  | 
				Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set   
				 | 
			 
		 
		 
	
		| View previous topic :: View next topic   | 
	 
	
	
		| Author | 
		Message | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 12:00 pm    Post subject: Dispelling rumor | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
Just a couple of things I have been 'hearing' that I want to set to  rest.
 
 
1.  Rule 6.14 does indeed say and always has said: "Move a unit  straight to
 
its rear any remaining move distance if it is in or just entered  skirmish
 
formation (6.45)"  'Any remaining move distance' does indeed say  you may make
 
legal moves before the actual move to the rear.  I understand  some are
 
'surprised' by this, but it is true.
 
 
2.  Some folks have apparently confused this rule, from 11.1:
 
 
"Close or loose formation foot, not including Irr A, must waver test from 2
 
CPF inflicted entirely or partially by HG and/or artillery in preparatory
 
shooting. This is because shields offer no protection against such  weapons."
 
 
with this one from 8.92
 
 
"C. Since no troops count shielded to these weapons, the factors in notes
 
A+B do not apply."
 
 
(these weapons being arty, HG and incendiaries)
 
 
The problem is that there is a difference between 'count shielded' and 'no
 
protection', but it is clearly a nuance.  Worse, both phrases are 'fluff'  and
 
have nothing to do with being an actual rule.  I will remove both  phrases
 
from the text.  11.1 is clear that only arty and HG produce this  effect.  Some
 
seem to be extrapolating that due to 8.93 note C I must have  left fire out of
 
11.1 and add it there of their own volition.  I didn't  leave it out.
 
 
If you need the fluff, you can actually have a flaming arrow hit your  shield
 
or naptha cover it and receive some protection thereby - for waver test
 
purposes.  A shield will not slow a trebuchet stone or stop a bullet.   What
 
note
 
C should say is that those weapons do not additionally take into  account any
 
shieldless factor - hence the reason that line is below the  shieldless line.
 
 
Sorry for any confusion.  11.1 means just what it says.
 
 
3.  The FHE position is that incendiary missiles, with the exception  of
 
certain cultures at certain times, were not typically employed in field 
 
battles.
 
We are trying to find the best median competitive battle setting  and write
 
it into 14.0 so that we have a standard people can work from - knowing  in
 
advance that it will not please everyone.  Just because 14.0 ends up one  way or
 
another in no way means you can't have all the incendiaries you  like.  If you
 
think otherwise from our view, simply allow any B or LB to  purchase flaming
 
arrows in your comps.  We are fine with that.  If you  have evidence of the
 
common open battle use across mutliple armies of this  ammunition, please send
 
it
 
to us.  What incendiaries do is a rule.   Who can purchase them is a tourney
 
guideline - and that, more than anything  else, is entirely in the players'
 
hands.
 
 
Jon
 
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                                     _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		John Murphy Legate
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 1625
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Thu Oct 27, 2005 2:48 am    Post subject: Re: Dispelling rumor | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
'Any remaining distance' could just as easily mean the remaining
 
distance (1 inch) after Irregs entering skirmish formation, or
 
changing facing? Is there anything else that explicitly says you can
 
make other moves?
 
 
In fact, maybe the way most folks would have read this?
 
 
--- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, JonCleaves@a... wrote:
 
> 1.  Rule 6.14 does indeed say and always has said: "Move a unit
 
straight to
 
> its rear any remaining move distance if it is in or just entered
 
skirmish
 
> formation (6.45)"  'Any remaining move distance' does indeed say
 
you may make
 
> legal moves before the actual move to the rear.  I understand  some
 
are
 
> 'surprised' by this, but it is true.
 
 
                                                                                              | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		 | 
	 
 
  
	 
	    
	   | 
	
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum You cannot attach files in this forum You cannot download files in this forum
  | 
   
 
  
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
  
		 |