 |
Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
|
View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Legionary

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 284
|
Posted: Tue Jul 27, 2004 7:15 pm Post subject: Re: Historicon AAR (long) Swiss Orb Rule Question |
 |
|
I'm putting together a Swiss Army, so this got my attention. You say
the Swiss flank units went into orb formation. Is this legal? I
thought the formation rules say that only close order foot can assume
this formation. It would appear logical that the Swiss pike troops
could assume an orb formation, but since they are actually loose
order LMI or LHI, wouldn't this be technically in violation of the
rules?
> The final round was Sean's Swiss. He attempted to pull the same
> trick as Todd always does to me (and Scott Holder, and Craig Scott,
> and anyone with a bunch of CO foot) by force marching his 3 12E
pike
> blocks. This game I had learned about handling my Irreg knights and
> did not let them sit behind the lines. I went straight for the mass
> impetuous mounted charge on each of the flank pike blocks. Not the
> best tactic when I had knights who are quite good dismounted
> (impetuous SHI 2HCW backed by EHI JLS) but I didn't want to wait
the
> couple bounds to set it up in the last game so in I went. I
actually
> came at an angle and forced one of the blocks to go into orb.
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
scott holder Moderator


Joined: 30 Mar 2006 Posts: 6070 Location: Bonnots Mill, MO
|
Posted: Tue Jul 27, 2004 7:27 pm Post subject: RE: Re: Historicon AAR (long) Swiss Orb Rule Question |
 |
|
Sean cleared this with me ahead of time. I'll have more fleshing out of the
Swiss list rules over the next month or so.
In the meantime, yes, Swiss troops can orb and any interior pikemen count as
additional ranks even if 2HCT is on the outside of the orb.
-----Original Message-----
From: Peter Celella [mailto:pcelella@...]
Sent: Tuesday, July 27, 2004 11:15 AM
To: WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com
Subject: [WarriorRules] Re: Historicon AAR (long) Swiss Orb Rule
Question
I'm putting together a Swiss Army, so this got my attention. You say
the Swiss flank units went into orb formation. Is this legal? I
thought the formation rules say that only close order foot can assume
this formation. It would appear logical that the Swiss pike troops
could assume an orb formation, but since they are actually loose
order LMI or LHI, wouldn't this be technically in violation of the
rules?
> The final round was Sean's Swiss. He attempted to pull the same
> trick as Todd always does to me (and Scott Holder, and Craig Scott,
> and anyone with a bunch of CO foot) by force marching his 3 12E
pike
> blocks. This game I had learned about handling my Irreg knights and
> did not let them sit behind the lines. I went straight for the mass
> impetuous mounted charge on each of the flank pike blocks. Not the
> best tactic when I had knights who are quite good dismounted
> (impetuous SHI 2HCW backed by EHI JLS) but I didn't want to wait
the
> couple bounds to set it up in the last game so in I went. I
actually
> came at an angle and forced one of the blocks to go into orb.
Yahoo! Groups Links
_________________ These Rules Suck, Let's Paint! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum You cannot attach files in this forum You cannot download files in this forum
|
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
|