 |
Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
|
View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Mark Stone Moderator


Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 2102 Location: Buckley, WA
|
Posted: Wed Sep 08, 2004 8:48 pm Post subject: cancelled charges |
 |
|
Jon,
Second set of questions. The diagram on this one is more complicated, but I
think the questions are simpler (we'll see). For this one refer to
"cancel_ch.png" in the "rules questions" folder of the group file section.
Here's the situation: last bound Blue charged a light infantry unit with his
SHK, recoiling but not routing the LI. This bound Red has moved up an elephant
unit (2 models wide) to charge through the LI into the SHK. The elephants are
within 120p of both the front and the flank of the SHK. They are outside of
120p of Blue's pike unit. Blue has brought up a pike unit that is within 120p
of Red's LI (being Swiss, they can charge 120p).
In charge declarations the elephants declare a charge on the SHK and the Swiss
decare a charge on the LI.
Questions:
1. Is the Swiss charge cancelled? I'm pretty sure the answer is "yes", but I've
showed this example to three other people and nobody thinks the rules are clear
on this point. I'm not sure what wording change to suggest, but if I'm right
I'll think about a suggestion.
2. Can the elephants hit the knights both in front and on the flank ("wrapping"
around)? This is the TOG player in me gettinb befuddled, I'm sure. 7th edition
had such "wrap around" moves, and I honestly can't remember (and couldn't
decipher) if Warrior has them or not.
-Mark Stone
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Wed Sep 08, 2004 9:36 pm Post subject: Re: cancelled charges |
 |
|
Same here, Mark.. Can't open the .png
J
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Thu Sep 09, 2004 2:34 am Post subject: Re: cancelled charges |
 |
|
Second set of questions. The diagram on this one is more complicated, but I
think the questions are simpler (we'll see). For this one refer to
"cancel_ch.png" in the "rules questions" folder of the group file section.>>
[
Ok, I was able to open the png at home with no issue. So it is something
about my work comp. That means a during the work day question using a png
might have to wait. :)
<<Here's the situation: last bound Blue charged a light infantry unit with
his
SHK, recoiling but not routing the LI. This bound Red has moved up an
elephant
unit (2 models wide) to charge through the LI into the SHK. The elephants are
within 120p of both the front and the flank of the SHK. They are outside of
120p of Blue's pike unit. Blue has brought up a pike unit that is within 120p
of Red's LI (being Swiss, they can charge 120p).
In charge declarations the elephants declare a charge on the SHK and the
Swiss
decare a charge on the LI.
Questions:
1. Is the Swiss charge cancelled? I'm pretty sure the answer is "yes", but
I've
showed this example to three other people and nobody thinks the rules are
clear
on this point. I'm not sure what wording change to suggest, but if I'm right
I'll think about a suggestion.>>
[
The charge is cancelled *if* I understand the diagram correctly. It looks
to me like the El is closer than 120p to the edge of the LI facing the pike.
If the pike could get there and not be within a point 120p from the El's
start point, the pike would never enter the path and not be cancelled. The way
the diagram is drawn, it looks as though the point the pike would reach the LI
*is* within 120p of the El and therefore the pike would have to enter the
El's path to charge the LI, and being non-impetuous foot, the pike charge would
be cancelled.
2. Can the elephants hit the knights both in front and on the flank
("wrapping"
around)?>>
[
No. No way. Nein. Nyet.
Two notes on 'wrap around':
1. Things that aren't in the rules - aren't in the rules.
2. That day at Cold Wars 89 where Phil did a 'wrap around' with two 3x5
cards was the blackest day in ancients gaming..... The good news is, that
night
I decided that someday I would have my own published rules or buy his.....
:)
Jon
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum You cannot attach files in this forum You cannot download files in this forum
|
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
|