| View previous topic :: View next topic | 
	
	
		| Author | Message | 
	
		| joncleaves Moderator
 
  
  
 Joined: 29 Mar 2006
 Posts: 16447
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Fri Apr 02, 2004 1:33 am    Post subject: Re: 2HCW |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| In a message dated 4/1/2004 18:36:00 Central Standard Time,
 eforbes100@... writes:
 Nothing says that you have be 2HCW and shieldless in the second round.  Many
 times it is better to only use the 2HCW in the charge, then revert to shielded
 sidearm.
 This is not possible.  2HCW armed troops do not 'revert' to SA.
 
 Jon
 
 
 [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
 _________________
 Roll Up and Win!
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| Ed Forbes Centurion
 
  
 
 Joined: 12 Apr 2006
 Posts: 1092
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Fri Apr 02, 2004 3:31 am    Post subject: 2HCW |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| Nothing says that you have be 2HCW and shieldless in the second round.  Many
 times it is better to only use the 2HCW in the charge, then revert to shielded
 sidearm. If you count a 1/2 rank of JLS in the back rank, this can work well.
 
 Ed
 
 >The axes are a lot fun to play with
 (a lot, and especially when you add in the historical interest the
 Varangians generate) but man they die fast from the irreg loose foot
 2 FP per CPF, and those unshielded second bounds, even when they are
 winning.
 
 ________________________________________________________________
 The best thing to hit the Internet in years - Juno SpeedBand!
 Surf the Web up to FIVE TIMES FASTER!
 Only $14.95/ month - visit www.juno.com to sign up today!
 
 
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| Recruit
 
  
 
 Joined: 12 Apr 2006
 Posts: 205
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Fri Apr 02, 2004 4:25 am    Post subject: Re: 2HCW |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| Is this a legal choice - I thought that if you had 2HCW and used it
 in the first round you were shieldless in the second round
 irrespective of possession of shield
 
 Adrian Williams
 Barbarians Wargaming Club,
 Sydney, Australia
 
 --- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, eforbes100@j... wrote:
 >
 > Nothing says that you have be 2HCW and shieldless in the second
 round.  Many times it is better to only use the 2HCW in the charge,
 then revert to shielded sidearm. If you count a 1/2 rank of JLS in
 the back rank, this can work well.
 >
 > Ed
 >
 >  >The axes are a lot fun to play with
 > (a lot, and especially when you add in the historical interest the
 > Varangians generate) but man they die fast from the irreg loose
 foot
 > 2 FP per CPF, and those unshielded second bounds, even when they
 are
 > winning.
 >
 > ________________________________________________________________
 > The best thing to hit the Internet in years - Juno SpeedBand!
 > Surf the Web up to FIVE TIMES FASTER!
 > Only $14.95/ month - visit www.juno.com to sign up today!
 
 
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| Larry Essick Legionary
 
  
 
 Joined: 12 Apr 2006
 Posts: 461
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Fri Apr 02, 2004 6:16 am    Post subject: Re: 2HCW |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| > Nothing says that you have be 2HCW and shieldless in the second
 round.  Many times it is better to only use the 2HCW in the charge,
 then revert to shielded sidearm. If you count a 1/2 rank of JLS in the
 back rank, this can work well.
 
 (LE) Pardon my look of confusion.  Are you saying that figures
 equipped with 2HCW, JLS, Sh can choose to fight 2HCW with the JLS plus
 and then revert to JLS, Sh and ignore the 2HCW?  Well, technically
 that the player can choose this?
 
 (LE) I've always been under the impression that there is no choice.
 
 Larry
 
 
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| Phil Gardocki Centurion
 
  
 
 Joined: 12 Apr 2006
 Posts: 893
 Location: Pennsylvania
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Fri Apr 02, 2004 9:36 am    Post subject: Re: 2HCW |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| Jon,
 The way your last message went out, it could be confusing.  It started
 with eforbes statement and cascaded into your reply without clear delineation.
 It could be construed as the opposite as you intended.
 
 Phil
 
 
 [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| joncleaves Moderator
 
  
  
 Joined: 29 Mar 2006
 Posts: 16447
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Fri Apr 02, 2004 11:20 am    Post subject: Re: 2HCW |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| In a message dated 4/2/2004 05:48:21 Central Standard Time, PHGamer@...
 writes:
 Jon,
 The way your last message went out, it could be confusing.  It started
 with eforbes statement and cascaded into your reply without clear
 delineation.
 It could be construed as the opposite as you intended.
 
 Phil>>
 
 Tell me which one, Phil, and I will fix it.
 
 
 [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
 _________________
 Roll Up and Win!
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| joncleaves Moderator
 
  
  
 Joined: 29 Mar 2006
 Posts: 16447
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Fri Apr 02, 2004 11:40 am    Post subject: Re: 2HCW |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| In a message dated 4/2/2004 06:52:03 Central Standard Time,
 Scott.Holder@... writes:
 (LE) Pardon my look of confusion.  Are you saying that figures
 equipped with 2HCW, JLS, Sh can choose to fight 2HCW with the JLS plus
 and then revert to JLS, Sh and ignore the 2HCW?  Well, technically
 that the player can choose this?
 (LE) I've always been under the impression that there is no choice.
 
 >Jon will weigh in here undoubtedly but trust me, there is *no* choice.
 
 scott>>
 
 I have answered this, but will be happy to do it again.  2HCW do not/can not
 'revert' to SA on subsequent bounds.
 
 Jon
 
 
 [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
 _________________
 Roll Up and Win!
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| scott holder Moderator
 
  
  
 Joined: 30 Mar 2006
 Posts: 6079
 Location: Bonnots Mill, MO
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Fri Apr 02, 2004 3:50 pm    Post subject: RE: 2HCW |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| > Nothing says that you have be 2HCW and shieldless in the second
 round.  Many times it is better to only use the 2HCW in the charge,
 then revert to shielded sidearm. If you count a 1/2 rank of JLS in the
 back rank, this can work well.
 (LE) Pardon my look of confusion.  Are you saying that figures
 equipped with 2HCW, JLS, Sh can choose to fight 2HCW with the JLS plus
 and then revert to JLS, Sh and ignore the 2HCW?  Well, technically
 that the player can choose this?
 (LE) I've always been under the impression that there is no choice.
 
 >Jon will weigh in here undoubtedly but trust me, there is *no* choice.
 
 scott
 
 
 _________________
 These Rules Suck, Let's Paint!
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| Ed Forbes Centurion
 
  
 
 Joined: 12 Apr 2006
 Posts: 1092
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Fri Apr 02, 2004 7:20 pm    Post subject: Re: 2HCW |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| Jon,
 
 please expand on this.
 
 17.1 Troops costs: ..The basic cost of a figure includes side arm and one other
 category of distant or close weapon.
 
 I can find nothing in the rules that requires me to use one close weapon over
 another, leaving the choice of weapon used in any phase of combat to the player.
 
 Ed
 
 
 In a message dated 4/1/2004 18:36:00 Central Standard Time,
 eforbes100@... writes:
 Nothing says that you have be 2HCW and shieldless in the second round.  Many
 times it is better to only use the 2HCW in the charge, then revert to shielded
 sidearm.
 This is not possible.  2HCW armed troops do not 'revert' to SA.
 
 Jon
 
 
 
 ________________________________________________________________
 The best thing to hit the Internet in years - Juno SpeedBand!
 Surf the Web up to FIVE TIMES FASTER!
 Only $14.95/ month - visit www.juno.com to sign up today!
 
 
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| joncleaves Moderator
 
  
  
 Joined: 29 Mar 2006
 Posts: 16447
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Fri Apr 02, 2004 7:44 pm    Post subject: Re: 2HCW |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| In a message dated 4/2/2004 11:20:19 AM Eastern Standard Time,
 eforbes100@... writes:
 
 > Jon,
 >
 > please expand on this.
 >
 > 17.1 Troops costs: ..The basic cost of a figure includes side arm and one
 other category of distant or close weapon.>>
 
 17.0 tells how troosp are costed, not what weapons are employed when in combat.
 
 
 > I can find nothing in the rules that requires me to use one close weapon over
 another, leaving the choice of weapon used
 > in any phase of combat to the player.>>
 
 9.3 and 9.4 are the applicable rules.  The only reversion from a weapon to SA is
 for missile weapons that are not JLS.  Every other troop uses the weapon it is
 armed with unless speifically stated otherwise by 9.3.  Read especially the last
 line of 9.3.
 
 J
 > Ed
 
 
 _________________
 Roll Up and Win!
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| Ed Forbes Centurion
 
  
 
 Joined: 12 Apr 2006
 Posts: 1092
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Fri Apr 02, 2004 8:29 pm    Post subject: Re: 2HCW |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| Jon,
 
 9.3 Eligibility of Weapon Use.
 
 The last line of 9.3 tells me that if, for example, I have LTS in the woods, I
 have to use SA as LTS is ineligible. The way it is written does not forbid me to
 use SA instead of LTS in the open if for some insane reason I wanted to.
 
 " J. Every other troop uses the weapon it is armed with unless specifically
 stated otherwise by 9.3."
 
 All troops are armed with both SA and one other close weapon. SA, as written, is
 a valid choice.
 
 If you want to forbid use of SA unless required, this should be stated directly
 for clarity. I do not think that it should, but that is your call.
 
 
 
 Ed
 
 >9.3 and 9.4 are the applicable rules.  The only reversion from a weapon to SA
 is for missile weapons that are not JLS.  Every other troop uses the weapon it
 is armed with unless specifically stated otherwise by 9.3.  Read especially the
 last line of 9.3.
 
 J
 
 
 
 
 ________________________________________________________________
 The best thing to hit the Internet in years - Juno SpeedBand!
 Surf the Web up to FIVE TIMES FASTER!
 Only $14.95/ month - visit www.juno.com to sign up today!
 
 
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| joncleaves Moderator
 
  
  
 Joined: 29 Mar 2006
 Posts: 16447
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Fri Apr 02, 2004 9:54 pm    Post subject: Re: 2HCW |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| In a message dated 4/2/2004 12:29:52 PM Eastern Standard Time,
 eforbes100@... writes:
 
 > 9.3 Eligibility of Weapon Use.
 >
 > The last line of 9.3 tells me that if, for example, I have LTS in the woods, I
 have to use SA as LTS is ineligible.>>
 
 That's right.  But nothing makes 2HCW ineligible.
 
 
 > If you want to forbid use of SA unless required, this should be stated
 directly for clarity. >>
 
 I will look at the wording for the new rulebook
 
 J
 
 
 _________________
 Roll Up and Win!
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| scott holder Moderator
 
  
  
 Joined: 30 Mar 2006
 Posts: 6079
 Location: Bonnots Mill, MO
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Fri Apr 02, 2004 9:55 pm    Post subject: RE: 2HCW |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| Ed:  If you ever play out east and have 2HCW, you'll be required to use them.
 No swapping them for the paring knife in your belt:)
   :) 
 -----Original Message-----
 From: JonCleaves@... [mailto:JonCleaves@...]
 Sent: Friday, April 02, 2004 12:54 PM
 To: WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com
 Subject: Re: [WarriorRules] 2HCW
 
 
 In a message dated 4/2/2004 12:29:52 PM Eastern Standard Time,
 eforbes100@... writes:
 
 > 9.3 Eligibility of Weapon Use.
 >
 > The last line of 9.3 tells me that if, for example, I have LTS in the woods, I
 have to use SA as LTS is ineligible.>>
 
 That's right.  But nothing makes 2HCW ineligible.
 
 
 > If you want to forbid use of SA unless required, this should be stated
 directly for clarity. >>
 
 I will look at the wording for the new rulebook
 
 J
 
 
 
 
 
 Yahoo! Groups Links
 
 
 _________________
 These Rules Suck, Let's Paint!
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| joncleaves Moderator
 
  
  
 Joined: 29 Mar 2006
 Posts: 16447
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Fri Apr 02, 2004 9:55 pm    Post subject: Re: 2HCW |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| In a message dated 4/2/2004 12:29:52 PM Eastern Standard Time,
 eforbes100@... writes:
 
 > 9.3 Eligibility of Weapon Use.
 >
 > The last line of 9.3 tells me that if, for example, I have LTS in the woods, I
 have to use SA as LTS is ineligible.>>
 
 That's right.  But nothing makes 2HCW ineligible.
 
 
 > If you want to forbid use of SA unless required, this should be stated
 directly for clarity. >>
 
 I will look at the wording for the new rulebook
 
 J
 
 
 _________________
 Roll Up and Win!
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| Centurion
 
  
 
 Joined: 12 Apr 2006
 Posts: 1373
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Fri Apr 02, 2004 9:57 pm    Post subject: Re: 2HCW |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| Dare I say it....perhaps a list rule for those that might reasonably
 be expected to change weapons?
 Just an idea.
 Wanax
 
 
 --- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, JonCleaves@a... wrote:
 > In a message dated 4/2/2004 12:29:52 PM Eastern Standard Time,
 eforbes100@j... writes:
 >
 > > 9.3 Eligibility of Weapon Use.
 > >
 > > The last line of 9.3 tells me that if, for example, I have LTS in
 the woods, I have to use SA as LTS is ineligible.>>
 >
 > That's right.  But nothing makes 2HCW ineligible.
 >
 >
 > > If you want to forbid use of SA unless required, this should be
 stated directly for clarity. >>
 >
 > I will look at the wording for the new rulebook
 >
 > J
 
 
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		|  |