 |
Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
|
View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Mark Stone Moderator


Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 2102 Location: Buckley, WA
|
Posted: Wed Mar 08, 2006 9:59 pm Post subject: Cold Wars clarifications |
 |
|
Jon,
I'm wondering if there will be any additional clarifications/errata posted
before Cold Wars. I know you've been holding off on doing this sort of thing to
concentrate on the revised rule book, and I'm glad that you've made that a
priority. However, Cold Wars represents one of our premiere national events,
and even though you've stated an intended clarification on a number of points
in email, I know that Scott doesn't go by what's in email in making a ruling;
he'll go by what's in the rules or posted clarifications/errata.
In particular, Alex and I are wondering about the status of flank marches. Given
that we'll be playing Mongols in 15mm, I don't think I'm giving much away to say
that we expect the occaisional flank march to be part of our tactical repetoire.
I raised some issues after Historicon last summer which you agreed needed
addressing, and you've stated in a few emails how you thought you might address
those issues, but barring some official clarification from you we'll head into
Cold Wars with the same status for flank marches we had 8 months ago.
I don't remember all of the issues I raised back then, but a couple of big
points that occur off the top of my head:
- Right now a flank march that has successfully diced for arrival on the current
bound does not count as nearest enemy while it is still entirely off table;
- Right now a unit "guarding" against a flank march has limited charge and
charge response options. It cannot, for example, go into skirmish if there is
room for the flank marching unit(s) to charge on table but not enough room to
approach on table. And there's an asymmetry where the flank marching unit can
declare a charge from off table on a "guarding" unit, but the "guarding" unit
cannot declare a charge on the off table flank marching unit.
If all of this has to wait until after Cold Wars when the revised rules book
comes out that's fine, we'll manage. But I figured I'd ask.
On another flank march related point: You've said a flank marching mounted unit
can arrive dismounted. Does its mounted vs. dismounted status have to be
declared at the time the flank march is written down, or can that be decided
upon arrival? Inquiring Mongol loose order cav really want to know.
-Mark Stone
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Wed Mar 08, 2006 10:08 pm Post subject: Re: Cold Wars clarifications |
 |
|
Not before Cold Wars. Its next week and I am maxed.
I have to ask you (and our other loyal players) to play one last con with the
old rulebook, my good friend....
-----Original Message-----
From: Mark Stone <mark@...>
To: warrior <WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com>
Sent: Wed, 8 Mar 2006 18:59:48 +0000
Subject: [WarriorRules] Cold Wars clarifications
Jon,
I'm wondering if there will be any additional clarifications/errata posted
before Cold Wars. I know you've been holding off on doing this sort of thing to
concentrate on the revised rule book, and I'm glad that you've made that a
priority. However, Cold Wars represents one of our premiere national events,
and even though you've stated an intended clarification on a number of points
in email, I know that Scott doesn't go by what's in email in making a ruling;
he'll go by what's in the rules or posted clarifications/errata.
In particular, Alex and I are wondering about the status of flank marches. Given
that we'll be playing Mongols in 15mm, I don't think I'm giving much away to say
that we expect the occaisional flank march to be part of our tactical repetoire.
I raised some issues after Historicon last summer which you agreed needed
addressing, and you've stated in a few emails how you thought you might address
those issues, but barring some official clarification from you we'll head into
Cold Wars with the same status for flank marches we had 8 months ago.
I don't remember all of the issues I raised back then, but a couple of big
points that occur off the top of my head:
- Right now a flank march that has successfully diced for arrival on the current
bound does not count as nearest enemy while it is still entirely off table;
- Right now a unit "guarding" against a flank march has limited charge and
charge response options. It cannot, for example, go into skirmish if there is
room for the flank marching unit(s) to charge on table but not enough room to
approach on table. And there's an asymmetry where the flank marching unit can
declare a charge from off table on a "guarding" unit, but the "guarding" unit
cannot declare a charge on the off table flank marching unit.
If all of this has to wait until after Cold Wars when the revised rules book
comes out that's fine, we'll manage. But I figured I'd ask.
On another flank march related point: You've said a flank marching mounted unit
can arrive dismounted. Does its mounted vs. dismounted status have to be
declared at the time the flank march is written down, or can that be decided
upon arrival? Inquiring Mongol loose order cav really want to know.
-Mark Stone
Yahoo! Groups Links
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Recruit

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 76
|
Posted: Wed Mar 08, 2006 10:39 pm Post subject: Re: Cold Wars clarifications |
 |
|
Mark, I don't know of anyone else from Norcal heading east for Cold Wars to play
WARRIOR. Good luck, have fun and make us proud! Richard :)
Mark Stone <mark@...> wrote: Jon,
I'm wondering if there will be any additional clarifications/errata posted
before Cold Wars. I know you've been holding off on doing this sort of thing to
concentrate on the revised rule book, and I'm glad that you've made that a
priority. However, Cold Wars represents one of our premiere national events,
and even though you've stated an intended clarification on a number of points
in email, I know that Scott doesn't go by what's in email in making a ruling;
he'll go by what's in the rules or posted clarifications/errata.
In particular, Alex and I are wondering about the status of flank marches. Given
that we'll be playing Mongols in 15mm, I don't think I'm giving much away to say
that we expect the occaisional flank march to be part of our tactical repetoire.
I raised some issues after Historicon last summer which you agreed needed
addressing, and you've stated in a few emails how you thought you might address
those issues, but barring some official clarification from you we'll head into
Cold Wars with the same status for flank marches we had 8 months ago.
I don't remember all of the issues I raised back then, but a couple of big
points that occur off the top of my head:
- Right now a flank march that has successfully diced for arrival on the current
bound does not count as nearest enemy while it is still entirely off table;
- Right now a unit "guarding" against a flank march has limited charge and
charge response options. It cannot, for example, go into skirmish if there is
room for the flank marching unit(s) to charge on table but not enough room to
approach on table. And there's an asymmetry where the flank marching unit can
declare a charge from off table on a "guarding" unit, but the "guarding" unit
cannot declare a charge on the off table flank marching unit.
If all of this has to wait until after Cold Wars when the revised rules book
comes out that's fine, we'll manage. But I figured I'd ask.
On another flank march related point: You've said a flank marching mounted unit
can arrive dismounted. Does its mounted vs. dismounted status have to be
declared at the time the flank march is written down, or can that be decided
upon arrival? Inquiring Mongol loose order cav really want to know.
-Mark Stone
SPONSORED LINKS
Miniature wargaming Wargaming Warrior
---------------------------------
YAHOO! GROUPS LINKS
Visit your group "WarriorRules" on the web.
To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
WarriorRules-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to the Yahoo! Terms of Service.
---------------------------------
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum You cannot attach files in this forum You cannot download files in this forum
|
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
|