View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Recruit

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 32
|
Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 5:15 pm Post subject: Dismount question |
 |
|
If a 2E unit of non-Mongol cavalry (or Mongol LC) dismounts, is the
resulting 1E unit considered shielded if the original unit included
one shielded and one unshielded element? What if one element is HC
and the other MC? If the elements are differently armed?
Neither 2.25, 2.33, nor 6.6 seemed to clarify this.
Thanks,
Miles Gregarius
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 5:49 pm Post subject: Re: Dismount question |
 |
|
Good question.
The answer is, the player may choose which element of the two dismounting will
be counted as the base element for determining the dismounted troop type.
Jon
-----Original Message-----
From: Miles <yapisu2003@...>
To: WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com
Sent: Tue, 22 Mar 2005 14:15:33 -0000
Subject: [WarriorRules] Dismount question
If a 2E unit of non-Mongol cavalry (or Mongol LC) dismounts, is the
resulting 1E unit considered shielded if the original unit included
one shielded and one unshielded element? What if one element is HC
and the other MC? If the elements are differently armed?
Neither 2.25, 2.33, nor 6.6 seemed to clarify this.
Thanks,
Miles Gregarius
Yahoo! Groups Links
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Mark Stone Moderator


Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 2102 Location: Buckley, WA
|
Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 6:53 pm Post subject: Re: Dismount question |
 |
|
--- On March 22 Jon Cleaves said: ---
>
> Good question.
>
> The answer is, the player may choose which element of the two dismounting will
> be counted as the base element for determining the dismounted troop type.
>
> Jon
>
>> -----Original Message-----
>> From: Miles <yapisu2003@y...>
>>
>> If a 2E unit of non-Mongol cavalry (or Mongol LC) dismounts, is the
>> resulting 1E unit....
>>
Well that just shows how little I know. I would have thought that the answer was
that such unit could not dismount, as the only allowable 1E bodies in Warrior
are staff elements.
-Mark Stone
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 7:15 pm Post subject: Re: Dismount question |
 |
|
From 6.61, next to last sentences:
"As an exception to the normal rules for unit size, a dismounted unit may have a
size of one element. Theoretical ‘part elements’ are lost when dismounting."
Not used very often, and for good reason...lol
J
-----Original Message-----
From: Mark Stone <mark@...>
To: warrior <WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com>
Sent: Tue, 22 Mar 2005 15:53:57 +0000
Subject: Re: [WarriorRules] Dismount question
--- On March 22 Jon Cleaves said: ---
>
> Good question.
>
> The answer is, the player may choose which element of the two dismounting will
> be counted as the base element for determining the dismounted troop type.
>
> Jon
>
>> -----Original Message-----
>> From: Miles <yapisu2003@y...>
>>
>> If a 2E unit of non-Mongol cavalry (or Mongol LC) dismounts, is the
>> resulting 1E unit....
>>
Well that just shows how little I know. I would have thought that the answer was
that such unit could not dismount, as the only allowable 1E bodies in Warrior
are staff elements.
-Mark Stone
Yahoo! Groups Links
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Recruit

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 156
|
Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2005 5:34 pm Post subject: Dismount Question |
 |
|
Jon
A 2E unit of heavy cavalry dismounts, 1 element is shielded, the other
is not.
Is the resulting 1E unit shielded or not?
Thanks
Cole
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Mon Nov 14, 2005 10:32 pm Post subject: Re: Dismount Question |
 |
|
Shielded.
Jon
-----Original Message-----
From: Nicholas Cioran <ncioran@...>
To: WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com
Sent: Fri, 11 Nov 2005 14:34:36 -0000
Subject: [WarriorRules] Dismount Question
Jon
A 2E unit of heavy cavalry dismounts, 1 element is shielded, the other
is not.
Is the resulting 1E unit shielded or not?
Thanks
Cole
Yahoo! Groups Links
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Fri Dec 16, 2005 8:02 pm Post subject: Re: Dismount Question |
 |
|
In a message dated 12/16/2005 16:01:43 Central Standard Time,
ncioran@... writes:
Does this rule mean that single element Cavalry generals cannot
dismount, or should there be an exception to allow dismounting 1:1 for
generals?>>
Single element Cav generals cannot dismount without a list rule.
Jon
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Recruit

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 156
|
Posted: Sat Dec 17, 2005 12:58 am Post subject: Dismount Question |
 |
|
Jon
A questions with regards to the "theoretical 'part elements' are lost"
rule.
Does this rule mean that single element Cavalry generals cannot
dismount, or should there be an exception to allow dismounting 1:1 for
generals?
Thanks
Cole
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|