 |
Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
|
View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Patrick Byrne Centurion

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 1433
|
Posted: Wed Apr 16, 2003 3:55 pm Post subject: Impetuos Charges |
 |
|
Jon, I do not understand your reply below regarding the continuation of
impetuous charges.
What does "since it does not declare any new charges" mean. Doesn't the
charge in bound 2 have to be declared? and If it was a knight under attack
orders wouldn't that second bound charge have to be prompted (if not against
disordered enemy or an enemy flank)?
How about this circumstance - A knight impetuously charges some close order
foot. Does 3 times as much HTH, and breaks through. He took some damage
and so is now tired. Break through is not a rally offense so he is clear to
charge next bound.
The Knight then declares a charge on a legal third body (unprompted). The
charge can't be declared impetuous as he is tired, however he did not shake,
break, or rally (as break through is not a rally offense) and so remains
impetuous. In this case, he would still get the charging impetuously bonus,
correct?
---
Mark Question:Jon, here is an easy one for you a scythed chariot charges
with no fatigues impetuously, its target evades. it ends the bound tired.
is it impetuous when it charges in the next bound?
Jon Answer:
as it charged without contact, it continues the same charge straight ahead.
since it does not declare any new charges in this case (it's the same
charge)
if it was impetuous it still is.
you cannot declare a charge impetuous if you are tired but you can become
tired while you are impetuous and remain so in certain circumstances. this
is one of them. knights are often found impetuous and tied at the same time
in a charge - but they can't declare the charge tired.
the list of things that make you stop being impetuous once you already are
shaken, broken or rallied. note that cince the chariot is not broken or
shaken and can never rally, there is nothing bringing its impetuous status
to
a halt.
---
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Wed Apr 16, 2003 4:27 pm Post subject: Re: Impetuos Charges |
 |
|
> What does "since it does not declare any new charges" mean. Doesn't the
charge in bound 2 have to be declared? >>
The charge of a scythed chariot that charged previously without contact? No. It
*continues* the charge straight ahead. As I have said several times, we will
make sure this is clarified in the next update as there seems to be some
confusion about what 'continues' means...
<<and If it was a knight under attack
> orders wouldn't that second bound charge have to be prompted (if not against
disordered enemy or an enemy flank)?>>
Yes.
> How about this circumstance - A knight impetuously charges some close order
foot. Does 3 times as much HTH, and breaks through. He took some damage
> and so is now tired. Break through is not a rally offense so he is clear to
> charge next bound.>>
'rally offense'? lol
Actually it is a 'rally offense' as break-throughs are a form of pursuit - first
sentence 6.35. If still steady, it could declare a charge next bound once
rallied. But it would have to be declared and if he were already tired, could
not be impetuous.
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum You cannot attach files in this forum You cannot download files in this forum
|
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
|