Warrior Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules
A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
 
  FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups AlbumAlbum   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Of Converted Charges and Waivers

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Kelly Wilkinson
Dictator
Dictator


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 4172
Location: Raytown, MO

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2004 6:14 pm    Post subject: Of Converted Charges and Waivers


Jon,

Last night during your game with Matt there was a situation
where you broke a longbow unit of Matt's and converted charged into
one of his knights that was within 120 paces of his breaking unit
before and during the rout move. You stated that the Knight did not
have to take the waver test as the knight unit was involved in a
converted charge by your pursuing unit. This got me to thinking
about the situation so I went to the pertinent sections in the rule
book. Here is what I found. . .

1. On page 45 section 6.167 the pertinent information is in the
second sentence and states, "A converted charge is not declared and
prevents all shooting at, charges on, waver tests and movement or
charge response by either body before any resulting combat is
adjudicated NEXT bound." By this I get the impression that any of
these things that happen NEXT Bound is where these conditions apply.

2. On page 30, 5.51 Waver Tests second paragraph down. "Waver tests
are taken immediately, as soon as the condition requiring a waver
test occurs."

3. On page 18, 3.2 The Bound. at the very bottom of the
section. "Note that prompts (4.3) and waver tests (5.5) are diced
for when required, not at any one point in sequence."

Considering these three points in the Warrior Rules, why would
that knight unit not have to take a waver test? To me it seems that
the knight who was in dire straits should definitely waver test for
seeing his friends break immediately and then the converted charge
effects should apply after the waver test. Am I wrong and if so, can
you show me in the rules why?

kelly wilkinson


_________________
Roll down and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Kelly Wilkinson
Dictator
Dictator


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 4172
Location: Raytown, MO

PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2004 1:00 am    Post subject: Re: Of Converted Charges and Waivers


Jon,

I was hoping you could help me out with this question. Somehow
it got lost in the Western 15mm championship mails. Can you set me
straight?
kelly


--- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, "jwilkinson62"
<jwilkinson62@y...> wrote:
>
>
> Jon,
>
> Last night during your game with Matt there was a situation
> where you broke a longbow unit of Matt's and converted charged
into
> one of his knights that was within 120 paces of his breaking unit
> before and during the rout move. You stated that the Knight did
not
> have to take the waver test as the knight unit was involved in a
> converted charge by your pursuing unit. This got me to thinking
> about the situation so I went to the pertinent sections in the
rule
> book. Here is what I found. . .
>
> 1. On page 45 section 6.167 the pertinent information is in the
> second sentence and states, "A converted charge is not declared
and
> prevents all shooting at, charges on, waver tests and movement or
> charge response by either body before any resulting combat is
> adjudicated NEXT bound." By this I get the impression that any of
> these things that happen NEXT Bound is where these conditions
apply.
>
> 2. On page 30, 5.51 Waver Tests second paragraph down. "Waver
tests
> are taken immediately, as soon as the condition requiring a waver
> test occurs."
>
> 3. On page 18, 3.2 The Bound. at the very bottom of the
> section. "Note that prompts (4.3) and waver tests (5.5) are diced
> for when required, not at any one point in sequence."
>
> Considering these three points in the Warrior Rules, why
would
> that knight unit not have to take a waver test? To me it seems
that
> the knight who was in dire straits should definitely waver test
for
> seeing his friends break immediately and then the converted charge
> effects should apply after the waver test. Am I wrong and if so,
can
> you show me in the rules why?
>
> kelly wilkinson


_________________
Roll down and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group