| 
			
				|  | Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
 
 |  
 
	
		| View previous topic :: View next topic |  
		| Author | Message |  
		| joncleaves Moderator
 
  
  
 Joined: 29 Mar 2006
 Posts: 16447
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Fri Aug 20, 2004 12:44 am    Post subject: Re: more chariot/detachment questions |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| In a message dated 8/19/2004 16:48:07 Central Daylight Time,
 mark@... writes:
 
 Jon,
 
 1. Can chariots charge enemy behind  stakes/chains?>>
 [
 [
 No.  6.711: "Vehicles and mounted troops can cross field  fortifications only
 where they have been destroyed."
 
 
 
 2. Can chariots charge enemy behind stone walls/ditched  palisades?>>
 [
 [
 See above.
 
 
 
 3. If a body of front rank chariots and rear rank LMI  detachment is
 responding
 to being charged by mounted in the open, does it  take a waver test?>>
 [
 [
 Yes, IF the LMI is contacted by the mounted in the charge as per 5.5.
 
 
 
 4. If a body of front rank chariots and rear rank LMI  detachment is charged
 from
 160p by enemy mounted, can it  counter-charge?>>
 [
 [
 yes, but we obviously need a clarification to 6.166 in a simialr way to
 6.163.  The issue remains that the original text of 7th, which i borrowed  WAY
 too
 heavily from said 'figures, foot, troops, friends', and all sorts of  other
 imprecise words for what can do what.  One of the objcetives of the  rewrite is
 to fix this throughout the rulebook once and for all.  The  answers to these
 questions are always in terms of what the intent has always  been, but the
 langauge needs to be more thoroughly mine and not holdovers in  places like it
 is
 in the first printing.
 
 
 
 5. Under 6.163 "Declaring Charges/Cancelled Charges" it states  that
 "Elephants
 and non-impetuous foot cannot join in charging an enemy  with impetuous or
 (non-elephant) mounted friends." Suppose we have a body  of front rank
 chariots
 and rear rank LMI detachment. I'm clear what happens  if such a body charges
 impetuously.>>
 Note that is the LMI is regular, such a body will NEVER be impetuous.
 
 I'm  _not_ clear what happens if such a body charges  _not_
 impetuously.
 5a. Can it charge together with other  (non-elephant) mounted because the
 front
 rank is entirely  mounted?>>
 [
 [
 Yes, and we will so clarify
 
 
 
 6. Same clause under 6.163, only this time we have a body  of chariots with
 LI on
 the base, charging non-impetuously.
 6a.  Can it charge together with other (non-elephant) mounted because the
 front
 rank is entirely mounted?>>
 [
 [
 Yes.  Same as above.
 
 Jon
 
 
 
 [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
 _________________
 Roll Up and Win!
 |  |  
		| Back to top |  |  
		|  |  
		| Mark Stone Moderator
 
  
  
 Joined: 12 Apr 2006
 Posts: 2102
 Location: Buckley, WA
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Fri Aug 20, 2004 12:46 am    Post subject: more chariot/detachment questions |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| Jon,
 
 1. Can chariots charge enemy behind stakes/chains?
 
 2. Can chariots charge enemy behind stone walls/ditched palisades?
 
 3. If a body of front rank chariots and rear rank LMI detachment is responding
 to being charged by mounted in the open, does it take a waver test?
 
 4. If a body of front rank chariots and rear rank LMI detachment is charged from
 160p by enemy mounted, can it counter-charge?
 
 5. Under 6.163 "Declaring Charges/Cancelled Charges" it states that "Elephants
 and non-impetuous foot cannot join in charging an enemy with impetuous or
 (non-elephant) mounted friends." Suppose we have a body of front rank chariots
 and rear rank LMI detachment. I'm clear what happens if such a body charges
 impetuously. I'm _not_ clear what happens if such a body charges _not_
 impetuously.
 5a. Can it charge together with other (non-elephant) mounted because the front
 rank is entirely mounted?
 5b. Can it _not_ charge together with other (non-elephant) mounted because the
 body contains non-impetuous foot?
 5c. If it _cannot_ charge with other (non-elephant) mounted, can it charge
 with other non-impetuous foot?
 
 6. Same clause under 6.163, only this time we have a body of chariots with LI on
 the base, charging non-impetuously.
 6a. Can it charge together with other (non-elephant) mounted because the front
 rank is entirely mounted?
 6b. Can it _not_ charge together with other (non-elephant) mounted because the
 body contains non-impetuous foot?
 6c. If it _cannot_ charge with other (non-elephant) mounted, can it charge
 with other non-impetuous foot?
 
 Once I have answers to these questions, I think I'm ready to make my 2004-2005
 lead purchases and painting decisions (he says, eyeing the Late Hebrew list
 with renewed interest....).
 
 
 -Mark Stone
 
 
 |  |  
		| Back to top |  |  
		|  |  
		| John Garlic Legionary
 
  
  
 Joined: 12 Apr 2006
 Posts: 450
 Location: Weslaco, TX
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Fri Aug 20, 2004 1:33 am    Post subject: Re: more chariot/detachment questions |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| Hi Jon,
 
 Is there a time frame you are looking at for completion?  No pressure, just
 curious.
 
 John Garlic
 Weslaco, Texas
 
 > One of the objectives of the  rewrite is
 > to fix this throughout the rulebook once and for all.
 
 
 
 [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
 |  |  
		| Back to top |  |  
		|  |  
		|  |  
  
	| 
 
 | You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum
 You cannot edit your posts in this forum
 You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 You cannot vote in polls in this forum
 You cannot attach files in this forum
 You cannot download files in this forum
 
 |  
 Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
 
 |