  | 
				Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set   
				 | 
			 
		 
		 
	
		| View previous topic :: View next topic   | 
	 
	
	
		| Author | 
		Message | 
	 
	
		Ewan McNay Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 2780 Location: Albany, NY, US
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Wed Jul 23, 2003 5:51 pm    Post subject: Rules Qs from read-through. | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
OK, so I finally had a moment to pay some attention and read the rules
 
at least semi-carefully.  A few Qs and comments from said reading.
 
 
4.21: I think that a clarification (and I would agree that it would be
 
such!) might need to state that hypothetical rectangles drawn for
 
purposes of determining command overlap must have their sides parallel
 
to those of the table.
 
 
5.143: the text following the bulleted list contains the phrase
 
'...forces [opponents] to break-off, recoil, or break...'.  I would
 
interpret this, reading literally, as that if your opponent *chooses*
 
to break-off (e.g. having failed to either inflict or receive a CPF),
 
this clause would not apply.  I think this is just a case where extra
 
text makes the literal reading wrong; correct?
 
 
5.41: foot standing to receive a charge, and not being made disordered
 
or otherwise impacted by that charge, nonetheless have a mandatory
 
rally if their chargers are destroyed, but not if they simply rout.
 
Odd.
 
 
6.112: might want to add that it is never possible for a variable move
 
to go below 0 paces (i.e. move backwards).  I have this great image of
 
cav trying to charge across an obstacle and boucing off, ending up
 
behind their original position (from where they could then rally
 
back!).  Yeah, this is a bit silly, but I am/was trying to have my
 
literal hat on.
 
 
6.161: As written, this gives a mixed body of LI/LC the ability to
 
charge anything, I think.  [Exact text: "LI are permitted to charge
 
targets that LC could, or if in a mixed body with mounted troops."]
 
Mixed bodies are nowhere else covered, so this is their only
 
restriction - i.e., no restriction.
 
 
6.45: Am I right in reading this that a skirmishing body whose charge
 
is cancelled must evade (because in skirmish), only becoming
 
disordered block after having done so?
 
 
10.4: Notes that a wounded CinC may be replaced by a 2iC.  No such
 
possibility for a dead one?  [This may be fine, reflecting e.g.
 
confusion in command after death, just want to check.]
 
 
16.27: Notes that position of incndiary pigs, et al., is marked by the
 
owning player.  Is/should this mark be visible to opponents?  [I would
 
argue for not, but suspect this is not the intent.]
 
 
That's all  .  Pretty good, really, guys.  Kudos.
 
 
                                                                                                             | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Wed Jul 30, 2003 5:56 pm    Post subject: Re: Rules Qs from read-through. | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
> 5.143: the text following the bulleted list contains the phrase  '...forces
 
[opponents] to break-off, recoil, or break...'.  I would
 
> interpret this, reading literally, as that if your opponent *chooses*
 
> to break-off (e.g. having failed to either inflict or receive a CPF),
 
> this clause would not apply.  I think this is just a case where extra
 
> text makes the literal reading wrong; correct?>>
 
 
The bullet: "when all hand-to-hand opponents recoil, break-off or break. " is
 
the controlling thing here.
 
 
> 6.161: As written, this gives a mixed body of LI/LC the ability to
 
> charge anything, I think.  [Exact text: "LI are permitted to charge
 
> targets that LC could, or if in a mixed body with mounted troops."]
 
> Mixed bodies are nowhere else covered, so this is their only
 
> restriction - i.e., no restriction.>>
 
 
Huh?  What target that LC cannot charge can 'now' be charged by a mixed body of
 
LC/LI (which isn't what I would call common...lol)?
 
 
> 6.45: Am I right in reading this that a skirmishing body whose charge  is
 
cancelled must evade (because in skirmish), only becoming disordered block after
 
having done so?>>
 
 
Yes.
 
 
> 10.4: Notes that a wounded CinC may be replaced by a 2iC.  No such 
 
possibility for a dead one?  [This may be fine, reflecting e.g.
 
> confusion in command after death, just want to check.]>>
 
 
4.11 says: "One subordinate (not ally) general can be nominated as second in
 
command (2IC), to take command if the CINC is wounded/killed (10.4), destroyed
 
or broken."
 
 
<<> 16.27: Notes that position of incndiary pigs, et al., is marked by the 
 
owning player.  Is/should this mark be visible to opponents?  [I would  argue
 
for not, but suspect this is not the intent.]>>
 
 
Marks on his army list.  It isn't known to the opponent until used.
 
 
J
 
 
                                                                                                                     _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		 | 
	 
 
  
	 
	    
	   | 
	
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum You cannot attach files in this forum You cannot download files in this forum
  | 
   
 
  
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
  
		 |