Warrior Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules
A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
 
  FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups AlbumAlbum   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Fwd: more swiss questions

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Mark Stone
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 2102
Location: Buckley, WA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2003 7:09 pm    Post subject: Fwd: more swiss questions


Jon asked me to repost these questions which he hasn't gotten around to
answering yet, so here they are:

----- Forwarded message from Mark Stone <mark@...> -----

Later Swiss are, on their own and other lists, 1/2 - 3/4 pike for each unit, and
the rest 2HCT. I just want to make sure I understand the implications of this.
There's going to be a strong temptation to play the Swiss in 20 figure units,
with 4 elements of pike and 1 element of 2HCT, and say "well, 80% is pretty
close to 75%, so that's close enough." My understanding of the lists is that
this construction is _not_ allowed. If you want 4 elements of pike in a unit,
you _must_ take at least 2 elements of 2HCT. Can I have that explicitly
confirmed? It'll save many arguments down the road.

I also want to make sure I understand the mechanics of the list rules in the
following situation:
On one side we have a 32 figure Seleucid pike unit, Reg C MI, 2 elements wide
andn 4 deep. On the other side we have a 24 figure Swiss unit, in column,
configure thus: front rank LHI P, next 3 ranks LMI P, last two ranks LHI 2HCT.
To simplify, we'll assume in the following combat that all die rolls are even.

Bound 1: The Seleucids and Swiss charge each other. The Seleucids do 12@2 (P vs.
LHI) +1 (charging) = 12@3 = 30. The Swiss do 12@3 (P vs. MI) +1 (charging) =
12@4 = 36. Result: neither pushes the other back, but the Seleucids, as losers,
become disordered. Now, under the list rules, since the Seleucids did not
"recoil, break or break off", the Swiss can swap a rear element of 2HCT to the
front.

Bound 2: The Seleucids only have two ranks fighting, as do the Swiss, but the
Seleucids get the overlap. The Seleucids do 16@2 (P vs. LHI) -2 (disordered) -1
(facing 2HCT) = 16@-1 = 12. The Swiss do 4@5 (2HCT vs. MI) = 16 + 4@3 (P vs. MI)
= 10 for a total of 26. The Seleucids have taken 1 CPF (they count as a 24
figure unit in this formation) and twice as many, so must take a waver test for
second cause of disorder, and recoil. The Swiss may take the second 2HCT element
and use it to expand, under the list rules.

Bound 3: Assume the Seleucids pass their waver. Where they have been
continuously in contact with the Swiss, they do 8@2 (P vs. LHI) -2 disordered)
-1 (facing 2HCT) +2 (facing shieldless LHI) = 8@1 = 12. Where they are facing
the new 2HCT element that just expanded, this is first contact against that
element so they don't count shiedless. They're two factors less for 8@-1 = 6,
for a total of 18. The Swiss no longer get their second rank of P, but get 8@5
(2HCT vs. MI) +1 (following up) = 8@6 = 40. The Seleucids again take 1 CPF and
twice as many, taking another cause of disorder, and thus another waver test,
and recoiling yet again.

The only part in all of this where I'm unclear is if I have correctly described
when the 2HCT do and do not count shielded. Jon?

----- End forwarded message -----

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message   MSN Messenger
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Tue Aug 26, 2003 12:18 am    Post subject: Re: Fwd: more swiss questions


In a message dated 8/25/2003 11:13:59 Central Daylight Time,
mark@... writes:
Later Swiss are, on their own and other lists, 1/2 - 3/4 pike for each unit,
and
the rest 2HCT. I just want to make sure I understand the implications of this.
There's going to be a strong temptation to play the Swiss in 20 figure units,
with 4 elements of pike and 1 element of 2HCT, and say "well, 80% is pretty
close to 75%, so that's close enough." My understanding of the lists is that
this construction is _not_ allowed. If you want 4 elements of pike in a unit,
you _must_ take at least 2 elements of 2HCT. Can I have that explicitly
confirmed? It'll save many arguments down the road.
That one is for Scott to answer


I also want to make sure I understand the mechanics of the list rules in the
following situation:
On one side we have a 32 figure Seleucid pike unit, Reg C MI, 2 elements wide
andn 4 deep. On the other side we have a 24 figure Swiss unit, in column,
configure thus: front rank LHI P, next 3 ranks LMI P, last two ranks LHI 2HCT.
To simplify, we'll assume in the following combat that all die rolls are
even.

Bound 1: The Seleucids and Swiss charge each other. The Seleucids do 12@2 (P
vs.
LHI) +1 (charging) = 12@3 = 30. The Swiss do 12@3 (P vs. MI) +1 (charging) =
12@4 = 36. Result: neither pushes the other back, but the Seleucids, as
losers,
become disordered. Now, under the list rules, since the Seleucids did not
"recoil, break or break off", the Swiss can swap a rear element of 2HCT to the
front.
Right.


Bound 2: The Seleucids only have two ranks fighting, as do the Swiss, but the
Seleucids get the overlap. The Seleucids do 16@2 (P vs. LHI) -2 (disordered)
-1
(facing 2HCT) = 16@-1 = 12. The Swiss do 4@5 (2HCT vs. MI) = 16 + 4@3 (P vs.
MI)
= 10 for a total of 26. The Seleucids have taken 1 CPF (they count as a 24
figure unit in this formation) and twice as many, so must take a waver test
for
second cause of disorder, and recoil. The Swiss may take the second 2HCT
element
and use it to expand, under the list rules.
Good.


Bound 3: Assume the Seleucids pass their waver. Where they have been
continuously in contact with the Swiss, they do 8@2 (P vs. LHI) -2 disordered)
-1 (facing 2HCT) +2 (facing shieldless LHI) = 8@1 = 12. Where they are facing
the new 2HCT element that just expanded, this is first contact against that
element so they don't count shiedless. They're two factors less for 8@-1 = 6,
for a total of 18. The Swiss no longer get their second rank of P, but get 8@5
(2HCT vs. MI) +1 (following up) = 8@6 = 40. The Seleucids again take 1 CPF and
twice as many, taking another cause of disorder, and thus another waver test,
and recoiling yet again.

The only part in all of this where I'm unclear is if I have correctly
described
when the 2HCT do and do not count shielded. Jon?
The last part is wrong. 7.1 says: "Steady foot using pike, LTS, 2HCT or 2HCW
cannot count shieldless (even if they do not possess shields) to frontal
opponents hand-to-hand weapons when charging or being charged." That does not
apply in this case, so the 2HCT are shieldless in bound 3.

Otherwise good.
J


[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
scott holder
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 6077
Location: Bonnots Mill, MO

PostPosted: Tue Aug 26, 2003 4:13 pm    Post subject: RE: Fwd: more swiss questions


Later Swiss are, on their own and other lists, 1/2 - 3/4 pike for each unit, and
the rest 2HCT. I just want to make sure I understand the implications of this.
There's going to be a strong temptation to play the Swiss in 20 figure units,
with 4 elements of pike and 1 element of 2HCT, and say "well, 80% is pretty
close to 75%, so that's close enough." My understanding of the lists is that
this construction is _not_ allowed. If you want 4 elements of pike in a unit,
you _must_ take at least 2 elements of 2HCT. Can I have that explicitly
confirmed? It'll save many arguments down the road.

That one is for Scott to answer

>Consider it explicitly confirmed. There is no "close enough" in Warrior lists.


[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]


_________________
These Rules Suck, Let's Paint!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message   Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group