 |
Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
|
View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Recruit

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 4
|
Posted: Mon Feb 10, 2003 11:26 pm Post subject: Help! |
 |
|
I am new to Warrior and a few issues came up in a battle that I could
use some direction on.....
1st is very simple, but I just can't find it in the rulebook: Gallic
HC charged a group of Numidian LC (40 paces away) in skirmish
formation. The LC evaded, but rolled a 2 on the evade. The Gauls
rolled a 6 and caught them (correct so far?). They fought a combat
(actually the LC sat and took it), and the LC broke and ran directly
away - however there was Italian HC in the way and they began to rout
around them.
Question: The LC would normally have outdistanced the HC in their
rout (we both diced for the variable rout / pursuit), but the LC had
to divert around the Italian HC - would this slow them down so that
the pursuing HC would contact them again?
We played it as if the LC basically formed a (disordered) column to
go around the HC and the Gauls caught them again.
Next: the following charge phase, one body of the Italian HC charged
the Gauls and a body of Roman Triarii turned 90 degrees to the
exposed flank of the Gallic Cav and also charged (90 d in approach
phase, charge declared in the charge phase, etc....) The Gauls were
meanwhile locked in combat with the LC and had to "sit and take it." -
was this correct handling of the described situation?
Ok, as you read through this, be gentle - we are converted DBM'ers
and we are just struggling through our first battles - which, I might
add that we are all quickly becoming converted Warrior fans....
And one last question - what is the effect of being charged in the
flank? We found the flank movement rules, but are there any special
conditions for hand to hand combat when there is a flank charge?
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Tue Feb 11, 2003 12:38 am Post subject: Re: Help! |
 |
|
Hello, and welcome to Warrior.
> 1st is very simple, but I just can't find it in the rulebook: Gallic HC
charged a group of Numidian LC (40 paces away) in skirmish formation. The LC
evaded, but rolled a 2 on the evade. The Gauls rolled a 6 and caught them
(correct so far?). They fought a combat (actually the LC sat and took it), and
the LC broke and ran directly away - however there was Italian HC in the way and
they began to rout around them.
>
> Question: The LC would normally have outdistanced the HC in their rout (we
both diced for the variable rout / pursuit), but the LC had to divert around the
Italian HC - would this slow them down so that the pursuing HC would contact
them again?>>
Yes.
Now that assumes there was a gap to divert into, otherwise there might be some
bursting through. Check 6.32 for what happens when a routing body meets another
body and there is no gap nearby for the router to get to.
But the question - can the diversion around/through a body or terrain feature
help a router get caught when he otherwise would not? is answered yes. Same in
this sense for an evader and a charger.
<<> Next: the following charge phase, one body of the Italian HC charged the
Gauls and a body of Roman Triarii turned 90 degrees to the exposed flank of the
Gallic Cav and also charged (90 d in approach phase, charge declared in the
charge phase, etc....) The Gauls were meanwhile locked in combat with the LC
and had to "sit and take it." -
> was this correct handling of the described situation?>>
I don't think so. First, while the Gauls had to 'sit and take it' they were
still giving out casualties to the routing LC, which would increase their
chances of not having a really bad combat result (11.2). Second, look at
Cancelled Charges - bullet three, bottom of page 39. It looks to me that the
Triari charge was illegal as nonimpetuous foot and mounted cannot charge the
same enemy together. The Italian HC would cancel the Triari charge - *if* I am
reading your description correctly.
> Ok, as you read through this, be gentle - we are converted DBM'ers and we are
just struggling through our first battles - which, I might add that we are all
quickly becoming converted Warrior fans....>>
The Lord bless and keep you, sir...
> And one last question - what is the effect of being charged in the flank? We
found the flank movement rules, but are there any special conditions for hand
to hand combat when there is a flank charge? >>
The 'bonus' is that the flanked body does not give out any casualties to the
charger. This will have a significant influence on the 11.2 results of the
fight as, unless the flanked body is fighting someone else to its front, the
charger will automatically do twice as many hand to hand casualties (unless it
finds a way to do zero...). If it does 1CPF, it will recoil (or force to break
off) the flanked body and disorder it (forcing a waver test if it is already
disordered. If it does 3 CPF the flanked body is broken.
If the flanked body is a huge wall of foot and the flanker is a couple of
elements of LC, the foot might not even notice, however...lol
Jon
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum You cannot attach files in this forum You cannot download files in this forum
|
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
|