View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Chris Bump Legate

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 1625
|
Posted: Mon Dec 11, 2000 10:24 am Post subject: Re: Digest Number 119 |
 |
|
In a message dated 12/11/2000 1:06:04 AM Pacific Standard Time,
WarriorRules@egroups.com writes:
<< > 2. Shooting arcs will permit an element to shoot at a target directly
in front of it or in front of an element next to it ('prolonging the front')
EVEN IF THERE IS NO ELEMENT THERE. All that rule was ever meant to do was
avoid having to have some 'arc template' like Napoleonic games have for
shooting. (You know the ones that allow a guy to sneak in against a long
unit as the angle is placed at the center of the unit's front.) What happens
here is arguments that a unit can only use the 'prolonging the front' of the
arc rule if there is actually an element there. What about the end guy? How
come his arc is smaller just because he has no one next to him? We are
fixing this with a picture.
>>
Jon, my next thought to this ruling, and I must say I like it thus far, is
target priorities. In that what defines shooters directly to front. Is the
one element to the right or left of a unit's outside element now considered
that unit's "direct frontage", or are we saying directly to front is, and
when I say as we have always played it I no longer speak with the conviction
I used to, as we have always played it and defined the "directly to front" as
two imagingary lines running directly perpindicular to the unit's front
extending from the outside edges of the unit's outside elements?
How's that for a run-on sentence? DOE would be so proud.
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Mon Dec 11, 2000 10:53 am Post subject: Re: Digest Number 119 |
 |
|
Directly to front will use the 'two imaginary lines'. There will be a
diagram. Much words about target priorities being different from arcs, etc.
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Mon Dec 11, 2000 10:54 am Post subject: Re: Digest Number 119 |
 |
|
The two imaginary lines will be running out from either side of the ELEMENT,
not the unit. Priorities will still be decided on an element by element
basis.
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|