 |
Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
|
View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Greg Preston Recruit

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 244 Location: Newcastle, Australia
|
Posted: Mon May 12, 2003 11:32 pm Post subject: Re: Some rules questions extra |
 |
|
Dear Jon,
I am struggling to come to terms with a couple of things in two recent
exchanges in relation to LTS, JLS troops.
I have quoted the two emails from the list below
Email 1- from Me and your reply
> A unit consists of 6E MI all armed with LTS, JLS, Sh.
> They are in two 3E ranks.
> They are frontally charging enemy foot.
> According to 9.22 Ranks After the First – A second rank of foot using
> LTS fights at full effect.
> OK so far ?
Yep.
>
> Then when we look at 9.3 to find out what line of the H-T-H combat
> table we look up, we find “(JLS+) the weapon factor bonus for a figure
> armed with JLS always applies at first contact.”
> Does this mean that the figures entitled to fight (in this case 24)
all
> get the LTS and the JLS+ at first contact ?
Yep.
***********************************
Email 2- from Mark Stone and your reply
So, I just want to be sure I understand this. I've been frantically
looking for
my copy of the rules, and can't dig it up at present, so I'll just ask.
Let us suppose that 24 Peltasts (LMI LTS,JLS,Sh), in two ranks, are
charging 24
Auxilia, in 2 ranks (LMI, JLS, Sh). My assumption has been that the
factors for
the Peltasts would be as follows:
18 figures fighting with both LTS,JLS (since JLS fights in a rank and a
half),
thus 18 @ 3 (vs. LMI) +1 (charging) +1 (JLS) = 18@5
6 figures fighting with just LTS (since LTS fights in two ranks
charging foot),
thus 6 @ 3( vs. LMI) +1 (charging) = 6@4
Jon's terse but substantive reply above says, as far as I can tell,
that all 24
figures fight with both LTS and JLS at first contact.
So is it:
(a) 18@5 + 6@4
(b) 24@5
***************************************************
Ok, Mark, you win - I didn't answer with every implication. The troops
eligible to fight with only LTS (that is, in excess of the troops
eligible to
fight with JLS) fight with just LTS, not both.
******end mail 2*****************
These Emails , and your replies, give rise to the following questions.
1. Why do 24 LMI Peltasts (Email 2) get to fight with 24 at all ? I
thought that to count the full back rank with LTS you had to be close
formation (eg MI etc) AND charging etc. By my reading therefore the
factors for the combat described in Email 2 would be 18@ 5. Am I
missing something here?
2. In Email 1 I was trying to work out if the second rank of foot armed
with LTS, JLS can ever count the whole second rank as LTS with the JLS+
(as I read 9.3). or if the JLS+ is limited to "half the second rank" by
the section on the use of JLS as the primary weapon (as I read 9.22).
Can you help me out here ?
Cheers,
Greg Preston
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Tue May 13, 2003 10:30 am Post subject: Re: Re: Some rules questions extra |
 |
|
Greg
The fault is entirely mine. I answered the questions on this thread in a
hurry - something I know better not to do and will do everything in my power
to avoid doing again. Please accept my sincerest apologies for letting this
whole mess occur and any time of your or anyone else's I may have wasted.
In a message dated 5/13/2003 02:36:51 Central Daylight Time,
edgdp@... writes:
> These Emails , and your replies, give rise to the following questions.
>
> 1. Why do 24 LMI Peltasts (Email 2) get to fight with 24 at all ? I
> thought that to count the full back rank with LTS you had to be close
> formation (eg MI etc) AND charging etc. By my reading therefore the
> factors for the combat described in Email 2 would be 18@ 5. Am I
> missing something here?
You are correct - to get the full back rank you have to be close order
(9.22). There would be 18 figs fighting in this case.
>
> 2. In Email 1 I was trying to work out if the second rank of foot armed
> with LTS, JLS can ever count the whole second rank as LTS with the JLS+
> (as I read 9.3). or if the JLS+ is limited to "half the second rank" by
> the section on the use of JLS as the primary weapon (as I read 9.22).
> Can you help me out here ?
The JLS+ can only ever apply to half the back rank, even if in a close
formation LTS, JLS unit other LTS figures are eligible to fight. Note that
the last sentence of 9.22 under (JLS) says:
"In some situations, a JLS-armed figure may not be able to fight from a
second rank based on its being armed with JLS, but may be able to due to its
other weaponry."
And the last sentence under (JLS+) in 9.3 says:
"Any JLS-armed figure not eligible for the JLS weapon factor bonus, but which
is armed with an eligible weapon uses the factor for that weapon."
You are not eligible for the JLS bonus if you are not eligible to fight due
to having JLS (even if you are eligible to fight for some other reason.)
I will put this last sentence in the new clarifications.
Again - sorry.
Jon
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Wed May 14, 2003 10:21 am Post subject: Re: Re: Some rules questions extra |
 |
|
In a message dated 5/14/2003 04:19:05 Central Daylight Time,
edgdp@... writes:
> BTW Time spent on wargaming is NEVER time wasted.....
> It is all comparative
>
Amen, brother.
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Greg Preston Recruit

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 244 Location: Newcastle, Australia
|
Posted: Wed May 14, 2003 12:30 pm Post subject: Re: Re: Some rules questions extra |
 |
|
Dear Jon,
<snip> Please accept my sincerest apologies for letting this
>
>whole mess occur and any time of your or anyone else's I may have wasted.
>
Hey I'm just glad to get it sorted.
BTW Time spent on wargaming is NEVER time wasted.....
It is all comparative
<snip>
>
>You are not eligible for the JLS bonus if you are not eligible to fight due
>
>to having JLS (even if you are eligible to fight for some other reason.)
>
>I will put this last sentence in the new clarifications.
>
>Again - sorry.
>
thanks
Greg P.
Greg Preston
Lecturer in Education
Manager, Web-based Learning and Development
School of Education
Email: edgdp@...
Ph: +61(02) 49215891 Post: School of Education
Fax: +61(02) 49216896 Newcastle University
University Drive
Callaghan 2308 NSW
Australia
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum You cannot attach files in this forum You cannot download files in this forum
|
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
|