Warrior Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules
A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
 
  FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups AlbumAlbum   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Orders and "free" charges.

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Sat Nov 18, 2000 12:58 pm    Post subject: Re: Orders and "free" charges.


Before I answer, let me explain to everyone what is going on here.

There is a draft of the rules available in the egroup's file section. That
is current from about October 15th (don't remember exact date). However,
1. I, obviously, maintain a more current draft on my computer. It is
possible that you will ask a question that I have already 'answered' in my
working draft. I will still answer it here. If you are wondering why the
answer comes quickly and definitively, but isn't in the egroup file, it is
because we have already caught the issue but I only have these notes written
on my hardcopy draft waiting for me to get to them. It is absolutely NOT a
waste of time to ask, however, as a double-check is very valuable to us.
2. I have not gone back through the rules with a fine-tooth comb for some
time. What I am working on is the Transport rule (the hardest and last
complete section of the rulebook). Once I am done with that, the time will
have come to scrape through the rulebook for every last crumb of
'prose-narrative' rules sections. Then comes the last step: the
elephant-chariot summary and the diagrams, which can't be done until we are
happy that the rest of the book is 'right'.

You guys are therefore performing a hugely valuable service by essentially
starting the detailed rules review simultaneously with me finishing the last
undone sections. If what subjects are being discussed here seem haphazard,
that's ok, cause I will be going through the rules line-by-line after I am
done writing and anything you catch in advance gets noted for fixing at that
point.

<< Please pardon the following dumb questions.>>

Therefore, none of these are dumb questions, Steve!

<<Under RUSH, is LI within 40 paces of close or loose foot a "legal
target" under the definition in the first line?>>

Yes.

<<Under ATTACK orders, loose and close foot do not need to declare a
charge on LI who have elected to Recall. Does this include a body
containing Irr A?>>

No, because as you point out:

<< The last bullet point under the Attack
section "Bodies containing any Irr A, including missile troops, must
charge (unprompted) if they can.">>

<<Likwise, under PROBE, "Bodies containing any Irr A, including missile
troops, must charge if they can." Does include close or loose foot
charging LI within 40 paces?>>

Yes. Attack orders give certain troops a charge they don't have to prompt if
they choose to charge. This concept has no impact on Probe orders or
mandatory charges.

<<Also on PROBE, Does the "Bodies containing any Irr A, including
missile troops, must charge if they can." instruction include Irr A
mounted charging steady close foot with pikes or LTS? Here we have
played (under 7th) that the "no charge" overrules the "must charge".
Is this correct in Warrior?>>

Good catch. Your interpretation is correct. I will clarify.

<<On waver tests, do mounted take a waver test if the mounted contact
an expendabe? eg, HC charging into the flank or rear of a scythed
chariot. This is different to the "being contacted by expendables".>>

Yes. I already have a note to fix the language of that test to change "being
contacted" to something better.

<<Thanks in advance.>>

You are welcome.
Jon


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  

Recruit
Recruit


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 70

PostPosted: Sat Nov 18, 2000 4:24 pm    Post subject: Orders and "free" charges.


Jon,

Please pardon the following dumb questions.

Under RUSH, is LI within 40 paces of close or loose foot a "legal
target" under the definition in the first line?

Under ATTACK orders, loose and close foot do not need to declare a
charge on LI who have elected to Recall. Does this include a body
containing Irr A? The last bullet point under the Attack
section "Bodies containing any Irr A, including missile troops, must
charge (unprompted) if they can."

Likwise, under PROBE, "Bodies containing any Irr A, including missile
troops, must charge if they can." Does include close or loose foot
charging LI within 40 paces?

Also on PROBE, Does the "Bodies containing any Irr A, including
missile troops, must charge if they can." instruction include Irr A
mounted charging steady close foot with pikes or LTS? Here we have
played (under 7th) that the "no charge" overrules the "must charge".
Is this correct in Warrior?

On waver tests, do mounted take a waver test if the mounted contact
an expendabe? eg, HC charging into the flank or rear of a scythed
chariot. This is different to the "being contacted by expendables".

Thanks in advance.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group