Greg Preston Recruit

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 244 Location: Newcastle, Australia
|
Posted: Wed May 12, 2004 12:55 am Post subject: Rules questions-again |
 |
|
Dear Jon,
Thanks for the prompt response to the questions the other week. It was
great to be able to show up to the second day of a comp with the
questions from the first day definitively resolved.
The following questions emerged from day two.
Q1.
A Flank marching unit charges onto the board (non impetuously). Its
target evades. The charging unit rolls short on its charge move. If the
charging unit elects to recall, its recall move may take it off board
(eg. if it rolls normal). Is the charging unit allowed to elect to
recall ?
Q2.
The new clarification about units who move more than their tactical
during an interpenetration states that the unit cannot conduct
preparatory shooting or declare a charge. Can such a unit respond to
charges ?
Q3. Interpenetration
Situation 1: A unit of light infantry is evading a mounted charge. It
is attempting to evade through a unit of MI directly to its rear. The
light infantry is in two ranks
The confusion we had comes from our interpretation of the term “that
actually entered” from 6.522.... Only those ...elements that actually
entered the space occupied by the interpenetrated body are moved clear.
We know from your previous response (to a question from johnball1947 on
17 Jan,2004) that the LI element only need to make it partially into
the MI space to go through. Is this the same if the LI would be caught
? That is, if the LI end the evade move with the rear rank “half way”
into the MI and the cavalry would make contact with them at this point
do the LI go through the MI or have one rank in contact with the
cavalry on the “near’ side?
Q5. Interpenetration
Does the direction in which the body to be interpenetrated is facing
effect interpenetration ? Ie can you interpenetrate side to side, or on
various angles ?
Q4. I am not sure I made myself clear with one of my previous questions
A previous question
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
In a message dated 4/24/2004 04:17:50 Central Daylight Time,
edgdp@... writes:
Q1.
Situation:
A unit of 2E Irr A Heavy cavalry is in skirmish.
It takes 2 CPF from shooting.
It has a legal charge target within its reach directly to its front.
The orders of the command are attack.
Player 1 contended that the unit could not elect to make a recall move
( skirmish formation as per 11.1) as the unit must charge (because it
is Irr A) and electing not to charge (by recalling) would put it in
violation of this condition. Therefore the unit must test.>>
You wrote...
The ability to avoid the waver by charging unprompted as A's only
applies to
close/loose FOOT, so clearly the above is wrong.
..........
Player 2 contended that the shooting result outcome prevented the Hvy
Cav. from charging- thus it could choose to recall and avoid the test.
Which Player is correct ?>>
You wrote......
Neither, in a precise sense. Player 2's contention that the Hvy Cav is
somehow 'prevented' from charging isn't right, but he is correct that
he could
choose, as a body in skirmish formation, to recall to avoid the waver.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
The basis of Player 1’s argument is the attack orders of the command
(4.5) stating Bodies containing any Irr A.....must charge if they can.-
rather than the shooting options. Player 1 claimed that the Irr A unit
could take the test and charge and therefore can charge (as in, must
charge if they can). Taking an option which stopped them from charging
was contrary to their orders.
Thoughts ?
Thanks in advance.
Greg P.
|
|