 |
Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
|
View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Mark Stone Moderator


Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 2102 Location: Buckley, WA
|
Posted: Fri May 13, 2005 7:14 pm Post subject: rules question: pre-emptive prompting |
 |
|
The rule say (paraphrasing, as I don't have them with me) that prompts are made
in the "appropriate phase" in the bound. Nowhere does it really explain what
"appropriate" is. And I've always wondered can you prompt pre-emptively, i.e.
ahead of time?
Example: I have a unit that is not in charge range this bound, but will be next
bound. I have some prompt points left over when we get to charges, not enough
for the prompt to reach it this bound, but enough to reach it next bound. Can I
issue the prompt now, knowing (a) I'm prompting a body that isn't currently
eligible to respond to the prompt, and (b) by the time the prompt gets there
the body should be eligible? If I can do this, can I do it any time in the
bound, or does it have to be in the charge phase?
What throws me off is that I can't find anywhere that states that in order to
prompt a body to do something, the recipient of the prompt must be eligible to
do so.
It also seems to me that if a general can anticipate future events sufficiently,
and use current prompt points accordingly, that perhaps we ought to allow that.
-Mark Stone
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Frank Gilson Moderator

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 1567 Location: Orange County California
|
Posted: Fri May 13, 2005 8:53 pm Post subject: Re: rules question: pre-emptive prompting |
 |
|
Jon will answer, of course, but it seems to me from reading my rules
(with me) :
1) you want a body to do something it needs to be prompted to do
(charge, retire, dismount, start march)
2) the 'appropriate point' in the sequence of play refers to the
moment you want the body to do the something
3) you prompt it then, not earlier
Could you make an argument to fiddle around with what 'appropriate
point' means? Sure...but I think that's against the intent of Jon.
Perhaps for clarity Jon would replace
"It is made at the appropriate point in the sequence of play." with
"It is made at the moment it is required." or some such
Frank is not Jon
--- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, Mark Stone <mark@d...> wrote:
> The rule say (paraphrasing, as I don't have them with me) that
prompts are made
> in the "appropriate phase" in the bound. Nowhere does it really
explain what
> "appropriate" is. And I've always wondered can you prompt pre-
emptively, i.e.
> ahead of time?
>
> Example: I have a unit that is not in charge range this bound, but
will be next
> bound. I have some prompt points left over when we get to charges,
not enough
> for the prompt to reach it this bound, but enough to reach it next
bound. Can I
> issue the prompt now, knowing (a) I'm prompting a body that isn't
currently
> eligible to respond to the prompt, and (b) by the time the prompt
gets there
> the body should be eligible? If I can do this, can I do it any
time in the
> bound, or does it have to be in the charge phase?
>
> What throws me off is that I can't find anywhere that states that
in order to
> prompt a body to do something, the recipient of the prompt must be
eligible to
> do so.
>
> It also seems to me that if a general can anticipate future events
sufficiently,
> and use current prompt points accordingly, that perhaps we ought
to allow that.
>
>
> -Mark Stone
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Wed Jun 01, 2005 10:29 pm Post subject: Re: rules question: pre-emptive prompting |
 |
|
You prompt in the phase of the turn that matches what you are prompting for.
If the prompt arrives and it can't do that thing, it must and will do so as soon
as it is able.
-----Original Message-----
From: Mark Stone <mark@...>
To: warrior <WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com>
Sent: Fri, 13 May 2005 16:14:40 +0000
Subject: [WarriorRules] rules question: pre-emptive prompting
The rule say (paraphrasing, as I don't have them with me) that prompts are made
in the "appropriate phase" in the bound. Nowhere does it really explain what
"appropriate" is. And I've always wondered can you prompt pre-emptively, i.e.
ahead of time?
Example: I have a unit that is not in charge range this bound, but will be next
bound. I have some prompt points left over when we get to charges, not enough
for the prompt to reach it this bound, but enough to reach it next bound. Can I
issue the prompt now, knowing (a) I'm prompting a body that isn't currently
eligible to respond to the prompt, and (b) by the time the prompt gets there
the body should be eligible? If I can do this, can I do it any time in the
bound, or does it have to be in the charge phase?
What throws me off is that I can't find anywhere that states that in order to
prompt a body to do something, the recipient of the prompt must be eligible to
do so.
It also seems to me that if a general can anticipate future events sufficiently,
and use current prompt points accordingly, that perhaps we ought to allow that.
-Mark Stone
Yahoo! Groups Links
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Ewan McNay Moderator


Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 2778 Location: Albany, NY, US
|
Posted: Wed Jun 01, 2005 10:56 pm Post subject: Re: rules question: pre-emptive prompting |
 |
|
Jon: really?
I can *both*:
(i) Issue a prompt in turn N that I know will not get there, but that I
will want to occur in turn N+1
and/or
(ii) Issue a prompt for an action in turn N that is not possible, and have
that prompt 'held over' until that action *is* possible? [I don't believe
this, but it's what your comment below says.]
If so, well, wow.
JonCleaves@... wrote:
> You prompt in the phase of the turn that matches what you are prompting
> for. If the prompt arrives and it can't do that thing, it must and
> will do so as soon as it is able.
>
> -----Original Message----- From: Mark Stone <mark@...>
> To: warrior <WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com> Sent: Fri, 13 May 2005
> 16:14:40 +0000 Subject: [WarriorRules] rules question: pre-emptive
> prompting
>
>
> The rule say (paraphrasing, as I don't have them with me) that prompts
> are made in the "appropriate phase" in the bound. Nowhere does it
> really explain what "appropriate" is. And I've always wondered can you
> prompt pre-emptively, i.e. ahead of time?
>
> Example: I have a unit that is not in charge range this bound, but will
> be next bound. I have some prompt points left over when we get to
> charges, not enough for the prompt to reach it this bound, but enough
> to reach it next bound. Can I issue the prompt now, knowing (a) I'm
> prompting a body that isn't currently eligible to respond to the
> prompt, and (b) by the time the prompt gets there the body should be
> eligible? If I can do this, can I do it any time in the bound, or does
> it have to be in the charge phase?
>
> What throws me off is that I can't find anywhere that states that in
> order to prompt a body to do something, the recipient of the prompt
> must be eligible to do so.
>
> It also seems to me that if a general can anticipate future events
> sufficiently, and use current prompt points accordingly, that perhaps
> we ought to allow that.
>
>
> -Mark Stone
>
>
>
>
>
> Yahoo! Groups Links
>
>
>
>
>
>
> [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
>
>
>
>
> Yahoo! Groups Links
>
>
>
>
>
>
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Wed Jun 01, 2005 11:51 pm Post subject: Re: rules question: pre-emptive prompting |
 |
|
<<( i) Issue a prompt in turn N that I know will not get there, but that I
will want to occur in turn N+1>>
Yes.
<<(ii) Issue a prompt for an action in turn N that is not possible, and have
that prompt 'held over' until that action *is* possible? >>
Well, not forever. Only until the next bound. But yes, it is true. I suppose
by your 'wow' that you have some theoretical situation that you think breaks the
game that has no answer? lol If so, please share...
And before you answer, please remember that there are only four things that are
prompted, that you prompt for those things in their phase and not at other
times, that you have to do what you are prompted to do and that a delayed prompt
is only delayed for one bound.
Let the kibbitzing begin! lol
-----Original Message-----
From: Ewan McNay <ewan.mcnay@...>
To: WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com
Sent: Wed, 01 Jun 2005 15:56:39 -0400
Subject: Re: [WarriorRules] rules question: pre-emptive prompting
Jon: really?
I can *both*:
(i) Issue a prompt in turn N that I know will not get there, but that I
will want to occur in turn N+1
and/or
(ii) Issue a prompt for an action in turn N that is not possible, and have
that prompt 'held over' until that action *is* possible? [I don't believe
this, but it's what your comment below says.]
If so, well, wow.
JonCleaves@... wrote:
> You prompt in the phase of the turn that matches what you are prompting
> for. If the prompt arrives and it can't do that thing, it must and
> will do so as soon as it is able.
>
> -----Original Message----- From: Mark Stone <mark@...>
> To: warrior <WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com> Sent: Fri, 13 May 2005
> 16:14:40 +0000 Subject: [WarriorRules] rules question: pre-emptive
> prompting
>
>
> The rule say (paraphrasing, as I don't have them with me) that prompts
> are made in the "appropriate phase" in the bound. Nowhere does it
> really explain what "appropriate" is. And I've always wondered can you
> prompt pre-emptively, i.e. ahead of time?
>
> Example: I have a unit that is not in charge range this bound, but will
> be next bound. I have some prompt points left over when we get to
> charges, not enough for the prompt to reach it this bound, but enough
> to reach it next bound. Can I issue the prompt now, knowing (a) I'm
> prompting a body that isn't currently eligible to respond to the
> prompt, and (b) by the time the prompt gets there the body should be
> eligible? If I can do this, can I do it any time in the bound, or does
> it have to be in the charge phase?
>
> What throws me off is that I can't find anywhere that states that in
> order to prompt a body to do something, the recipient of the prompt
> must be eligible to do so.
>
> It also seems to me that if a general can anticipate future events
> sufficiently, and use current prompt points accordingly, that perhaps
> we ought to allow that.
>
>
> -Mark Stone
>
>
>
>
>
> Yahoo! Groups Links
>
>
>
>
>
>
> [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
>
>
>
>
> Yahoo! Groups Links
>
>
>
>
>
>
Yahoo! Groups Links
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Ewan McNay Moderator


Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 2778 Location: Albany, NY, US
|
Posted: Wed Jun 01, 2005 11:53 pm Post subject: Re: rules question: pre-emptive prompting |
 |
|
JonCleaves@... wrote:
> <<( i) Issue a prompt in turn N that I know will not get there, but
> that I will want to occur in turn N+1>>
>
> Yes.
>
>
> <<(ii) Issue a prompt for an action in turn N that is not possible, and
> have that prompt 'held over' until that action *is* possible? >>
>
> Well, not forever. Only until the next bound.
OK. That's at least some restriction . That was not what your original
anwer said. I had visions (as a first [ab]use) of troops not on attack
orders receiving a 'pre-prompt' as desired that would allow them to charge
unprompted when first able.
> JonCleaves@... wrote:
>> You prompt in the phase of the turn that matches what you are
>> prompting for. If the prompt arrives and it can't do that thing, it
>> must and will do so as soon as it is able.
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Thu Jun 02, 2005 12:01 am Post subject: Re: rules question: pre-emptive prompting |
 |
|
Yes, i guess i should have quoted 4.42 in its entirety. Sorry.
-----Original Message-----
From: Ewan McNay <ewan.mcnay@...>
To: WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com
Sent: Wed, 01 Jun 2005 16:53:56 -0400
Subject: Re: [WarriorRules] rules question: pre-emptive prompting
JonCleaves@... wrote:
> <<( i) Issue a prompt in turn N that I know will not get there, but
> that I will want to occur in turn N+1>>
>
> Yes.
>
>
> <<(ii) Issue a prompt for an action in turn N that is not possible, and
> have that prompt 'held over' until that action *is* possible? >>
>
> Well, not forever. Only until the next bound.
OK. That's at least some restriction . That was not what your original
anwer said. I had visions (as a first [ab]use) of troops not on attack
orders receiving a 'pre-prompt' as desired that would allow them to charge
unprompted when first able.
> JonCleaves@... wrote:
>> You prompt in the phase of the turn that matches what you are
>> prompting for. If the prompt arrives and it can't do that thing, it
>> must and will do so as soon as it is able.
Yahoo! Groups Links
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum You cannot attach files in this forum You cannot download files in this forum
|
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
|