Warrior Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules
A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
 
  FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups AlbumAlbum   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Rules Question: Support Shooting

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message

Recruit
Recruit


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2006 4:02 pm    Post subject: Rules Question: Support Shooting


I have a question regarding support shooting that came up in a recent
game.
In brief I know that you can support shoot with a bow if you charge
(8.81), or at a body you are already in combat with (8.83). You can
shoot with most missile weapons at any body charging you (with
certain restrictions if already in hand to hand) if "receiving that
charge at a halt" (8.82).

What isn't totally clear though is what are the restrictions if you
are following up, recoiling, or pursuing?

8.84 refers to other movement "this bound" and "during a bound". As
the follow up, recoil or pursuit move technically occurred after
combat in the previous bound to any new enemy charge occurring, this
does not seem to cover it. Are we to treat these movements as
carrying over into the new bound?

I think it's correct to say we have always played it that troops
following up or recoiling have been treated as if "at a halt", that
is to say they are not charging/counter charging the new enemy.

Would this also apply to troops pursuing (and still in contact),
where exposed elements are charged frontally by a new enemy? Would it
matter what weapon they were armed with (Bow only)?

My gut feeling is that the troops would be too distracted to even
really notice the new enemy till they were on top of them. I also
suspect that 8.84 is meant to apply, even if any pursuit move for the
current bound has (technically) yet to occur (and may not depending
on troop type/situation and combat outcomes).
But it would make a big difference to say a unit of 24 bow, only in
contact with an end element, charged by 6 HC. Allowing for "ranks
that fought earlier" (8.83) not being eligible to shoot, the bow
would still get 8 @ 2 in most cases.

In summary, for support shooting purposes, do troops who have
followed up, recoiled or pursued and are still in contact, count as
being "at a halt"? Are pursuers restricted from shooting under 8.84,
and if so does this apply for a body that they have maintained
contact with?

I apologise if this has been covered previously. Thanks

Ian Poade.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2006 12:00 am    Post subject: Re: Rules Question: Support Shooting


In summary, for support shooting purposes, do troops who have
followed up, recoiled or pursued and are still in contact, count as
being "at a halt"?>>

No, but they can shoot with bow from a rear rank in support if all other
conditions are met.

<< Are pursuers restricted from shooting under 8.84,
and if so does this apply for a body that they have maintained
contact with?>>


Pursuers cannot shoot in support.

Jon


-----Original Message-----
From: Ian Poade <IANPOADE@...>
To: WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com
Sent: Thu, 05 Jan 2006 13:02:52 -0000
Subject: [WarriorRules] Rules Question: Support Shooting


I have a question regarding support shooting that came up in a recent
game.
In brief I know that you can support shoot with a bow if you charge
(8.81), or at a body you are already in combat with (8.83). You can
shoot with most missile weapons at any body charging you (with
certain restrictions if already in hand to hand) if "receiving that
charge at a halt" (8.82).

What isn't totally clear though is what are the restrictions if you
are following up, recoiling, or pursuing?

8.84 refers to other movement "this bound" and "during a bound". As
the follow up, recoil or pursuit move technically occurred after
combat in the previous bound to any new enemy charge occurring, this
does not seem to cover it. Are we to treat these movements as
carrying over into the new bound?

I think it's correct to say we have always played it that troops
following up or recoiling have been treated as if "at a halt", that
is to say they are not charging/counter charging the new enemy.

Would this also apply to troops pursuing (and still in contact),
where exposed elements are charged frontally by a new enemy? Would it
matter what weapon they were armed with (Bow only)?

My gut feeling is that the troops would be too distracted to even
really notice the new enemy till they were on top of them. I also
suspect that 8.84 is meant to apply, even if any pursuit move for the
current bound has (technically) yet to occur (and may not depending
on troop type/situation and combat outcomes).
But it would make a big difference to say a unit of 24 bow, only in
contact with an end element, charged by 6 HC. Allowing for "ranks
that fought earlier" (8.83) not being eligible to shoot, the bow
would still get 8 @ 2 in most cases.

In summary, for support shooting purposes, do troops who have
followed up, recoiled or pursued and are still in contact, count as
being "at a halt"? Are pursuers restricted from shooting under 8.84,
and if so does this apply for a body that they have maintained
contact with?

I apologise if this has been covered previously. Thanks

Ian Poade.







Yahoo! Groups Links






[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group