Warrior Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules
A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
 
  FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups AlbumAlbum   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Revisiting a Flank Charge Question

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message

Legionary
Legionary


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 307

PostPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2005 9:35 pm    Post subject: Revisiting a Flank Charge Question


Hello Jon,

Within my gaming club, there is still vigorous debate about a particular
circumstance when charging flanks. I have uploaded a file called flank.jpg to
help explain the problem.

In the Diagram;

Unit A is Reg C HC L

Unit B is Reg C MI LTS,Sh

a.. As you can see in the Diagram, Unit A is not behind the Flank of Unit B at
the time of declaration
b.. Unit A is on Attack orders but has had a charge opportunity before and
must be prompted for the current charge
Here is how I think the charge will proceed:

Since Unit A does not start behind the Flank, and has had charge opportunities
previously, the charge must be prompted.
Unit A is successfully prompted by its general.
Unit A makes its variable move roll and rolls for normal distance.
Unit A uses 40 paces of its 160 pace move distance to wheel a few paces and then
continues forward the rest of the way using the remaining 120 paces of its
allowed movement.
When Unit A makes contact as shown in the diagram, it has expended its full 160
pace move, but has contacted the side of Unit B with one corner.

At this point Unit A is now allowed to pivot to conform, and pivots to contact
the Flank of Unit B.
The pivoting move is free movement, beyond what was allowed by its usual 160
pace tactical move.

Is all of that correct?


Thank you Jon, and a big thanks and congratulations to all of you at Four
Horsemen for completing the Oriental Warrior book. I am looking forward to
getting a copy.

Allan

[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2005 10:39 pm    Post subject: Re: Revisiting a Flank Charge Question


<<Unit A is Reg C HC L

Unit B is Reg C MI LTS,Sh

a.. As you can see in the Diagram, Unit A is not behind the Flank of Unit B at
the time of declaration
b.. Unit A is on Attack orders but has had a charge opportunity before and must
be prompted for the current charge
Here is how I think the charge will proceed:

Since Unit A does not start behind the Flank, and has had charge opportunities
previously, the charge must be prompted.
Unit A is successfully prompted by its general.
Unit A makes its variable move roll and rolls for normal distance.>>

There is no variable move here. The target of the charge is not evading. The
charge distance is 160p, period.

<<Unit A uses 40 paces of its 160 pace move distance to wheel a few paces and
then continues forward the rest of the way using the remaining 120 paces of its
allowed movement.
When Unit A makes contact as shown in the diagram, it has expended its full 160
pace move, but has contacted the side of Unit B with one corner.

At this point Unit A is now allowed to pivot to conform, and pivots to contact
the Flank of Unit B.
The pivoting move is free movement, beyond what was allowed by its usual 160
pace tactical move.

Is all of that correct?>>

Yes, so long as when A hit B all of A's front facing was behind the flank of B,
which appears to be true from the diagram.

J


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group