Warrior Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules
A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
 
  FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups AlbumAlbum   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Year old question.

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2003 6:07 pm    Post subject: Re: Year old question.


In a message dated 6/26/2003 12:46:05 Central Daylight Time,
hailkaeser@... writes:

> Jon,
>
> Here's the question I posed after last year's
> Historicon that you wanted some time to think about.
> I figured w/ Historicon coming up here's my chance to
> ask you again.

I'm sorry, Todd. I thought we put this one to bed a long time ago.

>
> unit A and unit B charge each other.
>
>
> AAA
> AAA
> BB
> BB
>
> Next turn unit C (in the same army of unit A) charges
> the exposed flank of unit B
>
> AAA
> AAA
> BBCC
> BBCC
>
> In the proceeding combat who gets to fight? I guess
> the better question is... do all three frontage
> elements of unit A and the elements of unit C get to
> fight at the same time?

The rule that applies to C and B is from 9.2: "All armed figures of an
element or part element in contact with an enemy to its front fight as front
rank
figures against the
enemy element with which it shares most edge contact."

The rule which applies to that overlap of A is also from 9.2: "Figures of
elements prolonging a body's front with contact only at a corner do not fight in
the initial bound of a hand-to-hand combat, but do fight in subsequent
bounds, as do figures in any eligible ranks behind them. "

The only thing I can imagine that would make someone think the overlap by A
was not eligible would be supposing some kind of 'blockage' by C, which does
not exist in either TOG or Warrior.

>
> Last year it was ruled that they could (hence 5
> elements fighting on a 4 frontage).

Could be 6 or 7 if A or C had more frontage next bound....lol


[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2003 8:21 pm    Post subject: Re: Year old question.


In a message dated 6/26/2003 15:53:15 Central Daylight Time,
hailkaeser@... writes:

> Thanks -
>
> It was just that in 7th there was "blockage" by other
> elements. Interesting to see it's not that way in
> WARRIOR.
>
> Todd
>

Not in any game I ever played...lol. Just more evidence that 7th (like DBM
now) was played all over the map and one of the reasons why we formed FHE - to
bring some standardization to play.

The overlap element(s) in a subsequent hand to hand fight to simulate the
effects of mass and momentum and are not actually men affecting a combat 40-60
yards off to their 'side' and therefore potentially 'blocked' from getting at
the enemy due to friends 'in their way'.

Jon


[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Todd Kaeser
Centurion
Centurion


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 1089
Location: Foxborough, Massachusetts

PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2003 8:27 pm    Post subject: Year old question.


Jon,

Here's the question I posed after last year's
Historicon that you wanted some time to think about.
I figured w/ Historicon coming up here's my chance to
ask you again.

unit A and unit B charge each other.


AAA
AAA
BB
BB

Next turn unit C (in the same army of unit A) charges
the exposed flank of unit B

AAA
AAA
BBCC
BBCC

In the proceeding combat who gets to fight? I guess
the better question is... do all three frontage
elements of unit A and the elements of unit C get to
fight at the same time?

Last year it was ruled that they could (hence 5
elements fighting on a 4 frontage). It could not be
found in the rules at that time.

Thanks,

Todd Kaeser

__________________________________
Do you Yahoo!?
SBC Yahoo! DSL - Now only $29.95 per month!
http://sbc.yahoo.com


_________________
Nolite te Bastardes Carborundorum
"Don't let the Bastards Grind You Down"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message [ Hidden ]
Todd Kaeser
Centurion
Centurion


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 1089
Location: Foxborough, Massachusetts

PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2003 11:45 pm    Post subject: Re: Year old question.


Thanks -

It was just that in 7th there was "blockage" by other
elements. Interesting to see it's not that way in
WARRIOR.

Todd


--- JonCleaves@... wrote:
> In a message dated 6/26/2003 12:46:05 Central
> Daylight Time,
> hailkaeser@... writes:
>
> > Jon,
> >
> > Here's the question I posed after last year's
> > Historicon that you wanted some time to think
> about.
> > I figured w/ Historicon coming up here's my chance
> to
> > ask you again.
>
> I'm sorry, Todd. I thought we put this one to bed a
> long time ago.
>
> >
> > unit A and unit B charge each other.
> >
> >
> > AAA
> > AAA
> > BB
> > BB
> >
> > Next turn unit C (in the same army of unit A)
> charges
> > the exposed flank of unit B
> >
> > AAA
> > AAA
> > BBCC
> > BBCC
> >
> > In the proceeding combat who gets to fight? I
> guess
> > the better question is... do all three frontage
> > elements of unit A and the elements of unit C get
> to
> > fight at the same time?
>
> The rule that applies to C and B is from 9.2: "All
> armed figures of an
> element or part element in contact with an enemy to
> its front fight as front rank
> figures against the
> enemy element with which it shares most edge
> contact."
>
> The rule which applies to that overlap of A is also
> from 9.2: "Figures of
> elements prolonging a body's front with contact only
> at a corner do not fight in
> the initial bound of a hand-to-hand combat, but do
> fight in subsequent
> bounds, as do figures in any eligible ranks behind
> them. "
>
> The only thing I can imagine that would make someone
> think the overlap by A
> was not eligible would be supposing some kind of
> 'blockage' by C, which does
> not exist in either TOG or Warrior.
>
> >
> > Last year it was ruled that they could (hence 5
> > elements fighting on a 4 frontage).
>
> Could be 6 or 7 if A or C had more frontage next
> bound....lol
>
>
> [Non-text portions of this message have been
> removed]
>
>


__________________________________
Do you Yahoo!?
SBC Yahoo! DSL - Now only $29.95 per month!
http://sbc.yahoo.com


_________________
Nolite te Bastardes Carborundorum
"Don't let the Bastards Grind You Down"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message [ Hidden ]
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group