| View previous topic :: View next topic   | 
	
	
	
		| Author | 
		Message | 
	
	
		Mark Mallard Centurion
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 868 Location: Whitehaven, England
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Tue Jun 21, 2005 12:41 pm    Post subject: Re: Rules or Example Question | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
In a message dated 21/06/2005 13:54:36 GMT Standard Time,
 
jerryhearnau@... writes:
 
 
I have a  question about the "Roman German Battle Step by Step" pdf
 
from the files  section (brilliant piece of writing by the way).
 
Slide 57, beginning  of Bound 4.  Why does the Roman player use a
 
Counter to turn Unit 2  90 degrees ready to charge the German cavalry
 
Unit 1??? I thought rule 6.0  said that a unit beginning a bound
 
within 40p of an enemy unit could  manouvre.  So why not do the 90
 
degree turn in the approach  phase?  Why wait to counter and take the
 
chance on failing??   Rule 6.14 says when a unit may attempt to
 
counter but doesn't seem to me  to say it must counter in the
 
situation described.  The only reason I  could think of for the unit
 
to counter would be if it were rallying during  the approach phase.
 
But there is no mention of this in the example  and I can see no
 
reason why the roman unit would need to  rally.
 
This is not official - but as its not pertaining to the  rule book as such, i
 
will offer my opinion as i did  get a kind mention on page one of the said
 
document.
 
 
I think you are right on all counts except that the unit is rallying  from
 
their opponents routing the previous turn and so no approach move was  possible.
 
 
Would  appreciate
 
some guidance here.  Have I stumbled on a rule that is  interpreted
 
differently in the US to the way we play in Australia?   Or is the
 
example only there as an example of countering, and the player  could
 
equally well have chose to manouvre in the approach  phase?
 
 
Yours in puzzlement
 
 
Jerry  Hearn
 
Canberra
 
Australia
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                                                      _________________ Chess, WoW. | 
			 
		  | 
	
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	
	
		  | 
	
	
		 Recruit
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 33
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Tue Jun 21, 2005 3:53 pm    Post subject: Rules or Example Question | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
I have a question about the "Roman German Battle Step by Step" pdf
 
from the files section (brilliant piece of writing by the way).
 
Slide 57, beginning of Bound 4.  Why does the Roman player use a
 
Counter to turn Unit 2 90 degrees ready to charge the German cavalry
 
Unit 1??? I thought rule 6.0 said that a unit beginning a bound
 
within 40p of an enemy unit could manouvre.  So why not do the 90
 
degree turn in the approach phase?  Why wait to counter and take the
 
chance on failing??  Rule 6.14 says when a unit may attempt to
 
counter but doesn't seem to me to say it must counter in the
 
situation described.  The only reason I could think of for the unit
 
to counter would be if it were rallying during the approach phase.
 
But there is no mention of this in the example and I can see no
 
reason why the roman unit would need to rally.  Would appreciate
 
some guidance here.  Have I stumbled on a rule that is interpreted
 
differently in the US to the way we play in Australia?  Or is the
 
example only there as an example of countering, and the player could
 
equally well have chose to manouvre in the approach phase?
 
 
Yours in puzzlement
 
 
Jerry Hearn
 
Canberra
 
Australia
 
 
                                                                                                               | 
			 
		  | 
	
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	
	
		  | 
	
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Tue Jun 21, 2005 5:43 pm    Post subject: Re: Rules or Example Question | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
<< I have a question about the "Roman German Battle Step by Step" pdf
 
from the files section (brilliant piece of writing by the way).
 
Slide 57, beginning of Bound 4.  Why does the Roman player use a
 
Counter to turn Unit 2 90 degrees ready to charge the German cavalry
 
Unit 1??? I thought rule 6.0 said that a unit beginning a bound
 
within 40p of an enemy unit could manouvre.  So why not do the 90
 
degree turn in the approach phase?>>
 
 
Very good eye.  You have uncovered an error in the sample battle and a very
 
subtle one.  Unit 2 is in fact not required to rally as it did not choose to
 
pursue and so is not ceasing a pursuit due to lack of contact.  Unit 2 was
 
indeed eligible to move in approaches.
 
 
Remember, you are not required to rally just because hand to hand ends.  It is
 
the manner in which it ends that determines if you must rally.
 
 
Todd, if you are reading this, we need to make that fix....
 
 
 
Jon
 
 
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                                                   _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	
	
		  | 
	
	
		Todd Schneider Centurion
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 904 Location: Kansas City
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Wed Jun 22, 2005 12:10 am    Post subject: Re: Rules or Example Question | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
It's added to the list.
 
 
Todd
 
 
--- JonCleaves@... wrote:
 
 
> << I have a question about the "Roman German Battle
 
> Step by Step" pdf
 
> from the files section (brilliant piece of writing
 
> by the way).
 
> Slide 57, beginning of Bound 4.  Why does the Roman
 
> player use a
 
> Counter to turn Unit 2 90 degrees ready to charge
 
> the German cavalry
 
> Unit 1??? I thought rule 6.0 said that a unit
 
> beginning a bound
 
> within 40p of an enemy unit could manouvre.  So why
 
> not do the 90
 
> degree turn in the approach phase?>>
 
>
 
> Very good eye.  You have uncovered an error in the
 
> sample battle and a very subtle one.  Unit 2 is in
 
> fact not required to rally as it did not choose to
 
> pursue and so is not ceasing a pursuit due to lack
 
> of contact.  Unit 2 was indeed eligible to move in
 
> approaches.
 
>
 
> Remember, you are not required to rally just because
 
> hand to hand ends.  It is the manner in which it
 
> ends that determines if you must rally.
 
>
 
> Todd, if you are reading this, we need to make that
 
> fix....
 
>
 
>
 
> Jon
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
> [Non-text portions of this message have been
 
> removed]
 
>
 
>
 
 
                                                                                                                   _________________ Finding new and interesting ways to snatch defeat from the jaws of Victory almost every game! | 
			 
		  | 
	
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	
	
		  | 
	
	
		 |