Warrior Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules
A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
 
  FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups AlbumAlbum   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Detachments

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Patrick Byrne
Centurion
Centurion


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 1433

PostPosted: Sat Aug 04, 2001 12:21 am    Post subject: Detachments


Cool.

Also I assume a detachment can have more elements than the parent body (since
the rules do not state so otherwise). And if I've got this all correct, a
regular parent unit which is in 2x2 block and has a detachment unit in 3x2
block formation, can reabsorb the detachment and ends up as a 2x5 (since a
2/2/3/3 formation is not allowed). This contraction from 3x2 to 2x3 for the
detachment is free, correct? or does it need to pay movement penalties (ie.
contract and 40p move if IRR)?

Along the same lines, if an LMI parent body in 2x2 block absords its 1x2
detachment of LMI's, does the detachment automatically revert to 2x1 to form
the back rank or is this a formation change (expanding frontage)? or must it
expand its frontage before reaborbtion into the parent Borg, I mean body?
(All this assumes that the formation can't end up 2/2/1/1)

Finally, I assume when the detachment is reabsorbing back into the parent
body, interpenetration is ignored. Interpenetration is only applyed when
parent body is joining the detachment (a symantic of who is moving, the
chicken or the egg), & when the detachment forming the rear rank wants to
move ahead of the parent body.

Last question(s). If an IRR A detachment is forming the back rank of a
parent body, and is within 120p of the enemy, must it declare a charge, being
that the charge is through the parent body, and maybe thus interpentration
occurs? It is a seperate unit by all accounts, right?

In summary, I have not played detachments, as the Yuan Mongols aren't
allowed any, but now I am making some Irish/Viking list and am trying to
understand limitations on detachments.
-PB


JonCleaves@... wrote:

> Can't be done if parent is 2x2. 3 element LI det if regular has only two
> legal blocks - 1x3 and 3x1.
>
> It is possible to construct a det and a parent such that they cannot be
> joined. I recommend against it.
>
>
> To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
> WarriorRules-unsubscribe@egroups.com
>
>
>
> Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group