 |
Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
|
View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Mark Stone Moderator


Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 2102 Location: Buckley, WA
|
Posted: Tue Aug 31, 2004 8:11 am Post subject: retiring in the face of the enemy |
 |
|
I've been re-reading definitions of charge path and charge reach a lot lately,
and it occurs to me that I've been making a mistake in handling retirement
moves. Simple situation:
A steady body of Reg C HC L,Sh has a steady enemy body of LI B directly to its
front and facing it, with the distance between the two bodies at 120p. I have
been assuming that the HC would need to counter in order to get away from the
LI's shooting, since it is within the range (120p) of an LI charge move. It now
appears I've read this wrong.
First: On page 30, section 5.52, "Waver Test Causes", it states in the 11th
bullet point "(RETIRING IN CHARGE REACH). Being prompted to conduct a
retirement move from within a steady enemy body's charge reach."
Seems simple enough. But now note this:
Second: On page 38, section 6.162, "Charge Reach", it states that "Charge reach
is measured to the point of first contact with the target body. If the body
cannot legally declare a charge against a target... that target is _not_ in the
body's charge reach."
Since LI cannot legally declare a frontal charge on steady HC, it follows from
6.162 that the HC are in fact _not_ within charge reach of the LI, and thus the
11th bullet point of 5.52 does _not_ apply, and no waver test need be taken by
the HC for being prompted to retire.
Jon, am I missing something here?
-Mark Stone
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Tue Aug 31, 2004 10:45 am Post subject: Re: retiring in the face of the enemy |
 |
|
In a message dated 8/31/2004 00:13:10 Central Daylight Time,
mark@... writes:
A steady body of Reg C HC L,Sh has a steady enemy body of LI B directly to
its
front and facing it, with the distance between the two bodies at 120p. I
have
been assuming that the HC would need to counter in order to get away from the
LI's shooting, since it is within the range (120p) of an LI charge move.>>
[
Well, the HC doesn't 'need to' counter. It could retire also.
It now
appears I've read this wrong.
First: On page 30, section 5.52, "Waver Test Causes", it states in the 11th
bullet point "(RETIRING IN CHARGE REACH). Being prompted to conduct a
retirement move from within a steady enemy body's charge reach."
Seems simple enough. But now note this:
Second: On page 38, section 6.162, "Charge Reach", it states that "Charge
reach
is measured to the point of first contact with the target body. If the body
cannot legally declare a charge against a target... that target is _not_ in
the
body's charge reach."
Since LI cannot legally declare a frontal charge on steady HC, it follows
from
6.162 that the HC are in fact _not_ within charge reach of the LI, and thus
the
11th bullet point of 5.52 does _not_ apply, and no waver test need be taken
by
the HC for being prompted to retire.>>
[
Correct.
Jon
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum You cannot attach files in this forum You cannot download files in this forum
|
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
|