Warrior Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules
A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
 
  FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups AlbumAlbum   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Lost in the woods.

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Eric Turner
Legionary
Legionary


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 288
Location: Richmond, Va

PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2003 9:17 pm    Post subject: Lost in the woods.


Lost in the woods.

Situation is as follows. Woods have been placed on the board edge to
cover 5" to 6". A light cav unit is marched to and through the woods.
On one of the march bounds while completely inside the woods, the LC
rolls a "1" and turns to the edge. It has enough movement to march
off the table.

Will it leave the table or stop at the edge?


Eric

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2003 11:11 pm    Post subject: Re: Lost in the woods.


--- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, "wdknee88" <eturner@c...> wrote:
> Lost in the woods.
>
> Situation is as follows. Woods have been placed on the board edge
to
> cover 5" to 6". A light cav unit is marched to and through the
woods.
> On one of the march bounds while completely inside the woods, the
LC
> rolls a "1" and turns to the edge. It has enough movement to march
> off the table.
>
> Will it leave the table or stop at the edge?
>
>
> Eric>>

While I am not sure what 'placed on the board to cover 5" to 6"
means, I can answer the question -

Stop at the board edge. 6.81: "Without a special scenario or
campaign rule, troops cannot leave the table voluntarily. That is,
without such a rule, troops may not approach, march, retire, counter
or staff move off-table. "

Jon


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Eric Turner
Legionary
Legionary


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 288
Location: Richmond, Va

PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2003 11:42 pm    Post subject: Re: Lost in the woods.


--- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, "joncleaves" <JonCleaves@a...>
wrote:
> --- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, "wdknee88" <eturner@c...>
wrote:
> > Lost in the woods.
> >
> > Situation is as follows. Woods have been placed on the board edge
> to
> > cover 5" to 6". A light cav unit is marched to and through the
> woods.
> > On one of the march bounds while completely inside the woods, the
> LC
> > rolls a "1" and turns to the edge. It has enough movement to
march
> > off the table.
> >
> > Will it leave the table or stop at the edge?
> >
> >
> > Eric>>
>
> While I am not sure what 'placed on the board to cover 5" to 6"
> means, I can answer the question -
>
> Stop at the board edge. 6.81: "Without a special scenario or
> campaign rule, troops cannot leave the table voluntarily. That is,
> without such a rule, troops may not approach, march, retire,
counter
> or staff move off-table. "
>
> Jon

Woods have been placed on the table edge (the edge of the world) to
cover 5" to 6" of the edge.

I am marching on the very edge of the table, board, or 6'x4' playing
area inside the woods. I roll the a '1' which forces the unit to turn
to leave the table. I see this a non voluntarily because the die made
the unit turn. From your answer, the whole march move is voluntary so
the roll which directs a unit off table either stops the unit at the
edge or doesn't move at all.

Eric

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2003 12:03 am    Post subject: Re: Re: Lost in the woods.


In a message dated 10/27/2003 3:42:38 PM Eastern Standard Time,
eturner@... writes:

> Woods have been placed on the table edge (the edge of the world) to
> cover 5" to 6" of the edge.>>

I guess this is a 15mm game and the feature is 240p or so across. Is that
right? I mean, it doesn't really matter to the example that I can see, but you
seem to think so, so I want to be sure what we are talking about. A diagram
would be something...


>
> I am marching on the very edge of the table, board, or 6'x4' playing
> area inside the woods. I roll the a '1' which forces the unit to turn
> to leave the table. I see this a non voluntarily because the die made
> the unit turn. From your answer, the whole march move is voluntary so
> the roll which directs a unit off table either stops the
> unit at the edge or doesn't move at all.>>

Marches are not involuntary. 6.81 says you can't march off table unless in
retreat. Rolling '1's and '6's for the deviation of your voluntary move doesn't
change that.
Jon


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group