Warrior Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules
A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
 
  FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups AlbumAlbum   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Question: eligible to fight

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Ed Forbes
Centurion
Centurion


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 1092

PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2005 8:18 pm    Post subject: Question: eligible to fight


Jon,
I am unclear on the definition of "eligible to fight".
<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" />
Ranks eligible to fight are not able to support shoot in subsequent bounds.

Example:

A body of bow in 2 ranks is charged in flank, the bow suffer less than 1 per.
Next bound the bow is still in contact on its flank and is charged frontally.

Question:

Can the bow support shoot at the chargers to their front? If so, with how many
ranks?

The bow can be considered "eligible to fight", but have none they can actually
fight. Or the bow could be considered "ineligible to fight" as they have no
frontal opponents. Which is it?

Thanks,

Ed


[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2005 9:32 pm    Post subject: Re: Question: eligible to fight


<< A body of bow in 2 ranks is charged in flank, the bow suffer less than 1 per.
Next bound the bow is still in contact on its flank and is charged frontally.

Question:

Can the bow support shoot at the chargers to their front? If so, with how many
ranks?>>

All the elements not in contact. You are not eligible to fight someone to your
flank, but you also can't shoot at someone else if you're in contact.

Jon


[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2005 3:07 am    Post subject: Re: Re: Question: eligible to fight


In a message dated 11/7/2005 22:25:07 Central Standard Time,
jjmurphy@... writes:

Sorry to ask, just amazed at this one, what happened to...

8.83 "Bodies already in hand-to-hand contact from a previous bound
may shoot only at their opponents"



Those guys in front are opponents, John.

J


[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
John Murphy
Legate
Legate


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 1625

PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2005 7:24 am    Post subject: Re: Question: eligible to fight


Huh?

Sorry to ask, just amazed at this one, what happened to...

8.83 "Bodies already in hand-to-hand contact from a previous bound
may shoot only at their opponents"

--- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, JonCleaves@a... wrote:
>
> << A body of bow in 2 ranks is charged in flank, the bow suffer
less than 1 per.
> Next bound the bow is still in contact on its flank and is charged
frontally.
>
> Question:
>
> Can the bow support shoot at the chargers to their front? If so,
with how many
> ranks?>>
>
> All the elements not in contact. You are not eligible to fight
someone to your flank, but you also can't shoot at someone else if
you're in contact.
>
> Jon
>
>
> [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
>

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
John Murphy
Legate
Legate


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 1625

PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2005 8:15 am    Post subject: Re: Question: eligible to fight


Got it, thanks. Not the way I read it so glad this came up as in my
very last game we played it wrong (twice) after reading this rules
section.

--- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, JonCleaves@a... wrote:
>
>
> In a message dated 11/7/2005 22:25:07 Central Standard Time,
> jjmurphy@s... writes:
>
> Sorry to ask, just amazed at this one, what happened to...
>
> 8.83 "Bodies already in hand-to-hand contact from a previous
bound
> may shoot only at their opponents"
>
>
>
> Those guys in front are opponents, John.
>
> J
>
>
> [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
>

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Ed Forbes
Centurion
Centurion


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 1092

PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2005 11:29 pm    Post subject: Re: Question: eligible to fight


Jon,
You write "All the elements not in contact". I thought ranks, not elements, was
the operative word.
Just to be sure there is no misunderstanding, lets be a bit more specific on the
example.
Using the same example as before, bow 3 elements wide by 2 elements deep, in
contact from previous bound on flank. Bow is charged frontally by a 1 element
column that contacts the end bow element that is also in contact on its flank.

1: Do the bow count as ranks eligible to fight? From your answer, I take it the
answer is no, they are not eligible to fight, so the bow can support shoot.

2: As an element in contact can not support shoot, the 2 elements contacted on
the flank can not support shoot.

3: In the above example, 2 elements of bow could support shoot as they are
not part of a rank eligible to fight, not in contact, and are adjacent the
chargers.
Thanks,
Ed

-- JonCleaves@... wrote:

<< A body of bow in 2 ranks is charged in flank, the bow suffer less than 1 per.
Next bound the bow is still in contact on its flank and is charged frontally.

Question:

Can the bow support shoot at the chargers to their front? If so, with how many
ranks?>>

All the elements not in contact. You are not eligible to fight someone to your
flank, but you also can't shoot at someone else if you're in contact.

Jon


[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]





Yahoo! Groups Links







[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2005 11:45 pm    Post subject: Re: Question: eligible to fight


<<Using the same example as before, bow 3 elements wide by 2 elements deep, in
contact from previous bound on flank. Bow is charged frontally by a 1 element
column that contacts the end bow element that is also in contact on its flank.

1: Do the bow count as ranks eligible to fight? From your answer, I take it the
answer is no, they are not eligible to fight, so the bow can support shoot.>>
[
Correct.

<< 2: As an element in contact can not support shoot, the 2 elements contacted
on
the flank can not support shoot.>>
[
Incorrect. An element in contact from a previous bound may shoot at its
opponents. If someone charges them they now have more hand to hand opponents
and, if other rules allow, may shoot at them.

<< 3: In the above example, 2 elements of bow could support shoot as they are
not part of a rank eligible to fight, not in contact, and are adjacent the
chargers.>>
[
If I understand the example - and I may not - that is not correct. Elements in
contact may always shoot at their opponents (as long as they are not in a
fighting rank) and so there should be four elements shooting in support.
The rule in question here is 8.83.

J


[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Derek Downs
Recruit
Recruit


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 163

PostPosted: Wed Nov 09, 2005 4:55 pm    Post subject: Re: Question: eligible to fight


Jon,

Two companion units frontally charge a large unit.
Each win HTH but neither doing a CPF to the large unit.
Both combine to do a CPF.
Can they burst through under the new rules?

Derek


[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Ed Forbes
Centurion
Centurion


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 1092

PostPosted: Wed Nov 09, 2005 7:18 pm    Post subject: Re: Question: eligible to fight


Jon,
Ok, the point is that being in contact on the flank does not keep the entire
unit in arc from support shooting at the first chargers to their front.

If charged in a 3rd bound, only bow elements in the back rank could support
shoot as the front rank is now eligible to fight.

Thanks, that clears up the issue.

Ed

-- JonCleaves@... wrote:

<<Using the same example as before, bow 3 elements wide by 2 elements deep, in
contact from previous bound on flank. Bow is charged frontally by a 1 element
column that contacts the end bow element that is also in contact on its flank.

1: Do the bow count as ranks eligible to fight? From your answer, I take it the
answer is no, they are not eligible to fight, so the bow can support shoot.>>
[
Correct.

<< 2: As an element in contact can not support shoot, the 2 elements contacted
on
the flank can not support shoot.>>
[
Incorrect. An element in contact from a previous bound may shoot at its
opponents. If someone charges them they now have more hand to hand opponents
and, if other rules allow, may shoot at them.

<< 3: In the above example, 2 elements of bow could support shoot as they are
not part of a rank eligible to fight, not in contact, and are adjacent the
chargers.>>
[
If I understand the example - and I may not - that is not correct. Elements in
contact may always shoot at their opponents (as long as they are not in a
fighting rank) and so there should be four elements shooting in support.
The rule in question here is 8.83.

J


[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]





Yahoo! Groups Links







[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group