 |
Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
|
View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Recruit

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 234
|
Posted: Tue Dec 02, 2003 7:49 pm Post subject: Miscellaneous questions |
 |
|
Jon,
I managed to get a few games in with a gamer who had never played
Warrior (although he did play TOG at one time). He gave very positive
reviews, so hopefully this will be one more customer.
I did want to mention and ask about a couple of things:
1. On page 79, you begin a paragraph with the word hills underlined,
but then you go on to mention non-hill items. I actually overlooked
something here because it had to do with gullies and not hills (see
below).
2. I don't know if this typo has come up yet, but on page 86, paragraph
6 it reads ...it the top segment... and it should read ...if the top
segment...
3. The gully question. It says that a gully conceals most units (page
86) and that it is only possible to see into a gully from its edge
(page 79). Under ambushes, it reads: An ambush is a unit concealed
within a wood, orchard, olive grove, unfortified built-over area or a
gully hidden from enemy forward zone by intervening high ground or
woods...
So, one question is, does the phrase 'hidden from enemy forward zone by
intervening high ground or woods' refer only to the gully, or to the
wood, orchard, olive grove, etc.?
A second question. If a unit was placed in a gully in deployment not in
ambush (e.g., there is no intervening high ground or woods, that side
is outscouted) would that unit have to be placed on the table (I assume
it would) during deployment? I would then assume that it would not be
known enemy (since it is not visible), even though the opponent would
actually see the unit on the table.
4. This one I had trouble convincing my friend on, although I finally
succeeded (hopefully I am right on this, but he is not on the newsgroup
so he won't know if I am not). If one has a unit of HC skirmishing, and
this unit is shot for 2 or more CPF in prep shooting, it must waiver or
recall (since it is in skirmish). My friend read below that that other
mounted may choose to charge unprompted. Now, I said that other meant
other than any mounted already described in the list. He countered by
saying that other could be referring to the mounted type troops listed
immediately above in the bullet item list. At the least, it may be
worth a clarification.
Thanks for your response.
-- Charles
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Thu Dec 04, 2003 2:14 am Post subject: Re: Miscellaneous questions |
 |
|
In a message dated 12/2/2003 10:57:18 Central Standard Time, clr198@...
writes:
1. On page 79, you begin a paragraph with the word hills underlined,
but then you go on to mention non-hill items. I actually overlooked
something here because it had to do with gullies and not hills (see
below).
That is a poorly worded section, but it is there to list exceptions to the
primary rule above it, particularly #5 and its three bullets.
2. I don't know if this typo has come up yet, but on page 86, paragraph
6 it reads ...it the top segment... and it should read ...if the top
segment...
Thanks.
3. The gully question. It says that a gully conceals most units (page
86) and that it is only possible to see into a gully from its edge
(page 79). Under ambushes, it reads: An ambush is a unit concealed
within a wood, orchard, olive grove, unfortified built-over area or a
gully hidden from enemy forward zone by intervening high ground or
woods...
<<So, one question is, does the phrase 'hidden from enemy forward zone by
intervening high ground or woods' refer only to the gully, or to the
wood, orchard, olive grove, etc.?>>
There should be a comma between 'gully' and 'hidden'.
<<A second question. If a unit was placed in a gully in deployment not in
ambush (e.g., there is no intervening high ground or woods, that side
is outscouted) would that unit have to be placed on the table (I assume
it would) during deployment?>>
Yes.
<< I would then assume that it would not be
known enemy (since it is not visible), even though the opponent would
actually see the unit on the table.>>
True.
<<4. This one I had trouble convincing my friend on, although I finally
succeeded (hopefully I am right on this, but he is not on the newsgroup
so he won't know if I am not). If one has a unit of HC skirmishing, and
this unit is shot for 2 or more CPF in prep shooting, it must waiver or
recall (since it is in skirmish). My friend read below that that other
mounted may choose to charge unprompted. Now, I said that other meant
other than any mounted already described in the list. He countered by
saying that other could be referring to the mounted type troops listed
immediately above in the bullet item list. At the least, it may be
worth a clarification.>>
You were correct.
Jon
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Recruit

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 234
|
Posted: Tue Apr 06, 2004 9:44 pm Post subject: Miscellaneous questions |
 |
|
Jon,
Here are a few questions:
1. In the last Warrior clinic, you say that:
There are two basic types of TF: those that are obstacles, those that
are both obstacles and cover from shooting.
This implies to me that all TF are obstacles. But then you say in a few
places:
If the TF count as an obstacle...
Is it possible for a TF to *not* count as an obstacle.
2. Somewhere I recall reading that TF are 20-40 paces across. Is this
true? Is it up to me when I build the piece in miniature to make it
whatever size I want?
3. If I placed a ditch in my own rear zone parallel to the flank edge
(completely blocking the flank) and my opponent, for the sake of this
question, flank marched a mounted unit to that same flank and rolled a
6 such that he was required to enter in the rear zone. My guess would
be that that unit (or units) would be lost forever as they could never
enter where they are required to enter. Is this true?
4. Let's say I am flank marching with a unit of LC. I arrive and (I
think this is right) I have the option of entering during approaches or
marches *or* by charging into an enemy from off board. (Or is it that I
am only allowed to charge into the enemy from off board if I have no
other approach or march options?)
So, assuming that I am able to make a choice here, I choose to charge
an opponent who happens to be a HI unit in column with his flank
exposed (that is why I am able to charge him). Actually, this raises
another question. If there were none of my units anywhere near my
opponent's HI unit, could the HI unit approach or counter based on my
LC unit being somewhere off board? Under this situation, I assume
someone could march a unit right up to the table edge, that is, my
opponent has no idea of where my off table units are located.
In any event, my opponent chooses not to approach (he doesn't turn to
face the flank) or he is not able to do so. So, when my cav approaches,
I do nothing other than say I intend to enter by charging into the
flank of the HI.
But, my opponent (either during counters or retirement) turns to face
the board edge. Now, my LC is unable to charge onto the table. My
assumption is that I would have to make any charge possible this turn
to get onto the table. If I couldn't possibly get a charge off, then I
would have to try and enter the next bound.
Thanks, as always.
-- Charles
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Tue Apr 06, 2004 10:40 pm Post subject: Re: Miscellaneous questions |
 |
|
In a message dated 4/6/2004 2:44:44 PM Eastern Daylight Time, clr198@...
writes:
> 1. In the last Warrior clinic, you say that:
>
> There are two basic types of TF: those that are obstacles, those that
> are both obstacles and cover from shooting.
>
> This implies to me that all TF are obstacles. But then you say in a few
> places:
>
> If the TF count as an obstacle...>
> Is it possible for a TF to *not* count as an obstacle.>>
I don't have the clinic with me right now, but you do know that we put a
replacement clinic 4.1 online to supercede the crappy one in Spearpoint, yes?
>
> 2. Somewhere I recall reading that TF are 20-40 paces across. Is this
> true? Is it up to me when I build the piece in miniature to make it
> whatever size I want?>>
It can be 10-40p. The rule is 17.1
>
> 3. If I placed a ditch in my own rear zone parallel to the flank edge
> (completely blocking the flank) and my opponent, for the sake of this
> question, flank marched a mounted unit to that same flank and rolled a
> 6 such that he was required to enter in the rear zone. My guess would
> be that that unit (or units) would be lost forever as they could never
> enter where they are required to enter. Is this true?>>
No, they could enter dismounted, charging if it were defended.
>
> 4. Let's say I am flank marching with a unit of LC. I arrive and (I
> think this is right) I have the option of entering during approaches or
> marches *or* by charging into an enemy from off board. (Or is it that I
> am only allowed to charge into the enemy from off board if I have no
> other approach or march options?)>>
Your choice how you enter, but you must if you can. Please read 6.82. :)
>
> So, assuming that I am able to make a choice here, I choose to charge
> an opponent who happens to be a HI unit in column with his flank
> exposed (that is why I am able to charge him). Actually, this raises
> another question. If there were none of my units anywhere near my
> opponent's HI unit, could the HI unit approach or counter based on my
> LC unit being somewhere off board? >>
The HI does not know you are there (see 14.45: Flank marching troops are not
visible to the enemy until they move onto the playing surface) so he can't
approach unless you have someone else within 480p. he can probably counter
because he is probably alone and unsupported, therefore subject to a cause of
unease, therefore can counter. The HI could also be prompted to retire.
<< Under this situation, I assume
> someone could march a unit right up to the table edge, that is, my
> opponent has no idea of where my off table units are located.>>
Not until they enter - 14.45.
> In any event, my opponent chooses not to approach (he doesn't turn to
> face the flank) or he is not able to do so. So, when my cav approaches,
> I do nothing other than say I intend to enter by charging into the
> flank of the HI.>>
Ok. But you do not have to say that. He will know that you didn't enter by
approaches and he will know which zone you are entering and on which flank by
the die you rolled.
>
> But, my opponent (either during counters or retirement) turns to face
> the board edge. Now, my LC is unable to charge onto the table. My
> assumption is that I would have to make any charge possible this turn
> to get onto the table. If I couldn't possibly get a charge
> off, then I
> would have to try and enter the next bound.>>
True. 6.82.
Never pass up the opportunity to read the rules!
J
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum You cannot attach files in this forum You cannot download files in this forum
|
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
|