  | 
				Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set   
				 | 
			 
		 
		 
	
		| View previous topic :: View next topic   | 
	 
	
	
		| Author | 
		Message | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Wed Jan 25, 2006 10:13 pm    Post subject: Re: rules question | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
In a message dated 1/15/2006 19:12:11 Central Standard Time,
 
ccoutoftown@... writes:
 
 
1) Is a  rocket automatically an incindiary?>>
 
Yes.
 
 
 
 
2) the Ming were famous for using gunpowder and shrapnel  bombs.  As far as I
 
can tell,
 
incindiaries v. troops have only one  effect - they disorder animals if they
 
do at least one
 
CPF.  They  have, as far as I can tell no effect on foot troops.  So I don't
 
see how  I can
 
simulate the enhanced effect of a trebuchet throwing a bomb instead  of a
 
stone.  Is it A) it
 
is not possible to simulate with Warrior or  B) the difference between say a
 
bomb and a big
 
rock is considered small  enough to not matter for effect or C) It is like a
 
firing rate thing:
 
bombs do more damage but have a smaller firing rate so their effect over  one
 
Warrior
 
Phase evens out or D) I misread the rules and it is something  totally
 
different.>>
 
When allowed, the cost of making a stone thrower shoot 'flaming missiles'  is
 
often actually some sort of explosive.
 
 
Jon
 
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                                       _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		 Recruit
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 112
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 6:27 am    Post subject: Re: rules question | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
right, but my question (which I know was kind of long and convoluted)
 
was:
 
 
The explosive shot seems to have no extra game effect against foot.
 
 
Am I reading the rules correctly?  If I am, what is the rationale?
 
 
I'm not complaining,  just trying to understand how effective ancient
 
chinese artillery was on the battlefield.
 
 
Jonathan
 
 
 
--- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, JonCleaves@a... wrote:
 
>
 
> In a message dated 1/15/2006 19:12:11 Central Standard Time,
 
> ccoutoftown@y... writes:
 
>
 
> 1) Is a  rocket automatically an incindiary?>>
 
> Yes.
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
> 2) the Ming were famous for using gunpowder and shrapnel  bombs.  As
 
far as I
 
> can tell,
 
> incindiaries v. troops have only one  effect - they disorder animals
 
if they
 
> do at least one
 
> CPF.  They  have, as far as I can tell no effect on foot troops.  So
 
I don't
 
> see how  I can
 
> simulate the enhanced effect of a trebuchet throwing a bomb instead
 
of a
 
> stone.  Is it A) it
 
> is not possible to simulate with Warrior or  B) the difference
 
between say a
 
> bomb and a big
 
> rock is considered small  enough to not matter for effect or C) It
 
is like a
 
> firing rate thing:
 
> bombs do more damage but have a smaller firing rate so their effect
 
over  one
 
> Warrior
 
> Phase evens out or D) I misread the rules and it is something
 
totally
 
> different.>>
 
> When allowed, the cost of making a stone thrower shoot 'flaming
 
missiles'  is
 
> often actually some sort of explosive.
 
>
 
> Jon
 
>
 
>
 
> [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
>
 
 
                                                                                                    | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		 Recruit
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 112
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 6:32 am    Post subject: Re: rules question | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
What rule would stop the LC from dropping back elements to slip
 
through a 1 element wide gap between two enemy pike blocks if it were
 
in pursuit of fleeing enemy LC?
 
 
A) can't get closer than 40 paces to enemy in a non-HTH resulting
 
move.
 
B) The LC could slip through
 
C) some other reason they couldn't
 
 
Jonathan
 
 
 
--- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, JonCleaves@a... wrote:
 
>
 
> No, what i was saying was, if there was just the pike block on one
 
side and nothing on the other, the LC could still drop back in this
 
case.
 
>
 
> -----Original Message-----
 
> From: hrisikos@D...
 
> To: WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com
 
> Sent: Wed, 25 Jan 2006 10:36:00 -0600 (CST)
 
> Subject: Re: [WarriorRules] rules question
 
>
 
>
 
> > 1)  I think your friend could benefit from reading the
 
clarifications,
 
> > which state:
 
> >
 
> >
 
> > "6.161 (Pg 3  Add: "If a body of light troops encounters an
 
illegal
 
> > charge target in the path of an otherwise legal charge, the light
 
troops
 
> > must wheel and/or drop back elements to avoid the illegal 'target.
 
'  If
 
> > the illegal 'target' is also charging this may not be possible and
 
may
 
> > result in the light troops making contact with it."
 
> >
 
> > Note that the above has nothing to do with gaps.  But you were
 
quite
 
> > correct in your resolution.
 
> >
 
>
 
>
 
> Jon,
 
>
 
>   I am a bit puzzled by the last sentence of your response. Perhaps
 
I am
 
> reading too much into it, so I'll ask. Do you mean to imply that the
 
LC
 
> can drop elements back and chase the target beyond the pike block
 
EVEN
 
> if there is only a one element wide gap between that pike block and
 
some
 
> other enemy body? Not a problem either way, just wondering if I have
 
yet
 
> more to learn about the rules system!
 
>
 
> -Greek
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
> Yahoo! Groups Links
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
> [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
>
 
 
                                                                                                    | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 1:11 am    Post subject: Re: Re: rules question | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
In a message dated 1/25/2006 21:35:28 Central Standard Time,
 
ccoutoftown@... writes:
 
 
What  rule would stop the LC from dropping back elements to slip
 
through a 1  element wide gap between two enemy pike blocks if it were
 
in pursuit of  fleeing enemy LC?
 
 
A) can't get closer than 40 paces to enemy in a  non-HTH resulting
 
move.
 
B) The LC could slip through
 
C) some other  reason they couldn't
 
 
Jonathan>>
 
[
 
 
The clarification:
 
6.161 (Pg 3  Add: āIf a body of  light troops encounters an illegal charge
 
target in the path of an otherwise  legal charge, the light troops must wheel
 
and/or drop back elements to avoid the  illegal ātarget.ā  If the illegal 
 
ā
 
targetā is also charging this may not be possible and may result in the light
 
troops making contact with it.ā
 
Jon
 
 
 
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                                           _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		 Recruit
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 112
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:25 am    Post subject: Re: rules question | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
Okay, I read this as saying "if there is a gap of more than 1 element
 
width between two enemy pike blocks, the LC can drop back elements to
 
pursue through."
 
 
Correct?
 
 
J
 
 
 
--- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, JonCleaves@a... wrote:
 
>
 
> In a message dated 1/25/2006 21:35:28 Central Standard Time,
 
> ccoutoftown@y... writes:
 
>
 
> What  rule would stop the LC from dropping back elements to slip
 
> through a 1  element wide gap between two enemy pike blocks if it
 
were
 
> in pursuit of  fleeing enemy LC?
 
>
 
> A) can't get closer than 40 paces to enemy in a  non-HTH resulting
 
> move.
 
> B) The LC could slip through
 
> C) some other  reason they couldn't
 
>
 
> Jonathan>>
 
> [
 
>
 
> The clarification:
 
> 6.161 (Pg 3  Add: "If a body of  light troops encounters an illegal
 
charge
 
> target in the path of an otherwise  legal charge, the light troops
 
must wheel
 
> and/or drop back elements to avoid the  illegal `target.“  If the
 
illegal  `
 
> target“ is also charging this may not be possible and may result in
 
the light
 
> troops making contact with it."
 
> Jon
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
> [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
>
 
 
                                                                                                  | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:39 am    Post subject: Re: Re: rules question | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
In a message dated 2/1/2006 01:30:11 Central Standard Time,
 
ccoutoftown@... writes:
 
 
Okay, I  read this as saying "if there is a gap of more than 1 element
 
width  between two enemy pike blocks, the LC can drop back elements to
 
pursue  through."
 
 
Correct?
 
 
J>>
 
Pursue, but not charge - yes.
 
 
If it wants to charge through that gap, other things have to be  true.
 
 
J
 
 
 
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                                          _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		Mark Mallard Centurion
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 868 Location: Whitehaven, England
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 9:23 am    Post subject: Re: rules question | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
In a message dated 07/02/2006 09:24:00 GMT Standard Time,
 
ccoutoftown@... writes:
 
 
A Stone  Thrower that wheels to change firing arc but DOES NOT otherwise move
 
is  now:
 
 
1) unableto fire for two turns because it counts as having  moved
 
2) unrestricted.  It can fire because wheeling to change firing  arc DOESN'T
 
count as
 
"moving"
 
 
I suspect it is A but just want to  make sure.
 
 
J
 
 
 
 
** I more than suspect you are wrong
 
because wheeling is a forward motion
 
 
of course jon will confirm either way.
 
 
mark mallard
 
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                                          _________________ Chess, WoW. | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		 Recruit
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 112
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 12:22 pm    Post subject: rules question | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
A Stone Thrower that wheels to change firing arc but DOES NOT otherwise move is
 
now:
 
 
1) unableto fire for two turns because it counts as having moved
 
2) unrestricted.  It can fire because wheeling to change firing arc DOESN'T
 
count as
 
"moving"
 
 
I suspect it is A but just want to make sure.
 
 
J
 
 
                                                                                              | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Fri Feb 10, 2006 4:55 am    Post subject: Re: rules question | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
A
 
 
Jon
 
 
-----Original Message-----
 
From: Jonathan <ccoutoftown@...>
 
To: WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com
 
Sent: Tue, 07 Feb 2006 09:22:53 -0000
 
Subject: [WarriorRules] rules question
 
 
 
A Stone Thrower that wheels to change firing arc but DOES NOT otherwise move is
 
now:
 
 
1) unableto fire for two turns because it counts as having moved
 
2) unrestricted.  It can fire because wheeling to change firing arc DOESN'T
 
count as
 
"moving"
 
 
I suspect it is A but just want to make sure.
 
 
J
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Yahoo! Groups Links
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                                      _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		 Recruit
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 12
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Mon Feb 13, 2006 5:49 am    Post subject: Rules Question | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
Hey Jon,
 
A quick question about obstacles.
 
When does a charging body count as being in contact with the charge
 
target if there is an obstacle in place and being defended by the
 
target?
 
I am specifically interested in weather the charging body has its
 
tactical move distance reduced as in 6.11.
 
The charger clearly does not count as being in the obstacle for the
 
charge but does it have to cross it to reach contact?
 
 
Thanks,
 
Ambrose
 
 
                                                                                                  | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Wed Feb 15, 2006 7:39 pm    Post subject: Re: Rules Question | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
I have spent a lot of time trying to figure this one out, Ambrose and am still
 
not sure I got it.
 
 
<<When does a charging body count as being in contact with the charge
 
target if there is an obstacle in place and being defended by the
 
target? >>
 
[
 
The answer to the above is 'when it makes contact', which is so obvious I feel
 
strongly that i am not understanding the question.
 
 
<<The charger clearly does not count as being in the obstacle for the
 
charge but does it have to cross it to reach contact?>>
 
[
 
This depends.  If the obstacle is a palisade or wall, for example, then no, it
 
would not have to 'cross it' to reach contact.  But if it were a ditch (or
 
ditched palisade) then it would.  See also 12.324A.
 
 
Jon
 
 
 
-----Original Message-----
 
From: wacoddignton <TheBugKing@...>
 
To: WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com
 
Sent: Mon, 13 Feb 2006 02:49:37 -0000
 
Subject: [WarriorRules] Rules Question
 
 
 
Hey Jon,
 
A quick question about obstacles.
 
When does a charging body count as being in contact with the charge
 
target if there is an obstacle in place and being defended by the
 
target?
 
I am specifically interested in weather the charging body has its
 
tactical move distance reduced as in 6.11.
 
The charger clearly does not count as being in the obstacle for the
 
charge but does it have to cross it to reach contact?
 
 
Thanks,
 
Ambrose
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Yahoo! Groups Links
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                                        _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Thu Feb 16, 2006 12:30 am    Post subject: Re: Re: Rules Question | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
In a message dated 2/15/2006 16:47:29 Central Standard Time,
 
TheBugKing@... writes:
 
 
What is  not clear to me is what troops if any have their movement
 
reduced when  charging over a delaying obstacle.  >>
 
Charging over it against a target beyond that isn't defending it??  I  guess
 
that could happen, but it would beg the question why the target wasn't
 
defending the obstacle.
 
 
In any case, the answer is yes, if troops cross an obstacle, their move is
 
reduced or prevented.
 
 
Jon
 
 
 
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                                           _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		 Recruit
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 12
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Thu Feb 16, 2006 1:46 am    Post subject: Re: Rules Question | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
What is not clear to me is what troops if any have their movement
 
reduced when charging over a delaying obstacle.
 
If there is a difference in what obstacles do to the charger I would
 
like to know that.
 
I know stakes only disorder when they are crossed.  I assume that
 
when they are crossed they reduce the troop's movement as well.
 
A stone wall on the other hand disorders close and cav at contact.
 
So I would assume that there is some other form of movement
 
reduction going on here.
 
 
Hope that clears up the question some.
 
 
(The "When does it make contact" was alluding to when the disorder
 
is caused.  But I like your interpretation better.  Very funny!)
 
 
Ambrose
 
 
 
--- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, JonCleaves@... wrote:
 
>
 
> I have spent a lot of time trying to figure this one out, Ambrose
 
and am still not sure I got it.
 
>
 
> <<When does a charging body count as being in contact with the
 
charge
 
> target if there is an obstacle in place and being defended by the
 
> target? >>
 
> [
 
> The answer to the above is 'when it makes contact', which is so
 
obvious I feel strongly that i am not understanding the question.
 
>
 
> <<The charger clearly does not count as being in the obstacle for
 
the
 
> charge but does it have to cross it to reach contact?>>
 
> [
 
> This depends.  If the obstacle is a palisade or wall, for example,
 
then no, it would not have to 'cross it' to reach contact.  But if
 
it were a ditch (or ditched palisade) then it would.  See also
 
12.324A.
 
>
 
> Jon
 
>
 
>
 
> -----Original Message-----
 
> From: wacoddignton <TheBugKing@...>
 
> To: WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com
 
> Sent: Mon, 13 Feb 2006 02:49:37 -0000
 
> Subject: [WarriorRules] Rules Question
 
>
 
>
 
> Hey Jon,
 
> A quick question about obstacles.
 
> When does a charging body count as being in contact with the
 
charge
 
> target if there is an obstacle in place and being defended by the
 
> target?
 
> I am specifically interested in weather the charging body has its
 
> tactical move distance reduced as in 6.11.
 
> The charger clearly does not count as being in the obstacle for
 
the
 
> charge but does it have to cross it to reach contact?
 
>
 
> Thanks,
 
> Ambrose
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
> Yahoo! Groups Links
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
> [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
>
 
 
                                                                                                      | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		 Recruit
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 12
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Fri Feb 17, 2006 7:37 am    Post subject: Re: Rules Question | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
<sigh>
 
Again I get the wording wrong.
 
The defender is indeed defending the obstacle.  So the charger does
 
not have to cross the obstacle and their movement will then not be
 
reduced?  (Or prevented as Mark points out)
 
 
 
Sorry for the repeated questions here.  But I am after a
 
clarification on a very specific situation.
 
 
 
--- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, JonCleaves@... wrote:
 
>
 
> In a message dated 2/15/2006 16:47:29 Central Standard Time,
 
> TheBugKing@... writes:
 
>
 
> What is  not clear to me is what troops if any have their movement
 
> reduced when  charging over a delaying obstacle.  >>
 
> Charging over it against a target beyond that isn't defending
 
it??  I  guess
 
> that could happen, but it would beg the question why the target
 
wasn't
 
> defending the obstacle.
 
>
 
> In any case, the answer is yes, if troops cross an obstacle, their
 
move is
 
> reduced or prevented.
 
>
 
> Jon
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
> [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
>
 
 
                                                                                                       | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		 | 
	 
 
  
	 
	    
	   | 
	
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum You cannot attach files in this forum You cannot download files in this forum
  | 
   
 
  
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
  
		 |