 |
Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
|
View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Greg Regets Imperator

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 2988
|
Posted: Sat Jul 07, 2001 7:00 pm Post subject: Lining Up |
 |
|
Ok ... I think this issue is worth one last shot, so I'm going to express it and let Jon get on with his work.
My original posting on this concept (it was my first posting on this board as a matter of fact) was not just about gaps, but about gaps AND what can and can't fit given lining up. So, just hear me out and then I will be finished.
It is STILL possible within the rules to make formations that may not be charged. It is not only possible, it is quite easy. See below please.
1. When you line up frontally, you line up so that the side edges are in a straight line, right?
2. When you line up on a flank, you line up so that your side edge creates a line with the target elements front edge, right?
3. If you can't line up, you can't charge, right?
Having read this section of the rules again and again, I'm feel confident that this is exactly what it says.
So, if you line units up like this (each slash is one unit);
//////(table edge)
It is quite possible to make it so that the front can't be contacted because there isn't room to line up, meaning the angle of the inside V will not allow it. If the distance between the front edge of the targets flank and the unit next to it is less that 40p, an element is not able to line it's edge up with the front corner of the target unit as stated in the rules. So, in this case, no part of the formation may be lined up on, so is not a valid charge target.
Take care and happy writing ...
Greg
P.S. Jon, I'm working on your logo even as you read this. My work has just not allowed me any free time during the week.
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Recruit

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 187
|
Posted: Sat Jul 07, 2001 9:48 pm Post subject: Re: Lining Up |
 |
|
> in this case, no part of the formation may be lined up on, so is
not a valid charge target.
Ref 6.165 (in part, just before the section on Flank Charges):
"If other bodies or impassable terrain features prevent the body from
lining up, apply the following:
1. If other bodies or terrain would not prevent lining up the non-
charging body, then do so.
2. If neither body can be lined up due to other bodies or terrain,
treat them as though they have lined up for all purposes."
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Sat Jul 14, 2001 12:51 pm Post subject: Re: Re: Lining Up |
 |
|
<< > in this case, no part of the formation may be lined up on, so is
not a valid charge target.
Ref 6.165 (in part, just before the section on Flank Charges):
"If other bodies or impassable terrain features prevent the body from
lining up, apply the following:
1. If other bodies or terrain would not prevent lining up the non-
charging body, then do so.
2. If neither body can be lined up due to other bodies or terrain,
treat them as though they have lined up for all purposes." >>
Roger has this dead on. #2 is the controlling rule. If you can't physically
line up, fight like you can and have lined up.
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum You cannot attach files in this forum You cannot download files in this forum
|
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
|