Warrior Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules
A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
 
  FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups AlbumAlbum   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Echeloning and Charges

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message

Recruit
Recruit


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 244

PostPosted: Tue Sep 03, 2002 11:44 am    Post subject: Echeloning and Charges


Some more questions about charges and echeloning:


A & C Facing = v
B & D Facing = ^


...CCCC
................AAAA

DDDD..BBBB

Units A & C are fighting units B & D. Combat direction is right of left (A
is first). During charge declarations A charges B (who elects to
counter-charge), and C charges D (who elects to 'hold').

A and B are moved to the following positions (see below)

...CCCC
...............AAAA
.............BBBB
DDDD

However, C is no longer able to make contact with D without also hitting
unit B (I am assuming the distance involved is too short to wheel out of the
way of B), and he would have to elchelon forward to hit D. Is this what is
done? B never had a charge from C declared on it, so does this prevent C's
charge on D (and B in this case)?

Another question: Is it EVER possible to charge or make contact with an
enemy unit you didn't declare a charge on during the charge phase, Say
through echeloning, wheeling, pivoting, lining up, etc?

Another question: If unit X below wants to charge unit Y, but unit Z lies in
the way and would have to be contacted as well, does X have to declare a
charge on both Y and Z? Again I assume in this case distance is too short
for X to avoid Z by a wheel.

.........XXXX

.....ZZZZ
..............YYYY

The quessstion is, does X have to declare a charge on Z and Y, even if he
only wants to contact Y?


***
Kurtus A. Brown
sheol@...
jab@...
Known as I_SHEOL on Delphi and Yahoo.
Feel free to add me to your ICQ: 6953323
Co-Founder of the Table-Top Warlords Wargaming Club.
Check out our Club webpage at http://members.toast.net/jab/
Also the Founder of Para-Search, Paranormal Research and Investigation
Society (webpage coming soon).
***

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Tue Sep 03, 2002 5:17 pm    Post subject: Re: Echeloning and Charges


In a message dated Tue, 3 Sep 2002 3:44:21 AM Eastern Standard Time,
sheol@... writes:

> Some more questions about charges and echeloning:
>
>
> A & C Facing = v
> B & D Facing = ^
>
>
> ...CCCC
> ................AAAA
>
> DDDD..BBBB
>
> Units A & C are fighting units B & D. Combat direction is right of left (A
> is first). During charge declarations A charges B (who elects to
> counter-charge), and C charges D (who elects to 'hold').
>
> A and B are moved to the following positions (see below)
>
> ...CCCC
> ...............AAAA
> .............BBBB
> DDDD
>
> However, C is no longer able to make contact with D without also hitting
> unit B (I am assuming the distance involved is too short to wheel out of the
> way of B), and he would have to elchelon forward to hit D. Is this what is
> done?>>

If I understand the question and diagram, yes.

<<> Another question: Is it EVER possible to charge or make contact with an
> enemy unit you didn't declare a charge on during the charge phase, Say
> through echeloning, wheeling, pivoting, lining up, etc?>>

Yes.

<<> Another question: If unit X below wants to charge unit Y, but unit Z lies in
> the way and would have to be contacted as well, does X have to declare a
> charge on both Y and Z?>>

Yes, given 'would HAVE to be contacted...'

<< Again I assume in this case distance is too short
> for X to avoid Z by a wheel.
>
> .........XXXX
>
> .....ZZZZ
> ..............YYYY
>
> The quessstion is, does X have to declare a charge on Z and Y, even if he
> only wants to contact Y?>>

Yes, given what I think you have laid out for conditions.


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group