  | 
				Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set   
				 | 
			 
		 
		 
	
		| View previous topic :: View next topic   | 
	 
	
	
		| Author | 
		Message | 
	 
	
		John Murphy Legate
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 1625
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Wed Jul 23, 2003 8:19 am    Post subject: RULES skrimish, gaps | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
#1 (Just being sure) all the talk about LMI B skirmishers in front of
 
cav makes me ask
 
 
the rules state (clearly I think) that skirmishers MUST EVADE if
 
charged, meaning no support shot to rear on foot AND no shields (and no
 
casualties inflicted) when they get smacked in the butt
 
the MUST EVADE thing makes foot skirmishing in the vicinity of enemy
 
mounted a bit risky since even the most wonderful foot can't stand to
 
receive
 
 
#2 is the one that really has me wondering though
 
The whole 2 element gap for a charge thing.
 
 
While I understand the intention of the rule I think, and I think most
 
folks agree, that it does have a few less than desirable (?) side
 
effects to be exploited. But having made that statement (and to aid in
 
my playing of the game) let me be certain that I have the rule down pat.
 
 
The "gap" is defined as the closest point between two objects so say in
 
ASCII vision
 
 
AAAA        BBBB
 
AAAA CCCC BBBB
 
      CCCC
 
 
Three blocks facing the same direction with a couple millimeters between
 
A-C and C-B and C's front rank lined up with A & B's rear rank
 
 
Can C be charged (from the front, into the "gap" between A & B front
 
ranks) by an enemy if A & B are not in hth from a previous bound?
 
In effect, does A-B count as a gap or do only A-C and B-C (being
 
"closer") count as gaps?
 
If the latter, can this allow, if C is farther back, an otherwise
 
capable enemy to charge A or B in the interior flank since the gap is
 
still measured to C?
 
 
What about the following case
 
 
AAAA
 
AAAA
 
       BB
 
       BB
 
       BB
 
       BB
 
 
Two units facing outward at a right angle. Forgive the ASCII vision on
 
this one, but assume the gap between their inner rear corners makes a 45
 
degree angle with their fronts.
 
 
Less than 2 elements distance between inner rear corners.
 
 
Where is the gap measured? I presume between said inner rear corners
 
being the closest points?
 
If there is room to fit on the interior flank of A or B without
 
extending past the inner rear corner, then can an otherwise capable
 
flank charge be made since this is not entering the "nearest points"
 
gap?
 
If there is insufficient room to fit without extending past the inner
 
rear corner then does this still count as a "gap" that can't be charged
 
into?
 
 
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                                     | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		Ewan McNay Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 2780 Location: Albany, NY, US
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Wed Jul 23, 2003 5:34 pm    Post subject: Re: RULES skrimish, gaps | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
--- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, "John Murphy" <jjmurphy@s...>
 
wrote:
 
> #1 (Just being sure) all the talk about LMI B skirmishers in front
 
of
 
> cav makes me ask
 
>
 
> the rules state (clearly I think) that skirmishers MUST EVADE if
 
> charged, meaning no support shot to rear on foot AND no shields (and
 
no
 
> casualties inflicted) when they get smacked in the butt
 
> the MUST EVADE thing makes foot skirmishing in the vicinity of enemy
 
> mounted a bit risky since even the most wonderful foot can't stand
 
to
 
> receive
 
 
Correct.  That was why we were discussing going into skirmish only as
 
part of a counter, when it would be also possible to move back out of
 
charge range.  You are totally correct that you do not want to do this
 
if you can still be charged  .
 
 
 
> #2 is the one that really has me wondering though
 
> The whole 2 element gap for a charge thing.
 
 
/*Preparing to take flak for essaying an answer to a rules
 
question...*/
 
 
> The "gap" is defined as the closest point between two objects so say
 
in
 
> ASCII vision
 
>
 
> AAAA        BBBB
 
> AAAA CCCC BBBB
 
>      CCCC
 
>
 
> Three blocks facing the same direction with a couple millimeters
 
between
 
> A-C and C-B and C's front rank lined up with A & B's rear rank
 
>
 
> Can C be charged (from the front, into the "gap" between A & B front
 
> ranks) by an enemy if A & B are not in hth from a previous bound?
 
> In effect, does A-B count as a gap or do only A-C and B-C (being
 
> "closer") count as gaps?
 
 
Assuming that A-C are all one element wide, then C may not be charged.
 
 
> If the latter, can this allow, if C is farther back, an otherwise
 
> capable enemy to charge A or B in the interior flank since the gap
 
is
 
> still measured to C?
 
 
No.
 
 
But note again that in the LMI B example we have been using, the LMI B
 
are two elements wide, hence would leave at least a two-element gap.
 
 
On a sixteenth hand, note that their having countered back to leave
 
such a gap would not prevent them from having a support shot on the
 
flank of any cav coming into the gap just left.  And so the dance goes
 
on  .
 
 
> What about the following case
 
>
 
> AAAA
 
> AAAA
 
>       BB
 
>       BB
 
>       BB
 
>       BB
 
>
 
> Two units facing outward at a right angle. Forgive the ASCII vision
 
on
 
> this one, but assume the gap between their inner rear corners makes
 
a 45
 
> degree angle with their fronts.
 
>
 
> Less than 2 elements distance between inner rear corners.
 
>
 
> Where is the gap measured? I presume between said inner rear corners
 
> being the closest points?
 
> If there is room to fit on the interior flank of A or B without
 
> extending past the inner rear corner, then can an otherwise capable
 
> flank charge be made since this is not entering the "nearest points"
 
> gap?
 
> If there is insufficient room to fit without extending past the
 
inner
 
> rear corner then does this still count as a "gap" that can't be
 
charged
 
> into?
 
 
I don't think that I really understand this question.
 
 
                                                                                                          | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Wed Jul 30, 2003 6:07 pm    Post subject: Re: RULES skrimish, gaps | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
>
 
 
>
 
> The "gap" is defined as the closest point between two objects so say in
 
> ASCII vision
 
>
 
> AAAA        BBBB
 
> AAAA CCCC BBBB
 
>     CCCC
 
>
 
> Three blocks facing the same direction with a couple millimeters between
 
> A-C and C-B and C's front rank lined up with A & B's rear rank
 
>
 
> Can C be charged (from the front, into the "gap" between A & B front
 
> ranks) by an enemy if A & B are not in hth from a previous bound?>>
 
 
It seems so, if C is an element wide then the gap is < 2E wide, so C can't be
 
charged.
 
 
  <<can this allow, if C is farther back, an otherwise
 
> capable enemy to charge A or B in the interior flank since the gap is
 
> still measured to C?>>
 
 
Don't understand the question, I'm afraid.
 
 
> What about the following case
 
>
 
> AAAA
 
> AAAA
 
>      BB
 
>      BB
 
>      BB
 
>      BB
 
>
 
> Two units facing outward at a right angle. Forgive the ASCII vision on
 
> this one, but assume the gap between their inner rear corners makes a 45
 
> degree angle with their fronts.
 
>
 
> Less than 2 elements distance between inner rear corners.
 
>
 
> If there is room to fit on the interior flank of A or B without
 
> extending past the inner rear corner, then can an otherwise capable
 
> flank charge be made since this is not entering the "nearest points"
 
> gap?>>
 
 
Yes.
 
 
Remember that 'fit' and charging THROUGH a gap at a target BEYOND (the whole
 
point of 6.53) are separate issues.  Don't let anyone mix them up on you.  6.53
 
has nothing at all to do with charging either 'shoulder' of a gap.
 
 
                                                                                                              _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		 | 
	 
 
  
	 
	    
	   | 
	
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum You cannot attach files in this forum You cannot download files in this forum
  | 
   
 
  
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
  
		 |