Warrior Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules
A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
 
  FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups AlbumAlbum   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Rules things

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Greg Preston
Recruit
Recruit


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 244
Location: Newcastle, Australia

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2003 10:16 pm    Post subject: Rules things


Dear Jon,
Thanks for the Warrior Clinic #3 Baggage Camps.
Are there also Clinics #1 and #2 ?


The inevitable rules questions. Again I think I know the answers to
most of these but if I can point to a “ruling” is takes the arguments
away from the argumentative.


Q1.
I was interested in the sentence in warrior Clinic #3 which said
“Immobile transport that is forced to recoil is destroyed”. We have
been playing it that way (I seem to remember an example in a previous
discussion) but I can’t seem to locate any support for this in the
rules. Any hints to where I should be looking ?

Q2. Under 8.4 Troops cannot use JLS as a missile weapon if they are
armed with a longer-range missile weapon. Does this also apply to
incendiary JLS ?


Some questions on Obstacles and Field fortifications

Q3.
9.5 Troops attacking enemy defending the exit bank of a minor water
feature ...etc..,are disordered by these on entering combat.
There has been some confusion here as to whether or not this is
(1) a “cause of disorder” for all troops performing the attacking (ie a
“standard cause of disorder”) or if it is

(2) a statement relating to the timing of the disorder. (ie if the
attackers would be disordered by the obstacle then this occurs prior to
combat)

Q3.
Are troops reaching the “palisade” section of a ditched palisade
reaching a “second obstacle”? (for the purpose of 6.711)

Q4
a) If you “burn down” the palisade of a ditched palisade is the
“ditch” still there ?
b) Does the “ditch” still count as a “field fortification” or is it
“destroyed” ?

Q5
6.711 ...Vehicles and mounted troops can cross field fortifications
only where they have been destroyed.
Does this mean that vehicles and mounted troops cannot attack troops
defending such field fortifications?

Q6.
Can vehicles or mounted troops attack fortifications around a camp ?

Q7. A unit of LMI foot have charged into combat with a LMI unit
defending a field fortification. Both units are in 3E by 3E formation.
The attackers “win” (thank you dice gods) and force the defenders to
recoil. Can the attackers now cross the fortification in “other than
column” in a follow up move or do they need to revert to column as per
6.711.


Thanks in advance,

Greg Preston.

[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2003 1:50 pm    Post subject: Re: Rules things


In a message dated 6/19/2003 01:13:04 Central Daylight Time,
edgdp@... writes:

> Dear Jon,
> Thanks for the Warrior Clinic #3 Baggage Camps.
> Are there also Clinics #1 and #2 ?

Yes. I just put Warrior Clinic 1 in the files section and Warrior clinic 2
is already there named Warrior 30mm.

>
>
> Q1.
> I was interested in the sentence in warrior Clinic #3 which said
> “Immobile transport that is forced to recoil is destroyed”. We have
> been playing it that way (I seem to remember an example in a previous
> discussion) but I can’t seem to locate any support for this in the
> rules. Any hints to where I should be looking ?

Clarification update in the files section.

>
> Q2. Under 8.4 Troops cannot use JLS as a missile weapon if they are
> armed with a longer-range missile weapon. Does this also apply to
> incendiary JLS ?

They need a list rule. See, for example, Holy Warrior list 5.

>
>
> Some questions on Obstacles and Field fortifications
>
> Q3.
> 9.5 Troops attacking enemy defending the exit bank of a minor water
> feature ...etc..,are disordered by these on entering combat.
> There has been some confusion here as to whether or not this is
> (1) a “cause of disorder” for all troops performing the attacking (ie a
> “standard cause of disorder”) or if it is
>
> (2) a statement relating to the timing of the disorder. (ie if the
> attackers would be disordered by the obstacle then this occurs prior to
> combat)

I'm not sure I understand. If you are the type of troop who is disordered by
an obstacle, then entering combat (making contact in a charge) causes the
disorder.

>
> Q3.
> Are troops reaching the “palisade” section of a ditched palisade
> reaching a “second obstacle”? (for the purpose of 6.711)

No. It's all one 'piece'.

>
> Q4
> a) If you “burn down” the palisade of a ditched palisade is the
> “ditch” still there ?

Yes.

> b) Does the “ditch” still count as a “field fortification” or is it
> “destroyed” ?

Still there. You'll be able to fill it in in Siege Warrior.....lol

>
> Q5
> 6.711 ...Vehicles and mounted troops can cross field fortifications
> only where they have been destroyed.
> Does this mean that vehicles and mounted troops cannot attack troops
> defending such field fortifications?

Correct.

>
> Q6.
> Can vehicles or mounted troops attack fortifications around a camp ?

No. ??? What would make those field fortications different?

>
> Q7. A unit of LMI foot have charged into combat with a LMI unit
> defending a field fortification. Both units are in 3E by 3E formation.
> The attackers “win” (thank you dice gods) and force the defenders to
> recoil. Can the attackers now cross the fortification in “other than
> column” in a follow up move or do they need to revert to column as per
> 6.711.

6.711 says: "Foot can cross fortifications only in column unless charging
troops defending them." So, yes.



[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group