Warrior Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules
A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
 
  FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups AlbumAlbum   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

follow ups

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Mark Stone
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 2102
Location: Buckley, WA

PostPosted: Tue Nov 25, 2003 12:15 am    Post subject: follow ups


This question came up in a recent Warrior game:

11.221 Who May (or Must) Follow-up states that "those standing to receive a
mounted charge halted cannot." This is ambiguous between:
(a) those standing to receive a mounted charge halted this bound cannot; and
(b) those standing to receive a mounted charge halted initially cannot

To make it concrete, consider a unit of close order foot who, on Bound 1, stand
to receive a mounted charge with neither body doing a CPF to the other, and on
Boud 2, doing a CPF and more to the mounted who then recoil. Can the foot follow
up on Bound 2 or not?


-Mark Stone

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message   MSN Messenger
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Tue Nov 25, 2003 3:53 am    Post subject: Re: follow ups


Mark, I know how I want to answer, but I am checking a couple things first -
please stand by.

Jon


[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Doug
Centurion
Centurion


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 1412

PostPosted: Tue Nov 25, 2003 11:06 am    Post subject: Re: follow ups


FWIW, the phrasing of the rule seems redundant to me-- "standing to
receive" is obviously motionless, so why do you need to include the
word "halted" unless there is some other rules-defined manner of
"standing to receive?"

I think its a holdover from TOG Britspeak; after flipping thru the
rules (oh for a Glossary!) I find that 6.166 Charge Responses uses
the cumbersome phrase "stand to receive it at the halt."

But back to the grammar affecting the actual question-- isn't there a
difference in tenses between
"those who stood to receive a [mounted] charge at the halt"
and
"those standing to receive a [mounted] charge {while} halted?"

In the first case, I'd think it applies to any past interaction with
this [mounted] charger.

In the second case, I'd think it applies only to a charge during the
current bound.

Dunno which was intended.


>This question came up in a recent Warrior game:
>
>11.221 Who May (or Must) Follow-up states that "those standing to receive a
>mounted charge halted cannot." This is ambiguous between:
>
>(a) those standing to receive a mounted charge halted this bound cannot; and
>(b) those standing to receive a mounted charge halted initially cannot
>
>To make it concrete, consider a unit of close order foot who, on
>Bound 1, stand
>to receive a mounted charge with neither body doing a CPF to the other, and on
>Bound 2, doing a CPF and more to the mounted who then recoil. Can
>the foot follow
>up on Bound 2 or not?
>
>
>-Mark Stone

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  

Recruit
Recruit


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 135

PostPosted: Tue Nov 25, 2003 3:33 pm    Post subject: Re: follow ups


Greetings

This is a comment from a position of ignorance because I haven't got
my copy of the rules yet ... but using WRG 7th as an aid that
differentiates between follow ups where "Other troops have the option
of doing so [followng up], except that those standing to receive a
mounted charge halted cannot." However the section continues in WRG
7th in the next paragraph "Regular close formation troops, or regular
foot who stood to receive a charge and have not followed up beyond
their original position, need not pursue ...".

By implication the author is indeed making a distinction between the
charge response (standing = current bound) and later (stood = past
bound)?

So in bound 1 if the mounted 'bounce' by being recoiled the troops
who have received the charge cannot follow up. If they continue in
combat and are recoiled in bound 2 they can. Seem sensible?

Edward

--- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, Doug <rockd@p...> wrote:

> But back to the grammar affecting the actual question-- isn't there
a
> difference in tenses between
> "those who stood to receive a [mounted] charge at the halt"
> and
> "those standing to receive a [mounted] charge {while} halted?"
>
> In the first case, I'd think it applies to any past interaction
with
> this [mounted] charger.
>
> In the second case, I'd think it applies only to a charge during
the
> current bound.
>
> Dunno which was intended.
>
>
> >This question came up in a recent Warrior game:
> >
> >11.221 Who May (or Must) Follow-up states that "those standing to
receive a
> >mounted charge halted cannot." This is ambiguous between:
> >
> >(a) those standing to receive a mounted charge halted this bound
cannot; and
> >(b) those standing to receive a mounted charge halted initially
cannot
> >
> >To make it concrete, consider a unit of close order foot who, on
> >Bound 1, stand
> >to receive a mounted charge with neither body doing a CPF to the
other, and on
> >Bound 2, doing a CPF and more to the mounted who then recoil. Can
> >the foot follow
> >up on Bound 2 or not?
> >
> >
> >-Mark Stone

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Tue Nov 25, 2003 6:45 pm    Post subject: Re: follow ups


In a message dated 11/24/2003 4:15:38 PM Eastern Standard Time,
mark@... writes:

> 11.221 Who May (or Must) Follow-up states that "those standing to receive a
> mounted charge halted cannot." This is ambiguous between:
> (a) those standing to receive a mounted charge halted this bound cannot; and
> (b) those standing to receive a mounted charge halted initially cannot>>

The answer is b.

>
> To make it concrete, consider a unit of close order foot who, on Bound 1,
stand
> to receive a mounted charge with neither body doing a CPF to the other, and on
> Boud 2, doing a CPF and more to the mounted who then
> recoil. Can the foot follow
> up on Bound 2 or not?>>

No.

I will admit again that I left too much 'barkerese' in the rules, even though it
is the right 'rule' it needs better wording which I will correct in the 2d
printing.


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  

Recruit
Recruit


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 135

PostPosted: Tue Nov 25, 2003 8:52 pm    Post subject: Re: follow ups


Greetings

Jon, is it worth putting proposed revised wording in your very useful
clarifications before the 2nd printing? Could you elaborate the
rationale for it - at least on this forum?

Thanks

Edward


--- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, JonCleaves@a... wrote:
> In a message dated 11/24/2003 4:15:38 PM Eastern Standard Time,
mark@d... writes:
>
> > 11.221 Who May (or Must) Follow-up states that "those standing to
receive a
> > mounted charge halted cannot." This is ambiguous between:
> > (a) those standing to receive a mounted charge halted this bound
cannot; and
> > (b) those standing to receive a mounted charge halted initially
cannot>>
>
> The answer is b.
>
> >
> > To make it concrete, consider a unit of close order foot who, on
Bound 1, stand
> > to receive a mounted charge with neither body doing a CPF to the
other, and on
> > Boud 2, doing a CPF and more to the mounted who then
> > recoil. Can the foot follow
> > up on Bound 2 or not?>>
>
> No.
>
> I will admit again that I left too much 'barkerese' in the rules,
even though it is the right 'rule' it needs better wording which I
will correct in the 2d printing.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Tue Nov 25, 2003 10:04 pm    Post subject: Re: Re: follow ups


In a message dated 11/25/2003 12:52:30 PM Eastern Standard Time,
edward_sturges@... writes:

> Jon, is it worth putting proposed revised wording in your very useful
> clarifications before the 2nd printing?>>

I can do that.

<< Could you elaborate the rationale for it - at least on this forum? >>

What is the 'it', Edward? The rationale for the rule being the way it is?


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Tue Nov 25, 2003 10:53 pm    Post subject: Re: Re: follow ups


Foot troops who stand to receive a mounted charge are more disorganized and
intermingled by the event than 'normal'. It takes them longer to reorganize at
the small unit level than a unit in a simple infantry 'push', they have no
momentum with respect to the faster mounted troops and they have more trouble
capitalizing on any mounted set back.


[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  

Recruit
Recruit


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 135

PostPosted: Tue Nov 25, 2003 11:43 pm    Post subject: Re: follow ups


Greetings

Jon, sorry for the lack of clarity. Yes, the logic for the rule the
way it is - I can come up some support for it I think but that would
just be supposition on my part. I don't think I have any problem
it's just trying to understand a particular component. If it's clear
in the rulebook I'll wait to read it rather than waste your time now.

Kind regards

Edward


--- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, JonCleaves@a... wrote:
> In a message dated 11/25/2003 12:52:30 PM Eastern Standard Time,
edward_sturges@h... writes:
>
> > Jon, is it worth putting proposed revised wording in your very
useful
> > clarifications before the 2nd printing?>>
>
> I can do that.
>
> << Could you elaborate the rationale for it - at least on this
forum? >>
>
> What is the 'it', Edward? The rationale for the rule being the way
it is?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group