Warrior Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules
A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
 
  FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups AlbumAlbum   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Detachments 2.53

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Rules
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jhill4913@comcast.net
Recruit
Recruit


Joined: 21 Aug 2017
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2017 5:07 am    Post subject: Detachments 2.53

When a combined unit is formed, the detachment forms the rear rank(s) of the combined unit." The in the following paragraph is says, "How a detachment deploys out of a combined unit depends on the current position of the detachment within the unit." Wouldn't the first statement always require that the detachment ALWAYS be the rear ranks? Secondly couldn't a 2E parent unit of English billmen move to contact it's longbow detachment's rear and simply move to the front in accordance with the above rule(s)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Frank Gilson
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 1114
Location: Orange County California

PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2017 9:34 am    Post subject:

The detachment forms the rear ranks of the combined unit WHEN it is formed.

Those elements could move around as otherwise permitted by the rules after that...or you could deploy parent and detachment attached but in any legal formation/orientation/position of elements...which includes with detachment in the front.

Yes, a 2E Billmen detachment could move up to contact its LB detachment and 'absorb' them...being placed in the front, where at least part of the LB detachment previously was, said detachment now forming the rear rank(s).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
jhill4913@comcast.net
Recruit
Recruit


Joined: 21 Aug 2017
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2017 2:35 pm    Post subject:

Assume a 4E detachment of longbowmen is deployed 2 wide by 2 deep and its parent of 2E billmen is behind it 1 wide and 2 deep. The billmen advance and touch the right rear of the detachment. Do the billmen now form the front of both front-rank longbow elements, or remain in 1 X 2 formation on the right of those longbowmen that didn't move to the rear? Does the CinC have a choice in the above situation?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Frank Gilson
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 1114
Location: Orange County California

PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2017 4:10 pm    Post subject: no choice

You have no choice...you place the 1E wide, 2E deep billmen unit 2E wide where the front of the LB unit was...said LB elements now the rear ranks of the combined unit.

Frank
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Rules All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group