  | 
				Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set   
				 | 
			 
		 
		 
	
		| View previous topic :: View next topic   | 
	 
	
	
		| Author | 
		Message | 
	 
	
		John Murphy Legate
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 1625
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Tue Mar 16, 2004 10:39 am    Post subject: RULES clarifications & second printing | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
Had a fantastic time at Cold Wars.
 
 
Have a couple points / questions.
 
 
1. There's a lot of confusion even among old-timers regarding how the order
 
of combat resolution really works as regards left-right order versus
 
different phases of combat resolution (charge moves & responses, relevant
 
waver tests and rout moves, hand-to-hand etcetera). Perhaps when there are
 
clarifications done again or a second printing this could really be given a
 
new emphasis to make it clearer and save some trouble?
 
 
2. Can a charge be declared such that it carries along a path through one
 
enemy body and into another beyond? And if the first evades to its rear can
 
the charging body chose to charge the uncovered target rather than continue
 
chasing the evaders? Or must a charge be declared against only one enemy
 
body? I hope this one is not a case of simply making someone else look it
 
up in the rules, but I do not recal seeing it there per se. If it is I
 
apologize for bringing it up.
 
 
 
--------------------------------------------------------------------
 
mail2web - Check your email from the web at
 
http://mail2web.com/ .
 
 
                                                                                                                        | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Tue Mar 16, 2004 8:02 pm    Post subject: Re: RULES clarifications & second printing | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
In a message dated 3/16/2004 2:39:42 AM Eastern Standard Time,
 
jjmurphy@... writes:
 
 
> 1. There's a lot of confusion even among old-timers regarding how the order
 
> of combat resolution really works as regards left-right order versus
 
> different phases of combat resolution (charge moves & responses, relevant
 
> waver tests and rout moves, hand-to-hand etcetera). Perhaps when there are
 
> clarifications done again or a second printing this could really be given a
 
> new emphasis to make it clearer and save some trouble?>>
 
 
As I am beginning work on the reprint now, I will take this into consideration.
 
 
> 2. Can a charge be declared such that it carries along a path through one
 
> enemy body and into another beyond?>>
 
 
Literally 'through' an enemy body is only possible through a break-through move.
 
 
<< And if the first evades to its rear can
 
> the charging body chose to charge the uncovered target rather than continue
 
> chasing the evaders?>>
 
 
Look at "Charges against evaders" in the middle of page 45.  You'll see that, if
 
not impetuous, you are free to charge into any enemy in your path.  If
 
impetuous, you must move so as to make it most likely that you will catch the
 
evader, but even this may have you charging another unit.
 
 
<<Or must a charge be declared against only one enemy
 
> body? >>
 
 
Oh no.  On all bodies in the path - see 'Multiple Targets', bottom of page 38,
 
which says "Charges count as
 
declared on all legal targets in or moving into the charge path"
 
 
Jon
 
 
                                                                                                                               _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Tue Mar 16, 2004 10:30 pm    Post subject: Re: RULES clarifications & second printing | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
In a message dated 3/16/2004 15:13:09 Central Standard Time, clr198@...
 
writes:
 
When doing the initial wheel (which determines charge path), is the
 
amount of wheel the minimum wheel necessary to bring the elements (not
 
body) into contact with the opponent?>>
 
 
No, the rule is:
 
 
"The charge path of a charge is a zone as wide as the charging body extending
 
out its tactical move.  It is either straight ahead of the body.s position
 
when the charge is declared OR straight ahead of its position once the body has
 
been wheeled to place the target(s) of the declaration in that zone. "
 
 
Nothing about that states the 'minimum necessary' so long as all the targets
 
are in the path once the charger is wheeled and they are all in charge reach
 
and legal.
 
 
Jon
 
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                                                               _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		 Recruit
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 234
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Wed Mar 17, 2004 12:10 am    Post subject: Re: RULES clarifications & second printing | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
Jon,
 
 
When doing the initial wheel (which determines charge path), is the
 
amount of wheel the minimum wheel necessary to bring the elements (not
 
body) into contact with the opponent? For example, the right-hand
 
figure on page 39 of the rule book shows a unit charging straight
 
forward. If there is no way (due to movement restrictions) for both
 
charging elements to get in on the attack, I would assume the charger
 
is not allowed to wheel initially. If it were possible for both
 
elements to make contact, then I would assume the charger could wheel
 
but only the minimum amount necessary to ensure both of his elements
 
make contact.
 
 
This issue came up in a rather bizarre situation where my opponent (who
 
had declared a charge and did need to wheel) wanted to wheel the
 
maximum allowed (45 degrees) so that his charge path would not
 
intersect a charge path I had going. If he had actually wheeled just
 
enough to make contact, we would have entered each others charge paths
 
and combat would result (both of the units we were charging were going
 
to evade anyway, so this was the only way to get into combat this
 
bound).
 
 
My argument was that he only needed to wheel a little (10 degrees or
 
less) to place his target into his charge zone, so any excess wheeling
 
was cheesy micro-management.
 
 
Thanks.
 
 
-- Charles
 
 
 
>  <<Or must a charge be declared against only one enemy
 
>  > body? >>
 
>
 
>  Oh no.  On all bodies in the path - see 'Multiple Targets', bottom of
 
> page 38, which says "Charges count as
 
>  declared on all legal targets in or moving into the charge path"
 
>
 
 
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                                                            | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		 | 
	 
 
  
	 
	    
	   | 
	
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum You cannot attach files in this forum You cannot download files in this forum
  | 
   
 
  
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
  
		 |