Warrior Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules
A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
 
  FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups AlbumAlbum   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

RULES clarifications & second printing

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
John Murphy
Legate
Legate


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 1625

PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2004 10:39 am    Post subject: RULES clarifications & second printing


Had a fantastic time at Cold Wars.

Have a couple points / questions.

1. There's a lot of confusion even among old-timers regarding how the order
of combat resolution really works as regards left-right order versus
different phases of combat resolution (charge moves & responses, relevant
waver tests and rout moves, hand-to-hand etcetera). Perhaps when there are
clarifications done again or a second printing this could really be given a
new emphasis to make it clearer and save some trouble?

2. Can a charge be declared such that it carries along a path through one
enemy body and into another beyond? And if the first evades to its rear can
the charging body chose to charge the uncovered target rather than continue
chasing the evaders? Or must a charge be declared against only one enemy
body? I hope this one is not a case of simply making someone else look it
up in the rules, but I do not recal seeing it there per se. If it is I
apologize for bringing it up.


--------------------------------------------------------------------
mail2web - Check your email from the web at
http://mail2web.com/ .

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2004 8:02 pm    Post subject: Re: RULES clarifications & second printing


In a message dated 3/16/2004 2:39:42 AM Eastern Standard Time,
jjmurphy@... writes:

> 1. There's a lot of confusion even among old-timers regarding how the order
> of combat resolution really works as regards left-right order versus
> different phases of combat resolution (charge moves & responses, relevant
> waver tests and rout moves, hand-to-hand etcetera). Perhaps when there are
> clarifications done again or a second printing this could really be given a
> new emphasis to make it clearer and save some trouble?>>

As I am beginning work on the reprint now, I will take this into consideration.

> 2. Can a charge be declared such that it carries along a path through one
> enemy body and into another beyond?>>

Literally 'through' an enemy body is only possible through a break-through move.

<< And if the first evades to its rear can
> the charging body chose to charge the uncovered target rather than continue
> chasing the evaders?>>

Look at "Charges against evaders" in the middle of page 45. You'll see that, if
not impetuous, you are free to charge into any enemy in your path. If
impetuous, you must move so as to make it most likely that you will catch the
evader, but even this may have you charging another unit.

<<Or must a charge be declared against only one enemy
> body? >>

Oh no. On all bodies in the path - see 'Multiple Targets', bottom of page 38,
which says "Charges count as
declared on all legal targets in or moving into the charge path"

Jon


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2004 10:30 pm    Post subject: Re: RULES clarifications & second printing


In a message dated 3/16/2004 15:13:09 Central Standard Time, clr198@...
writes:
When doing the initial wheel (which determines charge path), is the
amount of wheel the minimum wheel necessary to bring the elements (not
body) into contact with the opponent?>>

No, the rule is:

"The charge path of a charge is a zone as wide as the charging body extending
out its tactical move. It is either straight ahead of the body.s position
when the charge is declared OR straight ahead of its position once the body has
been wheeled to place the target(s) of the declaration in that zone. "

Nothing about that states the 'minimum necessary' so long as all the targets
are in the path once the charger is wheeled and they are all in charge reach
and legal.

Jon


[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  

Recruit
Recruit


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 234

PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2004 12:10 am    Post subject: Re: RULES clarifications & second printing


Jon,

When doing the initial wheel (which determines charge path), is the
amount of wheel the minimum wheel necessary to bring the elements (not
body) into contact with the opponent? For example, the right-hand
figure on page 39 of the rule book shows a unit charging straight
forward. If there is no way (due to movement restrictions) for both
charging elements to get in on the attack, I would assume the charger
is not allowed to wheel initially. If it were possible for both
elements to make contact, then I would assume the charger could wheel
but only the minimum amount necessary to ensure both of his elements
make contact.

This issue came up in a rather bizarre situation where my opponent (who
had declared a charge and did need to wheel) wanted to wheel the
maximum allowed (45 degrees) so that his charge path would not
intersect a charge path I had going. If he had actually wheeled just
enough to make contact, we would have entered each others charge paths
and combat would result (both of the units we were charging were going
to evade anyway, so this was the only way to get into combat this
bound).

My argument was that he only needed to wheel a little (10 degrees or
less) to place his target into his charge zone, so any excess wheeling
was cheesy micro-management.

Thanks.

-- Charles


> <<Or must a charge be declared against only one enemy
> > body? >>
>
> Oh no.  On all bodies in the path - see 'Multiple Targets', bottom of
> page 38, which says "Charges count as
> declared on all legal targets in or moving into the charge path"
>



[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group