  | 
				Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set   
				 | 
			 
		 
		 
	
		| View previous topic :: View next topic   | 
	 
	
	
		| Author | 
		Message | 
	 
	
		John Murphy Legate
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 1625
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Sat Jul 31, 2004 3:18 pm    Post subject: RULES pavisier crossbowmen | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
Close-order foot armed with crossbows with pavises in the front rank
 
 
Per the rules (7.2) count as in cover when shot at unless from their
 
flank or rear
 
 
Per the same rules count as shielded as well if they do not
 
themselves shoot
 
 
But... in 7.1 (shields) it says troops in cover never count as
 
shieldless to shooting
 
 
So three questions...
 
 
1a&b) Do enemies shooting at pavisier crossbows, not from the flank
 
or rear, get the -2 in cover factor, +X shieldless factor, or both,
 
when said pavisier crossbows are themselves shooting or not shooting?
 
 
2) Do said pavisier crossbows (if not Irr A) waver as counting
 
shieldless to preperatory shooting if they receive 2 CPF?
 
 
3a&b) Generically, if the target of non-arty/hg/etc shooting lacks
 
shields but is cover (say for terrain reasons) do their enemies get
 
the +X for shieldless, and if close or loose non-Irr-A foot must
 
they waver for 2 CPF from prep?
 
 
                                                                                                    | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Mon Aug 02, 2004 4:36 pm    Post subject: Re: RULES pavisier crossbowmen | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
Close order CB with pavise:>
 
>Per the same rules count as shielded as well if they do not
 
>themselves shoot>>
 
 
I think you are missing a clarification here.  The clarifications says:
 
 
7.2 (Pg 61) Delete fourth sentence and replace with: "A figure with a missile
 
weapon that requires two hands (B, LB, CB, SS, HG) and equipped with a pavise
 
counts as in cover but not shielded when shooting, and as both when not shooting
 
and not in hand to hand."
 
 
>
 
>But... in 7.1 (shields) it says troops in cover never count as
 
>shieldless to shooting>>
 
 
Yes, but also makes a specific exception for pavises.
 
 
 
>1a&b) Do enemies shooting at pavisier crossbows, not from the flank
 
>or rear, get the -2 in cover factor, +X shieldless factor, or both,
 
>when said pavisier crossbows are themselves shooting or not shooting?>>
 
 
See above clarification.  When shooting, cover but not shielded.  When  not
 
shooting, both.
 
 
 
>
 
>2) Do said pavisier crossbows (if not Irr A) waver as counting
 
>shieldless to preperatory shooting if they receive 2 CPF?>>
 
 
If they were shooting, yes.
 
 
>
 
>3a&b) Generically, if the target of non-arty/hg/etc shooting lacks
 
>shields but is cover (say for terrain reasons) do their enemies get
 
>the +X for shieldless, and if close or loose non-Irr-A foot must
 
>they waver for 2 CPF from prep?>>
 
 
Generically, they count shielded (which means for all purposes unless
 
specifically excepted) due to the cover as you noted above.
 
 
Jon
 
 
                                                                                                                  _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		John Murphy Legate
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 1625
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Mon Aug 02, 2004 4:54 pm    Post subject: Re: RULES pavisier crossbowmen | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
Got it Jon, thanks.
 
 
I have the mentioned clarification, but it only addresses the extra
 
weapons (ie besides crossbows and handguns).
 
 
The bullet in 7.1 stating troops in cover (which includes crossbows
 
etc with pavises even when shooting) never count shieldless to
 
shooting is still a cause for conflict unless one follows the whole
 
reference to 7.4 - it is kind of the same problem as the follow-up
 
+1 where a bullet list is given and the _real_ rule appears
 
elsewhere and reads differently.
 
 
It was there, just took the next level of effort / being pointed out
 
to find it.
 
 
But again thanks your answer therefore clears this right up.
 
 
--- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, JonCleaves@a... wrote:
 
> Close order CB with pavise:>
 
> >Per the same rules count as shielded as well if they do not
 
> >themselves shoot>>
 
>
 
> I think you are missing a clarification here.  The clarifications
 
says:
 
>
 
> 7.2 (Pg 61) Delete fourth sentence and replace with: "A figure
 
with a missile weapon that requires two hands (B, LB, CB, SS, HG)
 
and equipped with a pavise counts as in cover but not shielded when
 
shooting, and as both when not shooting and not in hand to hand."
 
>
 
> >
 
> >But... in 7.1 (shields) it says troops in cover never count as
 
> >shieldless to shooting>>
 
>
 
> Yes, but also makes a specific exception for pavises.
 
>
 
>
 
> >1a&b) Do enemies shooting at pavisier crossbows, not from the
 
flank
 
> >or rear, get the -2 in cover factor, +X shieldless factor, or
 
both,
 
> >when said pavisier crossbows are themselves shooting or not
 
shooting?>>
 
>
 
> See above clarification.  When shooting, cover but not shielded.
 
When  not shooting, both.
 
>
 
>
 
> >
 
> >2) Do said pavisier crossbows (if not Irr A) waver as counting
 
> >shieldless to preperatory shooting if they receive 2 CPF?>>
 
>
 
> If they were shooting, yes.
 
>
 
> >
 
> >3a&b) Generically, if the target of non-arty/hg/etc shooting
 
lacks
 
> >shields but is cover (say for terrain reasons) do their enemies
 
get
 
> >the +X for shieldless, and if close or loose non-Irr-A foot must
 
> >they waver for 2 CPF from prep?>>
 
>
 
> Generically, they count shielded (which means for all purposes
 
unless specifically excepted) due to the cover as you noted above.
 
>
 
> Jon
 
 
                                                                                                       | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Mon Aug 02, 2004 5:50 pm    Post subject: Re: Re: RULES pavisier crossbowmen | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
>
 
>The bullet in 7.1 stating troops in cover (which includes crossbows
 
>etc with pavises even when shooting) never count shieldless to
 
>shooting is still a cause for conflict unless one follows the whole
 
>reference to 7.4>>
 
 
Good catch.  Both places should make reference to the exception and I will fix
 
it.
 
 
Jon
 
 
                                                                                                                       _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		 | 
	 
 
  
	 
	    
	   | 
	
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum You cannot attach files in this forum You cannot download files in this forum
  | 
   
 
  
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
  
		 |