Warrior Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules
A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
 
  FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups AlbumAlbum   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Charges 'n stuff

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message

Recruit
Recruit


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 70

PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2000 2:53 am    Post subject: Charges ''n stuff


Jon,

Some questions on charges and movement. In Section 6.165 (October
version) an angled charge is allowed as long as all elements can
either;
a.) Contact the charged body or,
b.) Keep base to base contact with those elements that can make
contact otherwise the change pulls up short. In this case, would the
original charge declaration be illegal?

Since in Warrior you cannot get the "free" move or gate swing as you
do under 7th it is possible you can end up with a "short" charge,
even if the intended target stands it's ground.

Possible ramifications are;
1. Compulsory and immediate waver test for shaken troops having a
charge declared against them. If this unit fails it's waver, it must
immediatly rout and has the potential to cause further waver tests in
reaction to that rout.

2. Loose or open foot having a charge declared on them by mounted
could fail their immediate waver test and become shaken.

Where the original charge can contact the enemy body but not meet the
requirements in point b.) above, the charge declaration MUST be
illegal and all reaction tests must be discounted or at least
discount the waver tests. Otherwise you can have a situation where a
player will declare charges that might not contact just to cause
waver tests to his opponent. Very unfair.

I agree the sight of SHI running 200+ paces in the gate swing is
unrealistic but at least it fulfills the charge requirement. Also,
since charge declarations BEYOND charge limit are illegal, these
swinging elements would not be allowed to convert charge in such a
move unless the combat result allows the charging unit to follow up.
Even then it might be prudent to have the following up unit drop
elements back to avoid contact with the originally out-of-range
target.

Bodies in contact.
Unit A is fighting unit B but has been taken in the side by unit C.
(assume B and C charged the same target at the same time)

1. If A wins the combat against B and beat the B+C total so it does
not have to recoil from B, B should recoil even if C does not. Can A
follow up B even if C holds it's ground?

2. If B recoils backwards from A and A recoils sideways from C, can
A still follow-up B?

3. If B breaks and routs, since C will remain in contact with A
regardless of waver test result (not having to recoil, break off
etc), can A pursue B? As a follow on to this (questions, questions,
always questions.....) If A routs B but MUST recoil from C, will C
stop being shaken if it failed it's waver test for B routing? And
can it follow-up A? Disordered but not shaken?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2000 4:34 am    Post subject: Re: Charges ''n stuff


<< Some questions on charges and movement. In Section 6.165 (October
version) an angled charge is allowed as long as all elements can
either;
a.) Contact the charged body or,
b.) Keep base to base contact with those elements that can make
contact otherwise the change pulls up short. In this case, would the
original charge declaration be illegal?>.

You have latched on to a good issue. I am working on rewording this section.
The intent will be the same as it now stands, but we cannot allow a rules
lawyer to make short charges just to get the waver. However I end up wording
it, it will come out that if you can't make it when you declare it, it does
not happen and there are no responses/wavers.

<< 1. If A wins the combat against B and beat the B+C total so it does
not have to recoil from B, B should recoil even if C does not. Can A
follow up B even if C holds it's ground?>>

No. I will put in language to the effect: "can't follow up if in contact to
side or rear." It should be in there.

<<2. If B recoils backwards from A and A recoils sideways from C, can
A still follow-up B?>>

I assume this is a new combat result since above, A 'won' the combat and does
not have to recoil.
Given that, no, see above.

<<3. If B breaks and routs, since C will remain in contact with A
regardless of waver test result (not having to recoil, break off
etc), can A pursue B? >>

No. See above.

<< As a follow on to this (questions, questions,
always questions.....) If A routs B but MUST recoil from C, will C
stop being shaken if it failed it's waver test for B routing? And
can it follow-up A? Disordered but not shaken?>>

I assume a new combat result.
Yes, 5.143.

Jon


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group