  | 
				Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set   
				 | 
			 
		 
		 
	
		| View previous topic :: View next topic   | 
	 
	
	
		| Author | 
		Message | 
	 
	
		Ed Forbes Centurion
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 1092
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2005 9:37 pm    Post subject: rules question: | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
Jon,
 
 
Question posed by one of the group that I would like your answer on.
 
<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" />
 
close order foot and loose order foot mixed into one body.
 
 
Is the test for the body or the element.
 
 
Does the unit take a waver for being in open and being charged by mounted if:
 
 
1.  loose order is all in the second rank behind the close order foot.
 
 
2. The front rank is a mix of loose and close, but the close order is the
 
element being chosen to contact.
 
 
Thanks
 
 
  Ed
 
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                                     | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2005 9:50 pm    Post subject: Re: rules question: | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
<<Does the unit take a waver for being in open and being charged by mounted if:
 
 
1.  loose order is all in the second rank behind the close order foot.>>
 
[
 
Not if the mounted hit the close.
 
 
<<2. The front rank is a mix of loose and close, but the close order is the
 
element being chosen to contact.>>
 
[
 
No.
 
 
Jon
 
 
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                                        _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		 Recruit
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 93
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2005 10:08 pm    Post subject: Re: rules question: | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
Hi Jon - me confused.
 
 
Which armies can mix loose and close order troops?  I know of only a
 
few exceptions (like SHC with EHC rear rank for Timurids) and was
 
wondering if this kind of mixing is really that prevalent?
 
 
I had assumed you couldn't really mix different orders except for
 
certain types (like El with LI on base, or detachments, etc).
 
 
Thanks,
 
-Asif Chaudhry
 
 
 
--- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, JonCleaves@a... wrote:
 
>
 
> <<Does the unit take a waver for being in open and being charged by
 
mounted if:
 
>
 
> 1.  loose order is all in the second rank behind the close order
 
foot.>>
 
> [
 
> Not if the mounted hit the close.
 
>
 
> <<2. The front rank is a mix of loose and close, but the close
 
order is the
 
> element being chosen to contact.>>
 
> [
 
> No.
 
>
 
> Jon
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
> [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
>
 
 
                                                                                                       | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2005 10:11 pm    Post subject: Re: Re: rules question: | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
Asif, there are many.  Any army with Brigans, for example.  I could not list
 
them all for you here.
 
 
Jon
 
 
-----Original Message-----
 
From: shahadet_99 <shahadet_99@...>
 
To: WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com
 
Sent: Thu, 10 Nov 2005 19:08:10 -0000
 
Subject: [WarriorRules] Re: rules question:
 
 
 
Hi Jon - me confused.
 
 
Which armies can mix loose and close order troops?  I know of only a
 
few exceptions (like SHC with EHC rear rank for Timurids) and was
 
wondering if this kind of mixing is really that prevalent?
 
 
I had assumed you couldn't really mix different orders except for
 
certain types (like El with LI on base, or detachments, etc).
 
 
Thanks,
 
-Asif Chaudhry
 
 
 
--- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, JonCleaves@a... wrote:
 
>
 
> <<Does the unit take a waver for being in open and being charged by
 
mounted if:
 
>
 
> 1.  loose order is all in the second rank behind the close order
 
foot.>>
 
> [
 
> Not if the mounted hit the close.
 
>
 
> <<2. The front rank is a mix of loose and close, but the close
 
order is the
 
> element being chosen to contact.>>
 
> [
 
> No.
 
>
 
> Jon
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
> [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
>
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Yahoo! Groups Links
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                                            _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		Ewan McNay Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 2780 Location: Albany, NY, US
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2005 10:13 pm    Post subject: Re: Re: rules question: | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
Well, one example is Brigans, which often have the option to be close or
 
loose irregular foot.  At least one player/team takes them as 7E units: 6E
 
of close foot plus one extra third-rank Irr LMI element to put them in a a
 
slightly different spot on the CPF chart.
 
 
There are lots, but they're not that commonly seen.
 
 
shahadet_99 wrote:
 
 
> Hi Jon - me confused.
 
>
 
> Which armies can mix loose and close order troops?  I know of only a
 
> few exceptions (like SHC with EHC rear rank for Timurids) and was
 
> wondering if this kind of mixing is really that prevalent?
 
>
 
> I had assumed you couldn't really mix different orders except for
 
> certain types (like El with LI on base, or detachments, etc).
 
>
 
> Thanks,
 
> -Asif Chaudhry
 
>
 
>
 
> --- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, JonCleaves@a... wrote:
 
>
 
>><<Does the unit take a waver for being in open and being charged by
 
>
 
> mounted if:
 
>
 
>>1.  loose order is all in the second rank behind the close order
 
>
 
> foot.>>
 
>
 
>>[
 
>>Not if the mounted hit the close.
 
>>
 
>><<2. The front rank is a mix of loose and close, but the close
 
>
 
> order is the
 
>
 
>>element being chosen to contact.>>
 
>>[
 
>>No.
 
>>
 
>>Jon
 
>>
 
>>
 
>>
 
>>[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
>>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
> Yahoo! Groups Links
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
 
                                                                                                         | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		 | 
	 
 
  
	 
	    
	   | 
	
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum You cannot attach files in this forum You cannot download files in this forum
  | 
   
 
  
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
  
		 |