  | 
				Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set   
				 | 
			 
		 
		 
	
		| View previous topic :: View next topic   | 
	 
	
	
		| Author | 
		Message | 
	 
	
		Bill Chriss Centurion
  
  
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 1000 Location: Texas
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Wed Dec 10, 2003 7:10 am    Post subject: rules question: charges | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
Looking at 6.162 and 6.163. Gharges "count as declared on all legal
 
targets in or moving ointo the charge path." Charge path is defined
 
as a zone "as wide as the body and extending out its tactical move."
 
However, charge reach is only "measured to the point of contact with
 
the firsat target body," and if a body cannot legally declare a
 
charge against a target or is prevented from doingf so by some
 
obstacle such as...an intervening body the taget is not in the body's
 
charge reach." This implies that charge reach does not extend beyong
 
the first enemy body met. Also, it appears that charges may only be
 
declared against visible enemy, but do they "count" as declared
 
against enemy behind the first enemy body met? Even if the rearmost
 
body cannot be seen through the "covering body?"
 
 
Let me give an example: A unit of two rank deep LI javelin men is
 
covering a unit of peltasts directly behind it. The LI is not in
 
skirmish. An enemy cav unit is 1" in front of and facing the LI. It
 
declares a charge "straight ahead." Presumably, it cannot see through
 
the LI to the LMI, right? Does the charge count as declared against
 
the LMI peltasts, even though the LI have no intention of evading? If
 
so, will this prevent (cancel) the peltasts from charging some other
 
unit, even though, with the LI standing to receive, there is no
 
chance they'll be contacted by the Cav?
 
 
Maybe I'm dense, but although I have a common sense answer, I can not
 
see a clear way to resolve these questions merely by reference to the
 
rules. Can you help me Jon?
 
 
                                                                                                      _________________ -Greek | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Wed Dec 10, 2003 6:24 pm    Post subject: Re: rules question: charges | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
In a message dated 12/9/2003 11:10:25 PM Eastern Standard Time,
 
hrisikos@... writes:
 
 
> Looking at 6.162 and 6.163. Gharges "count as declared on all legal
 
> targets in or moving ointo the charge path." Charge path is defined
 
> as a zone "as wide as the body and extending out its tactical move."
 
> However, charge reach is only "measured to the point of contact with
 
> the firsat target body," and if a body cannot legally declare a
 
> charge against a target or is prevented from doingf so by some
 
> obstacle such as...an intervening body the taget is not in the body's
 
> charge reach." This implies that charge reach does not extend beyong
 
> the first enemy body met. Also, it appears that charges may only be
 
> declared against visible enemy, but do they "count" as declared
 
> against enemy behind the first enemy body met? Even if the rearmost
 
> body cannot be seen through the "covering body?" >>
 
 
You have it all right, but you need to read the charge at evaders portion of
 
6.166.  This covers what happens AFTER a target evades.  Until a target actually
 
evades, charge reach does not 'go past' the target.  Once everything is figured
 
out and the charge is under way and the target then chooses to evade, the charge
 
can make contact with a legal target in the path.
 
 
> Let me give an example: A unit of two rank deep LI javelin men is
 
> covering a unit of peltasts directly behind it. The LI is not in
 
> skirmish. An enemy cav unit is 1" in front of and facing the LI. It
 
> declares a charge "straight ahead." Presumably, it cannot see through
 
> the LI to the LMI, right? Does the charge count as declared against
 
> the LMI peltasts, even though the LI have no intention of evading?>>
 
 
Not until they actually evade, no.  But once they do, if the LMI are in the
 
charge path of the cav, then yes.
 
 
<< If  so, will this prevent (cancel) the peltasts from charging some other
 
> unit, even though, with the LI standing to receive, there
 
> is no  chance they'll be contacted by the Cav?>>
 
 
No.  The peltasts would not be prevented from charging another unit if the LI
 
stand.  Hence the words about charge path not extending past the first body met.
 
 
Jon
 
 
                                                                                                                 _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		John Murphy Legate
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 1625
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Wed Dec 10, 2003 7:50 pm    Post subject: Re: rules question: charges | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
This is a really good question, and one similar to one I asked a bit
 
back.
 
 
So just to be sure I understand how this works -
 
 
If the LI don't evade the LMI are free to charge another target
 
because the Cav charge reach is blocked by the LI.
 
 
If the LI evade then the LMI ability to charge depends on the left-
 
right order of charge move/response resolution - the LMI will either
 
go before the Cav and get to charge while the LI are still in place,
 
or the LMI will go after the Cav and be in charge reach of the Cav
 
after the LI evade cancelling the LMI charge.
 
 
Right?
 
 
--- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, JonCleaves@a... wrote:
 
> In a message dated 12/9/2003 11:10:25 PM Eastern Standard Time,
 
hrisikos@D... writes:
 
>
 
> > Looking at 6.162 and 6.163. Gharges "count as declared on all
 
legal
 
> > targets in or moving ointo the charge path." Charge path is
 
defined
 
> > as a zone "as wide as the body and extending out its tactical
 
move."
 
> > However, charge reach is only "measured to the point of contact
 
with
 
> > the firsat target body," and if a body cannot legally declare a
 
> > charge against a target or is prevented from doingf so by some
 
> > obstacle such as...an intervening body the taget is not in the
 
body's
 
> > charge reach." This implies that charge reach does not extend
 
beyong
 
> > the first enemy body met. Also, it appears that charges may only
 
be
 
> > declared against visible enemy, but do they "count" as declared
 
> > against enemy behind the first enemy body met? Even if the
 
rearmost
 
> > body cannot be seen through the "covering body?" >>
 
>
 
> You have it all right, but you need to read the charge at evaders
 
portion of 6.166.  This covers what happens AFTER a target evades.
 
Until a target actually evades, charge reach does not 'go past' the
 
target.  Once everything is figured out and the charge is under way
 
and the target then chooses to evade, the charge can make contact
 
with a legal target in the path.
 
>
 
> > Let me give an example: A unit of two rank deep LI javelin men
 
is
 
> > covering a unit of peltasts directly behind it. The LI is not in
 
> > skirmish. An enemy cav unit is 1" in front of and facing the LI.
 
It
 
> > declares a charge "straight ahead." Presumably, it cannot see
 
through
 
> > the LI to the LMI, right? Does the charge count as declared
 
against
 
> > the LMI peltasts, even though the LI have no intention of
 
evading?>>
 
>
 
> Not until they actually evade, no.  But once they do, if the LMI
 
are in the charge path of the cav, then yes.
 
>
 
> << If  so, will this prevent (cancel) the peltasts from charging
 
some other
 
> > unit, even though, with the LI standing to receive, there
 
> > is no  chance they'll be contacted by the Cav?>>
 
>
 
> No.  The peltasts would not be prevented from charging another
 
unit if the LI stand.  Hence the words about charge path not
 
extending past the first body met.
 
>
 
> Jon
 
 
                                                                                                           | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Wed Dec 10, 2003 8:58 pm    Post subject: Re: Re: rules question: charges | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
In a message dated 12/10/2003 11:50:17 AM Eastern Standard Time,
 
jjmurphy@... writes:
 
 
> If the LI don't evade the LMI are free to charge another target
 
> because the Cav charge reach is blocked by the LI.
 
>
 
> If the LI evade then the LMI ability to charge depends on the left-
 
> right order of charge move/response resolution - the LMI will either
 
> go before the Cav and get to charge while the LI are still in place,
 
> or the LMI will go after the Cav and be in charge reach of
 
> the Cav
 
> after the LI evade cancelling the LMI charge.
 
>
 
> Right?>>
 
 
Yes.
 
 
Please understand that I don't have a diagram of this to look at, so this is a
 
general answer based on my mental picture of what is going on.
 
 
Initial charge paths end at units.  You can't make an assumption about an evade
 
before it happens.  Combat direction matters.
 
 
Jon
 
 
                                                                                                                    _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		Tim Grimmett Legionary
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 406 Location: Northern Virginia
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Thu Dec 11, 2003 4:45 pm    Post subject: Re: rules question: charges | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
Jon--
 
 
Interesting.  After reading the LTS vs Lance thread I have the following
 
questions.
 
 
1) Lanced armed Unit A is in a command with probe orders.  In front of him is a
 
unit of LI screening a pike unit (everything is lined up--no angles-- Unit A is
 
40 paces from the LI and 120 paces from the Pike)
 
 
Unit a declares a charge on the LI which successfully evades through the Pike. 
 
My question is: Do the probe orders prevent unit A from slamming into the Pike
 
since his orders prevent him from frontally attacking LTS/Pike armed foot.  I
 
have always thought (and played) Unit A would go in. Does the probe order
 
restriction make the LTS-Pike unit an illegal charge target?
 
 
2) Someone stated that one can charge the front of LTS/Pike-armed foot only if
 
under attack orders.  My read of hold orders is that as long as the target is on
 
my half of the board and I'm not charging with SHC (close order prohibition) I
 
can prompt a unit to frontally charge LTS/Pike foot.
 
 
Tim
 
 
 
JonCleaves@... wrote:
 
You have it all right, but you need to read the charge at evaders portion of
 
6.166.  This covers what happens AFTER a target evades.  Until a target actually
 
evades, charge reach does not 'go past' the target.  Once everything is figured
 
out and the charge is under way and the target then chooses to evade, the charge
 
can make contact with a legal target in the path.
 
 
 
 
 
---------------------------------
 
Do you Yahoo!?
 
Free Pop-Up Blocker - Get it now
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                                                _________________ Tim | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Thu Dec 11, 2003 5:34 pm    Post subject: Re: rules question: charges | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
In a message dated 12/11/2003 8:45:11 AM Eastern Standard Time,
 
grimmetttim@... writes:
 
 
> 1) Lanced armed Unit A is in a command with probe orders.  In front of him is
 
a unit of LI screening a pike unit (everything is lined up--no angles-- Unit A
 
is 40 paces from the LI and 120 paces from the Pike)
 
>
 
> Unit a declares a charge on the LI which successfully evades through the Pike.
 
My question is: Do the probe orders prevent unit A from slamming into the Pike
 
since his orders prevent him from frontally attacking LTS/Pike armed foot.  I
 
have always thought (and played) Unit A would go in. Does the probe order
 
restriction make the LTS-Pike unit an illegal charge target?>>
 
 
 
Yes, that would be an illegal charge target.  The last sentence of 6.166, quoted
 
here, would apply in the above case.
 
 
 
"If the only outcome of a given charge against evaders is a potential contact
 
with an illegal charge target (e.g. an LC unit following an evader is blocked by
 
a steady MI unit), the charger instead stops 40p from that body. "
 
 
 
> 2) Someone stated that one can charge the front of LTS/Pike-armed foot only if
 
under attack orders.  My read of hold orders is that as long as the target is on
 
my half of the board and I'm not charging with SHC (close order prohibition) I
 
can
 
> prompt a unit to frontally charge LTS/Pike foot.>>
 
 
Hold does not restrict any kind of mounted charge on your own side of the table
 
beyond requiring them to be prompted.  The Hold restriction is on close
 
formation FOOT, so not sure what you are saying about SHC above.
 
 
J
 
 
                                                                                                                _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		Tim Grimmett Legionary
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 406 Location: Northern Virginia
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Thu Dec 11, 2003 5:50 pm    Post subject: Re: rules question: charges | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
Got it.  Learned something today.  Thanks.  Tim
 
 
JonCleaves@... wrote:In a message dated 12/11/2003 8:45:11 AM Eastern
 
Standard Time, grimmetttim@... writes:
 
 
> 1) Lanced armed Unit A is in a command with probe orders.  In front of him is
 
a unit of LI screening a pike unit (everything is lined up--no angles-- Unit A
 
is 40 paces from the LI and 120 paces from the Pike)
 
>
 
> Unit a declares a charge on the LI which successfully evades through the Pike.
 
My question is: Do the probe orders prevent unit A from slamming into the Pike
 
since his orders prevent him from frontally attacking LTS/Pike armed foot.  I
 
have always thought (and played) Unit A would go in. Does the probe order
 
restriction make the LTS-Pike unit an illegal charge target?>>
 
 
 
Yes, that would be an illegal charge target.  The last sentence of 6.166, quoted
 
here, would apply in the above case.
 
 
 
"If the only outcome of a given charge against evaders is a potential contact
 
with an illegal charge target (e.g. an LC unit following an evader is blocked by
 
a steady MI unit), the charger instead stops 40p from that body. "
 
 
 
> 2) Someone stated that one can charge the front of LTS/Pike-armed foot only if
 
under attack orders.  My read of hold orders is that as long as the target is on
 
my half of the board and I'm not charging with SHC (close order prohibition) I
 
can
 
> prompt a unit to frontally charge LTS/Pike foot.>>
 
 
Hold does not restrict any kind of mounted charge on your own side of the table
 
beyond requiring them to be prompted.  The Hold restriction is on close
 
formation FOOT, so not sure what you are saying about SHC above.
 
 
J
 
 
Yahoo! Groups SponsorADVERTISEMENT
 
 
To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
 
WarriorRules-unsubscribe@egroups.com
 
 
 
 
Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to the Yahoo! Terms of Service.
 
 
 
 
---------------------------------
 
Do you Yahoo!?
 
Free Pop-Up Blocker - Get it now
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                                                _________________ Tim | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		 | 
	 
 
  
	 
	    
	   | 
	
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum You cannot attach files in this forum You cannot download files in this forum
  | 
   
 
  
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
  
		 |