 |
Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
|
View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Sun Dec 21, 2003 1:45 pm Post subject: Re: Questions on rules |
 |
|
In a message dated 12/21/2003 07:35:19 Central Standard Time,
jjendon@... writes:
1. In 6.521 iy says "Troops are disordered that: Interpenetrate mving
bodies.
No problem except, what exactly is a moving body? Is it any body that has
moved already this bound? Is it one that moves anytime during the bound?
What about routers? Are they always moving?
A moving body is one that has moved already this bound, moves in this same
phase or is currently making rout moves. It does not include non-routers that
might move in a later phase.
Scenaro: Bound N. 1X2 EHK L, Sh IRR B breaks a 1X2 HI HTW, SH REG B. The
HI routs and the EHK pursue. Bound N+1, a body of 1X2 HI charges through
the broken HI to replace it in combat (I know you can not do this with all
HI, but some have list rules that allow it). Was the broken body 'moving'
for the purposes of 6.521? We said yes.
The only list rules I know that allow that already say it does not disorder
the charger. The broken body was not moving, but that is superceded by the
Fast Warrior Roman list rules and The NWW circulating combatants.
Scenario: Bound N. 3X2 LI JLS, Sh Irr C approaches 120p. In the counter
phase, a 2X2 LMI JLS, Sh REG C counters and interpenetrates the LI. Are the
LI considered 'moving' for 6.521?
Yes.
2. 9.42 HTH Tactical factors states add 2 If.....if any mounted troops or
their animals that are fighting against artillery, or disordered foot or
pursuing.
Does a pursuing mounted body get the +2 against ANY opponent in the next
bound?
Yes. TOG was this way also, btw.
On the same vein 9.22 Lance line says 2nd rank of cav or K armed with lance
fights at half effect if charging, countercharging, or pursuing... Is this
vs any foe they fight or only the one they are pursuing? If your intent is
that the +2 and 1.5 ranks apply vs all foes, the the rules are just fine as
written and we are just looking for a warm fuzzy from you. If you do not
want the +2 and/or 1.5 ranks to apply to foes other than those being
pursued, a rule rewrite is needed IMHO.
'If pursuing' is writtent that way (instead of something like 'vs any
opponent they are pursuing') because it does not matter who they are fighting as
long
as they are pursuing.
Jon
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Don Coon Imperator

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 2742
|
Posted: Sun Dec 21, 2003 4:39 pm Post subject: Re: Questions on rules |
 |
|
Two questions:
1. In 6.521 iy says "Troops are disordered that: Interpenetrate mving
bodies.
No problem except, what exactly is a moving body? Is it any body that has
moved already this bound? Is it one that moves anytime during the bound?
What about routers? Are they always moving?
Scenaro: Bound N. 1X2 EHK L, Sh IRR B breaks a 1X2 HI HTW, SH REG B. The
HI routs and the EHK pursue. Bound N+1, a body of 1X2 HI charges through
the broken HI to replace it in combat (I know you can not do this with all
HI, but some have list rules that allow it). Was the broken body 'moving'
for the purposes of 6.521? We said yes.
Scenario: Bound N. 3X2 LI JLS, Sh Irr C approaches 120p. In the counter
phase, a 2X2 LMI JLS, Sh REG C counters and interpenetrates the LI. Are the
LI considered 'moving' for 6.521?
2. 9.42 HTH Tactical factors states add 2 If.....if any mounted troops or
their animals that are fighting against artillery, or disordered foot or
pursuing.
Does a pursuing mounted body get the +2 against ANY opponent in the next
bound? The way the line reads it does, but we do not feel that was the
intent. Should it say if any mounted troops or their animals that are
fighting against artillery, or disordered foot or against any enemy body
they are pursuing.? This is more akin to the way the +1 line reads for
follow up and pursuit. Or do you really intend for mounted to get a +2 vs
any foe if they are pursuing? I was forced to rule that the mounted get the
+2 vs the foe they were not pursuing. Was I wrong?
On the same vein 9.22 Lance line says 2nd rank of cav or K armed with lance
fights at half effect if charging, countercharging, or pursuing... Is this
vs any foe they fight or only the one they are pursuing? If your intent is
that the +2 and 1.5 ranks apply vs all foes, the the rules are just fine as
written and we are just looking for a warm fuzzy from you. If you do not
want the +2 and/or 1.5 ranks to apply to foes other than those being
pursued, a rule rewrite is needed IMHO.
Thanks,
Don
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum You cannot attach files in this forum You cannot download files in this forum
|
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
|