Warrior Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules
A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
 
  FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups AlbumAlbum   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Charges ands echeloning

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message

Legionary
Legionary


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 594

PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2004 5:57 am    Post subject: Charges ands echeloning


Jon,

If a unit declared a charge and it's charge path was intersected by
another charge (ie a charge declared on it by a second unit but
needing to come into it's charge path to hit it), must the original
charging unit echelon out to make contact with the original target
or can it elect not to echelon? Assume there is sufficent elements
and charge distance to allow this to happen.

Unit A is being charged by unit C. Unit B declares a charge on unit
C and wheels 45 degrees at the start of his charge to contact.

AAAABB

CCCC

If unit C's charge was NOT impetious, would it's charge on A be
cancelled by the charge from B? I assume that the impetious charge
would allow Unit C to contact chargers that comes into it's charge
path. Is this correct?

Cheers

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2004 6:11 pm    Post subject: Re: Charges ands echeloning


In a message dated 1/21/2004 9:57:48 PM Eastern Standard Time,
loki_in_oz@... writes:

> If a unit declared a charge and it's charge path was intersected by
> another charge (ie a charge declared on it by a second unit but
> needing to come into it's charge path to hit it), must the original
> charging unit echelon out to make contact with the original target
> or can it elect not to echelon? Assume there is sufficent elements
> and charge distance to allow this to happen.>>

I do not know what you mean by 'echelon out'. The only echeloning in a charge
is covered by 6.18 and I can't see how that applies to the example you are
giving me. maybe a (non-text) diagram?

>
> Unit A is being charged by unit C. Unit B declares a charge on unit
> C and wheels 45 degrees at the start of his charge to contact.
>
> AAAABB
>
> CCCC
>
> If unit C's charge was NOT impetious, would it's charge on A be
> cancelled by the charge from B?>>

Yes, if C does not wheel as part of its charge. Impetuous does not matter in
this case one way or another.

<< I assume that the impetious charge
> would allow Unit C to contact chargers that comes into it's
> charge
> path. Is this correct?>>

Not sure what you are asking. Impetuous doesn't really matter in the way you
are asking this question. A charge is cancelled by another charge coming from
outside the charge path whether the charger is impetuous or not.
Any charger, impetuous or not, that does not have its charge otherwise
cancelled, can contact bodies entering tis charge path.

Again, a real non-text diagram that also idenitifes who is
mounted/foot/impetuous/etc. would make a world of difference in helping you. We
have diagram helpers in the files section for this purpose.

Jon


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  

Legionary
Legionary


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 594

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2004 1:48 am    Post subject: Re: Charges ands echeloning


Jon,

added a powerpoint diagram in the files/diagrams folder to explain
my questions. Cheers



>
> Not sure what you are asking. Impetuous doesn't really matter in
the way you are asking this question. A charge is cancelled by
another charge coming from outside the charge path whether the
charger is impetuous or not.
> Any charger, impetuous or not, that does not have its charge
otherwise cancelled, can contact bodies entering tis charge path.
>
> Again, a real non-text diagram that also idenitifes who is
mounted/foot/impetuous/etc. would make a world of difference in
helping you. We have diagram helpers in the files section for this
purpose.
>
> Jon

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group