Warrior Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules
A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
 
  FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups AlbumAlbum   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Cold Wars clarifications

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Mark Stone
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 2102
Location: Buckley, WA

PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2006 9:59 pm    Post subject: Cold Wars clarifications


Jon,

I'm wondering if there will be any additional clarifications/errata posted
before Cold Wars. I know you've been holding off on doing this sort of thing to
concentrate on the revised rule book, and I'm glad that you've made that a
priority. However, Cold Wars represents one of our premiere national events,
and even though you've stated an intended clarification on a number of points
in email, I know that Scott doesn't go by what's in email in making a ruling;
he'll go by what's in the rules or posted clarifications/errata.

In particular, Alex and I are wondering about the status of flank marches. Given
that we'll be playing Mongols in 15mm, I don't think I'm giving much away to say
that we expect the occaisional flank march to be part of our tactical repetoire.
I raised some issues after Historicon last summer which you agreed needed
addressing, and you've stated in a few emails how you thought you might address
those issues, but barring some official clarification from you we'll head into
Cold Wars with the same status for flank marches we had 8 months ago.

I don't remember all of the issues I raised back then, but a couple of big
points that occur off the top of my head:
- Right now a flank march that has successfully diced for arrival on the current
bound does not count as nearest enemy while it is still entirely off table;
- Right now a unit "guarding" against a flank march has limited charge and
charge response options. It cannot, for example, go into skirmish if there is
room for the flank marching unit(s) to charge on table but not enough room to
approach on table. And there's an asymmetry where the flank marching unit can
declare a charge from off table on a "guarding" unit, but the "guarding" unit
cannot declare a charge on the off table flank marching unit.

If all of this has to wait until after Cold Wars when the revised rules book
comes out that's fine, we'll manage. But I figured I'd ask.

On another flank march related point: You've said a flank marching mounted unit
can arrive dismounted. Does its mounted vs. dismounted status have to be
declared at the time the flank march is written down, or can that be decided
upon arrival? Inquiring Mongol loose order cav really want to know.


-Mark Stone

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message   MSN Messenger
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2006 10:08 pm    Post subject: Re: Cold Wars clarifications


Not before Cold Wars. Its next week and I am maxed.

I have to ask you (and our other loyal players) to play one last con with the
old rulebook, my good friend....

-----Original Message-----
From: Mark Stone <mark@...>
To: warrior <WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com>
Sent: Wed, 8 Mar 2006 18:59:48 +0000
Subject: [WarriorRules] Cold Wars clarifications


Jon,

I'm wondering if there will be any additional clarifications/errata posted
before Cold Wars. I know you've been holding off on doing this sort of thing to
concentrate on the revised rule book, and I'm glad that you've made that a
priority. However, Cold Wars represents one of our premiere national events,
and even though you've stated an intended clarification on a number of points
in email, I know that Scott doesn't go by what's in email in making a ruling;
he'll go by what's in the rules or posted clarifications/errata.

In particular, Alex and I are wondering about the status of flank marches. Given
that we'll be playing Mongols in 15mm, I don't think I'm giving much away to say
that we expect the occaisional flank march to be part of our tactical repetoire.
I raised some issues after Historicon last summer which you agreed needed
addressing, and you've stated in a few emails how you thought you might address
those issues, but barring some official clarification from you we'll head into
Cold Wars with the same status for flank marches we had 8 months ago.

I don't remember all of the issues I raised back then, but a couple of big
points that occur off the top of my head:
- Right now a flank march that has successfully diced for arrival on the current
bound does not count as nearest enemy while it is still entirely off table;
- Right now a unit "guarding" against a flank march has limited charge and
charge response options. It cannot, for example, go into skirmish if there is
room for the flank marching unit(s) to charge on table but not enough room to
approach on table. And there's an asymmetry where the flank marching unit can
declare a charge from off table on a "guarding" unit, but the "guarding" unit
cannot declare a charge on the off table flank marching unit.

If all of this has to wait until after Cold Wars when the revised rules book
comes out that's fine, we'll manage. But I figured I'd ask.

On another flank march related point: You've said a flank marching mounted unit
can arrive dismounted. Does its mounted vs. dismounted status have to be
declared at the time the flank march is written down, or can that be decided
upon arrival? Inquiring Mongol loose order cav really want to know.


-Mark Stone





Yahoo! Groups Links






[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  

Recruit
Recruit


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 76

PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2006 10:39 pm    Post subject: Re: Cold Wars clarifications


Mark, I don't know of anyone else from Norcal heading east for Cold Wars to play
WARRIOR. Good luck, have fun and make us proud! Richard :)

Mark Stone <mark@...> wrote: Jon,

I'm wondering if there will be any additional clarifications/errata posted
before Cold Wars. I know you've been holding off on doing this sort of thing to
concentrate on the revised rule book, and I'm glad that you've made that a
priority. However, Cold Wars represents one of our premiere national events,
and even though you've stated an intended clarification on a number of points
in email, I know that Scott doesn't go by what's in email in making a ruling;
he'll go by what's in the rules or posted clarifications/errata.

In particular, Alex and I are wondering about the status of flank marches. Given
that we'll be playing Mongols in 15mm, I don't think I'm giving much away to say
that we expect the occaisional flank march to be part of our tactical repetoire.
I raised some issues after Historicon last summer which you agreed needed
addressing, and you've stated in a few emails how you thought you might address
those issues, but barring some official clarification from you we'll head into
Cold Wars with the same status for flank marches we had 8 months ago.

I don't remember all of the issues I raised back then, but a couple of big
points that occur off the top of my head:
- Right now a flank march that has successfully diced for arrival on the current
bound does not count as nearest enemy while it is still entirely off table;
- Right now a unit "guarding" against a flank march has limited charge and
charge response options. It cannot, for example, go into skirmish if there is
room for the flank marching unit(s) to charge on table but not enough room to
approach on table. And there's an asymmetry where the flank marching unit can
declare a charge from off table on a "guarding" unit, but the "guarding" unit
cannot declare a charge on the off table flank marching unit.

If all of this has to wait until after Cold Wars when the revised rules book
comes out that's fine, we'll manage. But I figured I'd ask.

On another flank march related point: You've said a flank marching mounted unit
can arrive dismounted. Does its mounted vs. dismounted status have to be
declared at the time the flank march is written down, or can that be decided
upon arrival? Inquiring Mongol loose order cav really want to know.


-Mark Stone




SPONSORED LINKS
Miniature wargaming Wargaming Warrior

---------------------------------
YAHOO! GROUPS LINKS


Visit your group "WarriorRules" on the web.

To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
WarriorRules-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com

Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to the Yahoo! Terms of Service.


---------------------------------





[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group