  | 
				Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set   
				 | 
			 
		 
		 
	
		| View previous topic :: View next topic   | 
	 
	
	
		| Author | 
		Message | 
	 
	
		John Murphy Legate
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 1625
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Fri Apr 16, 2004 11:14 am    Post subject: RULES New Roman stuff | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
I am a bit confused by some of the rules with the advent of the new
 
circulating combatants list rules and some of the clarifications
 
here. So there are a lot of questions.
 
 
Assuming steady EIR Legionaries armed with HTW, just how much can be
 
squeezed out of these guys...
 
 
case (a) A 4E unit 1E wide and 4 ranks deep charges someobody and
 
sticks after one bound of HtH. Next bound they use the new Roman
 
circulating combatants list rule (or the old standard exchanging
 
ranks rule if they recoiled) to exchange ranks 1-2 with ranks 3-4 and
 
now hopefully (?) the new 1st and 2nd ranks are in "1st contact".
 
 
Nobody gets disordered for being interpenetrated because it is the
 
same body, right?
 
Do they get _any_ HTW as "first contact"?
 
Do they get half the (new) second rank, as HTW, in "first contact"?
 
(I presume otherwise the normal rank restrictions for 1HCW would
 
apply)
 
Being a "move intented to result in HtH" do these exchanged ranks
 
count as charging?
 
 
Does the _enemy_ unit subjected to the circulating combatants
 
treatment in the second bound count as charging (?) and / or 1st
 
contact (?), which if any?
 
 
case (b) A 2E unit 1E wide and 2 ranks deep charges somebody and
 
sticks after one bound of HtH. Next bound its identical 2E buddy
 
directly to its rear successfully declares a charge interpenetrating
 
the first unit to replace it in HtH.
 
 
Even if the first unit was disordered during the first bound of HtH,
 
the new unit is not, right? This is new for circulating combatants.
 
Even if the first unit was _not_ disordered in the first bound of HtH
 
it _is_ disordered by being interpenetrated, right?
 
They obviously count as charging, right (?), and they count as first
 
contact with HTW in rank and a half even though they are fighting an
 
enemy already in contact with friends, right? (seems like a similar
 
situation to say a unit that charges and hits an exposed overlapping
 
element like Mark Stone was suggesting)
 
 
Now, in _this_ situation (replacement in HtH by circulating
 
combatants as presented above in this case) does the _enemy_ unit
 
subjected to the circulating combatants treatment in the second bound
 
count as charging (?) and / or 1st contact (?), which if any?
 
 
That is a whole lot of questions but all tied together should clear
 
it all up for me. Thanks.
 
 
I still have some uncertain areas on reverting to 1HCW but let me
 
look the rules, and previous posts, over some more and see if the
 
answers to these jump out at me first before I ask.
 
 
One last thing though on this particular item. In the Fast Warrior
 
lists Romans can charge through their LI, not normally possible under
 
the rules at all (?) and not even be disordered.
 
In the full-blown Warrior even with the new ROmal list rules EIR
 
Legionaries - being close order - still can't charge thru their
 
skirmishers, right, and so can never even replace them in HtH?
 
Since Classical Warrior is in the works... any likelihood this will
 
change in some way for Republicans and their various skirmish foot
 
screens?
 
 
                                                                                                    | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		John Murphy Legate
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 1625
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Fri Apr 16, 2004 11:26 am    Post subject: Re: RULES New Roman stuff | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
--- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, "J. Murphy" <jjmurphy@s...>
 
wrote:
 
> Now, in _this_ situation (replacement in HtH by circulating
 
> combatants as presented above in this case) does the _enemy_ unit
 
> subjected to the circulating combatants treatment in the second
 
bound
 
> count as charging (?) and / or 1st contact (?), which if any?
 
 
Oh, and related to this bit...
 
 
Does the enemy unit get _any_ charge responses? Can it counter-
 
charge? If light troops can it evade? If mounted can it cancel the
 
legion charge if the legion is steady but not willing or eager? (in
 
which case, man that's a mess)
 
 
                                                                                                        | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		John Murphy Legate
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 1625
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Fri Apr 16, 2004 11:29 am    Post subject: Re: RULES New Roman stuff | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
--- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, "J. Murphy" <jjmurphy@s...>
 
wrote:
 
Crud, one more piece of this, sorry... for both cases, who if anyone
 
is eligible to support shoot in the second bound (first circulating
 
combatants bound) of these cases? Rank-exchanging Romans? Their
 
enemies? Interpenetrating Romans? _Their_ enemies?
 
 
                                                                                                        | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Fri Apr 16, 2004 5:01 pm    Post subject: Re: RULES New Roman stuff | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
In a message dated 4/16/2004 4:14:40 AM Eastern Daylight Time,
 
jjmurphy@... writes:
 
 
> case (a) A 4E unit 1E wide and 4 ranks deep charges someobody and
 
> sticks after one bound of HtH. Next bound they use the new Roman
 
> circulating combatants list rule (or the old standard exchanging
 
> ranks rule if they recoiled) to exchange ranks 1-2 with ranks 3-4 and
 
> now hopefully (?) the new 1st and 2nd ranks are in "1st contact".>>
 
 
No.  First contact is "the element charged, counter-charged, or stood to face a
 
charge this bound" and that is not the case.
 
 
>
 
> Nobody gets disordered for being interpenetrated because it is the
 
> same body, right?>>
 
 
You are correct that no interpenetration has taken place in your case a).
 
 
> Do they get _any_ HTW as "first contact"?>>
 
No.
 
 
> Do they get half the (new) second rank, as HTW, in "first contact"?>>
 
 
They get it, but as other weapons.
 
 
> (I presume otherwise the normal rank restrictions for 1HCW would
 
> apply)
 
> Being a "move intented to result in HtH" do these exchanged ranks
 
> count as charging?>>
 
 
No.
 
 
>
 
> Does the _enemy_ unit subjected to the circulating combatants
 
> treatment in the second bound count as charging (?) and / or 1st
 
> contact (?), which if any?>>
 
 
No, not in the exchange ranks case.  Exchanging ranks of HTW for ranks of HTW
 
would be meaningless.  Exchanging ranks of HTW for ranks of JLS would not be... 
 
;)
 
 
 
>
 
> case (b) A 2E unit 1E wide and 2 ranks deep charges somebody and
 
> sticks after one bound of HtH. Next bound its identical 2E buddy
 
> directly to its rear successfully declares a charge interpenetrating
 
> the first unit to replace it in HtH.
 
>
 
> Even if the first unit was disordered during the first bound of HtH,
 
> the new unit is not, right? >>
 
 
Right.
 
 
<<> Even if the first unit was _not_ disordered in the first bound of HtH
 
> it _is_ disordered by being interpenetrated, right?>>
 
 
Yes.
 
 
 
> They obviously count as charging, right (?),>>
 
 
Yes.
 
 
<< and they count as first
 
> contact with HTW in rank and a half even though they are fighting an
 
> enemy already in contact with friends, right? >>
 
 
Yes.
 
 
(> Now, in _this_ situation (replacement in HtH by circulating
 
> combatants as presented above in this case) does the _enemy_ unit
 
> subjected to the circulating combatants treatment in the second bound
 
> count as charging (?) and / or 1st contact (?), which if any?>>
 
 
Yes and yes.  But realize that is true of any replacment in combat which happens
 
all the time without IW - IW just makes Romans able to do it with close order
 
through close order - the rules are the same after that.
 
 
>
 
> One last thing though on this particular item. In the Fast Warrior
 
> lists Romans can charge through their LI, not normally possible under
 
> the rules at all (?) and not even be disordered.
 
> In the full-blown Warrior even with the new ROmal list rules EIR
 
> Legionaries - being close order - still can't charge thru their
 
> skirmishers, right, and so can never even replace them in HtH?>>
 
 
True, but the relationship between what had been velites and the line had
 
changed by then.
 
 
> Since Classical Warrior is in the works... any likelihood this will
 
> change in some way for Republicans and their various
 
> skirmish foot
 
> screens?>>
 
 
We don't know yet.  We are busy with Oriental....
 
 
                                                                                                               _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Fri Apr 16, 2004 5:04 pm    Post subject: Re: Re: RULES New Roman stuff | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
In a message dated 4/16/2004 4:26:45 AM Eastern Daylight Time,
 
jjmurphy@... writes:
 
 
> > Now, in _this_ situation (replacement in HtH by circulating
 
> > combatants as presented above in this case) does the _enemy_ unit
 
> > subjected to the circulating combatants treatment in the second
 
> bound
 
> > count as charging (?) and / or 1st contact (?), which if any?
 
>
 
> Oh, and related to this bit...
 
>
 
> Does the enemy unit get _any_ charge responses?>>
 
 
The only time a unit in contact gets charge responses is: "non-impetuous
 
pursuers still in contact with
 
broken enemy may make charge responses (6.166)."
 
 
  <<Can it counter-
 
> charge? If light troops can it evade?>>
 
 
See above.
 
 
<< If mounted can it cancel the
 
> legion charge if the legion is steady but not willing or
 
> eager?>>
 
 
???  willing/eager has nothing directly to do with a cancelled charge.  in any
 
case, counter charges never cancel anything as they are not declared.
 
 
                                                                                                                   _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Fri Apr 16, 2004 5:05 pm    Post subject: Re: Re: RULES New Roman stuff | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
In a message dated 4/16/2004 4:29:25 AM Eastern Daylight Time,
 
jjmurphy@... writes:
 
 
> Crud, one more piece of this, sorry... for both cases, who if anyone
 
> is eligible to support shoot in the second bound (first circulating
 
> combatants bound) of these cases? Rank-exchanging Romans?
 
> Their
 
> enemies? Interpenetrating Romans? _Their_ enemies?>>
 
 
nothing about the list rule changes support shooting eligibility.
 
 
                                                                                                                   _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		John Murphy Legate
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 1625
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Fri Apr 16, 2004 7:09 pm    Post subject: Re: RULES New Roman stuff | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
PART ONE OF TWO (PART TWO FOLLOWS BELOW)
 
 
The willing/eager is in the Roman swordsmen list rule to avoid having
 
their charge cancelled by impetuous or mounted.
 
 
But I get the point about counter-charges. Good, that one is cleared
 
up then. You see how that could get kind of cyclical if one doesn't
 
understand about the distinction beteen charges and counter-charges
 
for charge cancellation. Whew!
 
 
--- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, JonCleaves@a... wrote:
 
 
> ???  willing/eager has nothing directly to do with a cancelled
 
charge.  in any case, counter charges never cancel anything as they
 
are not declared.
 
 
 
PART TWO OF TWO
 
 
Okay, Jon, now you have got me on this one!
 
 
Here are your two responses to two messages. They appear to me to
 
conflict. My bad for not geting all this question into one message so
 
it was more coherent.
 
 
But can you please resolve this one?
 
Sorry for the confusion.
 
 
--- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, JonCleaves@a... wrote:
 
 
(> Now, in _this_ situation (replacement in HtH by circulating
 
> combatants as presented above in this case) does the _enemy_ unit
 
> subjected to the circulating combatants treatment in the second
 
bound
 
> count as charging (?) and / or 1st contact (?), which if any?>>
 
 
Yes and yes. But realize that is true of any replacment in combat
 
which happens
 
all the time without IW - IW just makes Romans able to do it with
 
close order
 
through close order - the rules are the same after that.
 
 
> > Does the enemy unit get _any_ charge responses?>>
 
 
> The only time a unit in contact gets charge responses is: "non-
 
impetuous pursuers still in contact with
 
> broken enemy may make charge responses (6.166)."
 
 
>  <<Can it counter-
 
> > charge? If light troops can it evade?>>
 
 
> See above.
 
 
                                                                                                        | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		John Murphy Legate
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 1625
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Fri Apr 16, 2004 7:26 pm    Post subject: Re: RULES New Roman stuff | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
Aw, come on cut me a break here...
 
 
It isn't the circulating combatants list rule that is unclear to me
 
wrt support shooting. It is the basic rules regarding replacement in
 
HtH, which have come up as a result of trying to understand a new
 
capability for my troops they did not previously have. This is a
 
whole concept that is not commonly used in games I have played but
 
not as much ink was devoted to it in the rulebook as could have been
 
either in my opinion. It is not like I have not read it before asking
 
in this case, I just am unable for whatever reason, call me stupid if
 
you like, to discern a clear intent on a lot of these items.
 
 
So I must ask again, if you do not mind...
 
 
Does a unit charging and replacing another unit in HtH (list rule
 
aside) still get support shot at like a charging unit, or like a unit
 
in a subsequent bound of HtH? And is this different for the enemy who
 
is target of the replacing charge as opposed to another enemy unit?
 
 
It is not clear conceptually, because for the duration of the charge
 
move it is blocked by the unit it replaces. Hence my request for
 
clarification even tho you could ask "what in rules would say
 
otherwise". Sorry for using up your time on this.
 
 
--- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, JonCleaves@a... wrote:
 
> In a message dated 4/16/2004 4:29:25 AM Eastern Daylight Time,
 
jjmurphy@s... writes:
 
>
 
> > Crud, one more piece of this, sorry... for both cases, who if
 
anyone
 
> > is eligible to support shoot in the second bound (first
 
circulating
 
> > combatants bound) of these cases? Rank-exchanging Romans?
 
> > Their
 
> > enemies? Interpenetrating Romans? _Their_ enemies?>>
 
>
 
> nothing about the list rule changes support shooting eligibility.
 
 
                                                                                                        | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Fri Apr 16, 2004 8:45 pm    Post subject: Re: Re: RULES New Roman stuff | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
In a message dated 4/16/2004 12:26:11 PM Eastern Daylight Time,
 
jjmurphy@... writes:
 
 
> This is a
 
> whole concept that is not commonly used in games I have played but
 
> not as much ink was devoted to it in the rulebook as could have been
 
> either in my opinion. >.
 
 
Hmmm, hard to argue with that....lol
 
 
<<It is not like I have not read it before asking
 
> in this case, I just am unable for whatever reason, call me stupid if
 
> you like, to discern a clear intent on a lot of these items.>.
 
 
I was not calling you stupid, John.  I was checking to be sure this was a
 
problem with basic support shooting/replacement.  If you had said 'hey, ok, it's
 
the same, then, thanks' I would be saving both of us an unnecessary explanation.
 
Now that I am sure it is necessary, here it is.
 
 
>
 
> Does a unit charging and replacing another unit in HtH (list rule
 
> aside) still get support shot at like a charging unit, or like a unit
 
> in a subsequent bound of HtH? And is this different for the enemy who
 
> is target of the replacing charge as opposed to another enemy unit?>>
 
 
Nothing about replacement affects the support shooting ability of the charger,
 
which is covered by 8.81.
 
 
For the body being charged by a 'replacer', let's look at 8.83:
 
 
"Bodies already in hand-to-hand contact from the previous bound can only shoot
 
at their opponents and
 
then only with bow from a rank of figures not eligible to fight (9.2)."
 
 
So, he can't use CB or LB, etc and he can't use any figs in ranks eligible to
 
fight.  This is different (more limited) than if he were just sitting there not
 
already in hth when the charger hit him - one of the many reasons to replace in
 
combat - roman or otherwise.
 
 
<< Sorry for using up your time on this.>>
 
 
Not a problem at all.
 
 
J
 
 
                                                                                                                  _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		John Murphy Legate
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 1625
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Fri Apr 16, 2004 9:09 pm    Post subject: Re: RULES New Roman stuff | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
--- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, JonCleaves@a... wrote:
 
> I was not calling you stupid, John.  I was checking to be sure this
 
was a problem with basic support shooting/replacement.  If you had
 
said 'hey, ok, it's the same, then, thanks' I would be saving both of
 
us an unnecessary explanation.  Now that I am sure it is necessary,
 
here it is.
 
 
Thanks, and I was not implying you called me that because you did
 
not. I was just saying with my understanding level of the rules
 
minutiae one could make that claim regarding me <g>! You know how I
 
am, at least over-internet.
 
 
Okay, your answer clears up support shooting. We are making progress!
 
 
A clarification statement might be good to the effect that "HtH from
 
previus bounds" also applies if contact was exchanged between two
 
different units using HtH replacement.
 
 
If this also somehow covered the question regarding charge responses
 
of the target of a replacement charge that would be real smooth.
 
 
But you haven't yet resolved your two answeres to that one for me yet
 
so while I could guess at this point I am still a bit confused on
 
charge responses unless there is something implicit in your support
 
shooting answer which should apply there as well.
 
 
But I certainly can't complain about you getting right back to me on
 
this so far.
 
 
>
 
> >
 
> > Does a unit charging and replacing another unit in HtH (list rule
 
> > aside) still get support shot at like a charging unit, or like a
 
unit
 
> > in a subsequent bound of HtH? And is this different for the enemy
 
who
 
> > is target of the replacing charge as opposed to another enemy
 
unit?>>
 
>
 
> Nothing about replacement affects the support shooting ability of
 
the charger, which is covered by 8.81.
 
>
 
> For the body being charged by a 'replacer', let's look at 8.83:
 
>
 
> "Bodies already in hand-to-hand contact from the previous bound can
 
only shoot at their opponents and
 
> then only with bow from a rank of figures not eligible to fight
 
(9.2)."
 
>
 
> So, he can't use CB or LB, etc and he can't use any figs in ranks
 
eligible to fight.  This is different (more limited) than if he were
 
just sitting there not already in hth when the charger hit him - one
 
of the many reasons to replace in combat - roman or otherwise.
 
>
 
> << Sorry for using up your time on this.>>
 
>
 
> Not a problem at all.
 
>
 
> J
 
 
                                                                                                        | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Fri Apr 16, 2004 9:19 pm    Post subject: Re: Re: RULES New Roman stuff | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
In a message dated 4/16/2004 2:09:30 PM Eastern Daylight Time,
 
jjmurphy@... writes:
 
 
> But you haven't yet resolved your two answeres to that one for me yet
 
> so while I could guess at this point I am still a bit confused on
 
> charge responses unless there is something implicit in your
 
> support
 
> shooting answer which should apply there as well.>.
 
 
Well, the body already in hand to hand who is the target of a charger who is
 
replacing cannot make any charge responses (note that support shooting is NOT a
 
charge response).  There is ONE exception - a non-impetuous pursuer in contact
 
only with broken troops *can* make charge responses.
 
 
So, normally the guy the roman is replacing against will not get a charge
 
response and would only get support shooting if he had B in a rank that was not
 
eligible to fight.
 
 
Of course the above is exactly the same for 'non-roman' replacement.
 
 
J
 
 
                                                                                                                  _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		John Murphy Legate
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 1625
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Fri Apr 16, 2004 9:38 pm    Post subject: Re: RULES New Roman stuff | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
--- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, JonCleaves@a... wrote:
 
> Well, the body already in hand to hand who is the target of a
 
charger who is replacing cannot make any charge responses (note that
 
support shooting is NOT a charge response).  There is ONE exception -
 
a non-impetuous pursuer in contact only with broken troops *can* make
 
charge responses.
 
> So, normally the guy the roman is replacing against will not get a
 
charge response and would only get support shooting if he had B in a
 
rank that was not eligible to fight.
 
> Of course the above is exactly the same for 'non-roman' replacement.
 
 
So he does not get a charge response. Now looking at it I see your
 
other answer that was causing me problem here is actually to a slight
 
different question. To whit...
 
 
>(> Now, in _this_ situation (replacement in HtH by circulating
 
>> combatants as presented above in this case) does the _enemy_ unit
 
>> subjected to the circulating combatants treatment in the second
 
bound
 
>> count as charging (?) and / or 1st contact (?), which if any?>>
 
 
>Yes and yes. But realize that is true of any replacment in combat
 
which happens
 
all the time without IW - IW just makes Romans able to do it with
 
close order
 
through close order - the rules are the same after that.
 
 
Soo... to be sure I understand because this is seeming like a
 
peculiar distinction...
 
 
The unit which is the contacted _target_ of the replacement charge
 
does not get charge responses and counts as subsequent bounds of HtH
 
for support shooting but ALSO counts as charging and in first contact
 
for HtH?
 
 
Or did I simply not make the "count as charging/1st contact for HtH"
 
part of this question sufficiently clear and your answer applied to
 
the replacing unit and not its charge target?
 
 
Sorry to keep this going, and I am still going to bug you probably
 
about reverting to 1HCW too after I finish looking it up for sure,
 
but I think since this is a part of the rules that is suddenly going
 
to see a lot more use than in the past it is vital to get the details
 
down.
 
 
                                                                                                        | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Fri Apr 16, 2004 10:00 pm    Post subject: Re: Re: RULES New Roman stuff | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
In a message dated 4/16/2004 2:38:57 PM Eastern Daylight Time,
 
jjmurphy@... writes:
 
 
> The unit which is the contacted _target_ of the replacement charge
 
> does not get charge responses and counts as subsequent bounds of HtH
 
> for support shooting but ALSO counts as charging and in first contact
 
> for HtH?>>
 
 
It would not count as charging, but yes to first contact with those elements
 
that are charged.
 
 
>
 
> Sorry to keep this going, and I am still going to bug you probably
 
> about reverting to 1HCW too after I finish looking it up for sure,
 
> but I think since this is a part of the rules that is suddenly going
 
> to see a lot more use than in the past it is vital to get
 
> the details
 
> down.>>
 
 
Ok by me - it is my intent to make Warrior the best supported rules anywhere, so
 
there is no real limit to rules questions you can ask.  The only thing I ever
 
ask is that folks read the rules first and don't just do the 'hey, Jon, my rule
 
book is at home and I am at work, but could you tell me...'  lol
 
 
J
 
 
                                                                                                                  _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		John Murphy Legate
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 1625
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Fri Apr 16, 2004 10:38 pm    Post subject: Re: RULES New Roman stuff | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
Got it. I pasted this whole bunch of stuff into a text file for me to
 
refer back to because I am likely to forget!
 
 
But, Jon, do you see how this is more than just a bit weird since
 
they count as subsequent bounds of HtH for support shooting but first
 
contact for the actual HtH resolution? (see the snipped quotes below
 
if I am mis-speaking here in which case I do not understand as well
 
as I think I do!)
 
 
I think I understand now, but this should definitely get a
 
clarification and elaboration in a second printing I would hope.
 
 
I am also concerned it is going to cause a lof people, who are not
 
reading this barrage, massive confusion at Historicon when suddenly
 
half the players or more are using these rules for the first time.
 
Maybe for the Historicon Roman Empire theme Scott Holder, or whomever
 
is the theme umpire if he is taking that day off, could put out a
 
clarification of this in line with what you have said? And God help
 
us all if he doesn't interpret this the same way! I guess that would
 
pretty unusual though.
 
 
Talk about "Medieval German Princes from Hell" these new Romans are
 
going to be a bit complex themselves! But glad they came out like
 
they did anyway. Just gonna take some time to figure out.
 
 
Also, I had been planning on asking some questions regarding Roman
 
Swordsmen "reversion" to 1HCW but when I look over the new rules,
 
even with regard to Fulcum and dropping out of Fulcum, they seem to
 
hang together pretty well and I can not seem to find the obfuscation
 
that I had seen there previously.
 
 
On that subject, wasn't there an earlier post a while back (weeks)
 
from Mark Stone (I think it was) asking for clarification on 1HCW
 
legionaries, maybe wrt Fulcum? I might have even asked a question at
 
that time as well. Sorry to say I think that was when I started
 
having problems understanding it because the clarification was the
 
exact opposite of what I had incorrectly assumed for whatever reason.
 
So now I am concerned since it seems so clear that I am back to the
 
same incorrect assumption!
 
 
I'll take a look back thru the archives sometime and see if I can dig
 
it up again, and if so see wether it makes more sense to me now.
 
 
So if that raises yet naother question to ask here I will, otherwise
 
everything is wonderful!
 
 
--- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, JonCleaves@a... wrote:
 
> > The unit which is the contacted _target_ of the replacement
 
charge counts as in first contact
 
> > for HtH?>>
 
> yes to first contact with those elements that are charged.
 
 
and earlier...
 
For the body being charged by a 'replacer', let's look at 8.83:
 
"Bodies already in hand-to-hand contact from the previous bound can
 
only shoot at their opponents and then only with bow from a rank of
 
figures not eligible to fight (9.2)."
 
So, he can't use CB or LB, etc and he can't use any figs in ranks
 
eligible to fight. This is different (more limited) than if he were
 
just sitting there not already in hth when the charger hit him - one
 
of the many reasons to replace in combat - roman or otherwise.
 
 
                                                                                                        | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Sat Apr 17, 2004 11:26 pm    Post subject: Re: Re: RULES New Roman stuff | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
In a message dated 4/17/2004 19:22:39 Central Daylight Time,
 
jjmurphy@... writes:
 
(> Now, in _this_ situation (replacement in HtH by circulating
 
> combatants as presented above in this case) does the _enemy_ unit
 
> subjected to the circulating combatants treatment in the second
 
bound
 
> count as charging (?) and / or 1st contact (?), which if any?>>
 
 
Yes and yes. But realize that is true of any replacment in combat
 
which happens
 
all the time without IW - IW just makes Romans able to do it with
 
close order
 
through close order - the rules are the same after that.
 
John, I guess it is the above that is causing confusion and the answer should
 
have been NO and yes.
 
 
Jon
 
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                                                  _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		 | 
	 
 
  
	 
	    
	   | 
	
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum You cannot attach files in this forum You cannot download files in this forum
  | 
   
 
  
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
  
		 |