Recruit

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 20
|
Posted: Sat Jul 07, 2001 6:38 am Post subject: New member comments/questions |
 |
|
Hello-I am a bit new to this group, less than a week-so if I'm coveringground already hit (I am a bit lazy, so I really don't feel that compelledto read through ALL of the prior posts here) please cut me a little slack.First, a bit of history: I played WRG 7.x 15 years ago (with a bunch offolks in Blacksburg, VA), including running a couple of campaign games using7.x for ground combat resolution, and then, when it came out, quicklytransitioned to DBx (first -A, then -M, and now -R).Anyway, Charles R. and Roger M. (who have never accepted the DB-style rules) finally convinced me to come back and try Warrior-since it has the advantage of not being written in Barkerese. I am hoping to play it with them this Saturday.In my other life (work) one of the things I do is write policy andprocedures for a large state DOT-so if I am a bit nit-picky, please forgiveme.I've gone through the rules posted and offer the followingcomments/questions:Page 15, 3.2.3: This never actually says "Conduct approach moves." Iknow-I'm being a bit nit-picky here.Page 27, 6.0: According to the set of bullets at the end of this section(at least as far as I can tell), if within 40 paces of an enemy, you cannotcharge an enemy as the only permitted moves are formation change, counter,retire, or staff moves. Is this intended?Page 65, 13.32: Says, "Fighting transport moves...at speed of wagons orfoot type, whichever is slower." Once again, being nit-picky, do you alsomean, "moves...as wagons or foot type, whichever is more restricted(limited?)" as wheeled cannot move in certain terrain?Page 70, 14.45: Says flank marches are permitted by "...one command orunit." I am assuming that this means (and was intended to mean) that if youwant more than one unit flank marching, you have to use an entire command.Is this correct?Page 72, 14.5: Since I didn't notice anything about any special loss rules(except for the looting rule) concerning Baggage/Camp, I assume that losingyour baggage is the equivalent of one body broken or destroyed (both forcommand morale purposes and victory points), but since it was "free" itsvalue would be 0 (for victory point purposes). Is this correct and was itintended? Personally, I like baggage having a decent victory point value.That's about it for now-except for a few editing/spelling mistakes in therules, which you would expect in something this big. If you want me to postthe ones I've spotted, please let me know and I'll do so.I expect I'll have more questions next week after playing, but if I don't,then I'll have to hand you folks a big "Well DONE!" for managing to fix 7.x!Thanks for your patience (and all the hard work).Robert HofrichterGlen Allen, VA
|
|