 |
Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
|
View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Recruit

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 244
|
Posted: Fri Aug 23, 2002 9:00 pm Post subject: Re: Pursuit into Converted charge question |
 |
|
OK, I am going to resend the situation to you again, this time giving you
the FULL details of what happened.
H-t-H phase: After beating unit C in the previous bound, unit A
pursued/converted-charged into unit B. The combat direction for this bound
is left to right (that is from A's left). A beats unit B (both facing each
other). B rout moves 3" as a result. A (irr MI, non-impetuous) now is forced
to pursue B. However, 2" away along the *pursuit* path to B lies unit C, who
was broken and routed in the previous. See illus. below to see what it looks
like after B routs:
....BBBB
................CCCC
...........AAAA
Now, A decides to convert his pursuit on unit B into a charge on unit C. He
takes FP for this as he converted-charged last bound as well. Since unit A's
converted-charge is considered a 'charge', this 'converted-charge' would be
the same as normal charging vs. broken units(?), which means C is forced to
rout again (done BEFORE the actual converted charge is made). C does so.
Remember, combat directio is from A's left and thus C has not yet rout moved
this bound.
See illus. below when C rout moves:
................CCCC
....BBBB
...........AAAA
At this point A no longer is able to reach C!!! (B is in the way). Unit A
now convert-charges into B?!?!, since he can't reach C? The rules say that a
converted charge has all the options as charging evaders in this case. this
lost me...once again I got lost in warriors rich details!!! ;)
Since it was the end of the game we just treated the converted chage as a
pursuit and put it on unit B (it's original routed foe), and C was simply
routed by the 'pursuit'.
Does the converted charge revert BACK to a pursuit in this
case? The rules do not support this. But it is what we did, just to move on
and get the game done (I lost 4 units to 2, BTW - Fast Warrior)
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Fri Aug 23, 2002 9:28 pm Post subject: Re: Re: Pursuit into Converted charge question |
 |
|
Kurt
First, a converted charge is not a charge UNTIL CONACT IS MADE.
The rule, from 6.167:
"A follow-up (6.31), break-through (6.35) or pursuit move (6.33) that reaches a
different (new)
enemy body's position is a converted charge."
That means, in a pursuit, that the pursuing body stays a pursuing body until it
touches something other than it just fought (converted charge) or fails to
contact anything (now it is rallying - pursuit has ceased). That means that A
is not 'charging', it is pursuing. If it heads for C in your example, C is now
encountered in the Combat Direction and must make its rout move (the first and
only rout move C makes this bound). If C moves such that A can't catch it, A
will cease pursuit just short of C. Any wheel A makes to hit C is set at the
start of the pursuit. IF A chooses to try for C, wheels slightly towards C and
C out distances A, A can only hit B if it does so moving along the path set by
the wheel made at the start of the pursuit. A cannot then make a second wheel
to improve its chances of hitting B if C routs too far. The preceding is also
true of charges against evaders, which pursuits can look like, as in this case.
J
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum You cannot attach files in this forum You cannot download files in this forum
|
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
|