Warrior Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules
A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
 
  FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups AlbumAlbum   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Charging at evaders

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message

Legionary
Legionary


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 307

PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2005 1:26 am    Post subject: Charging at evaders


Hi Jon, here is another question that came up recently.


I uploaded a file called charge_at_evader.jpg.

In this diagram, units A and B are on the same side, units C and D are the
enemy.

Unit A is Reg C HC L
Unit B is Reg C LC B and is in skirmish

Unit C is Reg C HC L
Unit D is Reg C LC L


Note that Unit A is angled in such a way that it has a straight ahead path to
the flank of Unit C if Unit D is no longer there.

In the Charge declaration phase, Unit A declares a charge on Unit D, and Unit C
declares a charge on Unit B. None of the Chargers are impetuous.

Both LC targets choose to evade their chargers. We are wondering what effect
direction of combat has on the outcome of this situation, and if Unit C can now
become a target for Unit A.

First lets assume the combat direction is left to right.
When Unit D evades straight to its own rear, Unit A now has to decide to pursue
Unit D or continue on its original charge path, in which case it may be able to
contact the Flank of Unit C.

Unit A decides to continue straight ahead in order to contact the revealed flank
of Unit C.
Would this cancel Unit C's charge?

Since Unit A is charging evaders, does the charge still become a variable move
even though it is going after a new target that is not evading?



Next, if the combat direction is from Right to Left, then are Unit B and Unit C
moved before Unit A is moved?

If so, that would seem to remove Unit C as a viable target for Unit A. Is that
the case?

Is Unit C's charge still cancelled?

Does Unit C have an opportunity to wheel attempting to countercharge A?



Thanks. Would you like me to remove these files afterwards?

Allan

[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2005 10:36 pm    Post subject: Re: Charging at evaders


<<I uploaded a file called charge_at_evader.jpg.

In this diagram, units A and B are on the same side, units C and D are the
enemy.

Unit A is Reg C HC L
Unit B is Reg C LC B and is in skirmish

Unit C is Reg C HC L
Unit D is Reg C LC L


Note that Unit A is angled in such a way that it has a straight ahead path to
the flank of Unit C if Unit D is no longer there.

In the Charge declaration phase, Unit A declares a charge on Unit D, and Unit C
declares a charge on Unit B. None of the Chargers are impetuous.

Both LC targets choose to evade their chargers. We are wondering what effect
direction of combat has on the outcome of this situation, and if Unit C can now
become a target for Unit A.

First lets assume the combat direction is left to right.
When Unit D evades straight to its own rear, Unit A now has to decide to pursue
Unit D or continue on its original charge path, in which case it may be able to
contact the Flank of Unit C.

Unit A decides to continue straight ahead in order to contact the revealed flank
of Unit C.
Would this cancel Unit C's charge? >>
[
Yes.

<<Since Unit A is charging evaders, does the charge still become a variable move
even though it is going after a new target that is not evading?>>
[
Yes. All charges at evaders become variable moves.

<<Next, if the combat direction is from Right to Left, then are Unit B and Unit
C moved before Unit A is moved? >>
[
No.
If D evades but A choose not to follow, C's charge is canceled. B is then not
charged.

Note that combat direction doesn't really play here as that is only for shooting
and combats - charges are simultaneous. At least those that are not canceled
are.

<<Does Unit C have an opportunity to wheel attempting to countercharge A?>>
[
Yes. having your charge canceled does NOT remove your ability to make a charge
response.

<<Thanks. Would you like me to remove these files afterwards?>>

No, what i would ask you to do is delete them and reload them into the folder we
use for rules questions diagrams. That is also the place they should go
originally - Mike K has done a great job of organizing our files section and I
want to support him.

Jon


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  

Legionary
Legionary


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 307

PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2005 1:50 am    Post subject: Re: Charging at evaders


Thank you for the thorough reply, Jon.
I will move the files, hopefully this evening.

Allan

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group