with what Jon said at
Cold Wars. But I'm not sure.

Here's what I thought I understood before Cold
Wars: any element, to shoot, must be able to draw
a 1 element wide corridor between itself and it's
target. So consider this situation (lower case
figures are one side, upper case figures are the
opposing side; assume 4 figure elements):

AAAA

aaaa bbbb

ccccddddeeee

Units "a" and "b" have no missile weapons. Unit
"cde" has a missile weapon that is within range
of Unit "A". Element "d" can shoot, because it
can trace a one element wide path to Unit "A".
This is required for "A" to be visible to "d".
Elements "c" and "e", however, cannot trace a
sufficiently wide path, and so cannot shoot.

At Cold Wars, I was told instead that all of
"cde" can shoot, because the whole unit can see
through the gap between "a" and "b". Once
visibility has been established, all that matters
is whether or not each element can trace an
unobstructed line from some point on the shooting
element to some point on the target element.

Note that this reasoning would appear to apply to
even the following alignment:

AAAA

aaaa bbbb

ccccddddeeee

So, Jon, wanna clarify? I'm just trying to
understand the "new world order" of shooting.


-Mark Stone

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group